Annex B Internal and External Support Agencies

B.1 Internal Support Agencies

Canadian Coast Guard College – Continuing Marine Education Department
The Canadian Coast Guard College supports program preparedness by acting as the coordinator for curriculum development. These courses are offered to Environmental Response personnel as well as other government and industry representatives.
Canadian Coast Guard Operations – Marine Communications and Traffic Services
Marine Communications and Traffic Services provides notification to the Environmental Response Duty Officer of a marine pollution incident (some Regions – see “Canadian Coast Guard Fleet – Regional Operations Centre” below), establish and direct vessels in emergency zones in accordance to directions provided by Pollution Response Officers, disseminate marine information, issue Notice to Shipping and provide vessel information, as necessary.
Canadian Coast Guard Fleet
Fleet will provide support or lead agency services upon request of the Environmental Response Duty Officer, Incident Commander. These services can include: initial spill assessments; verifications and initial response operations; take on-water samples on behalf of the Pollution Response Officer; conduct Incident Commander functions when requested by the Environmental Response program; and provide site safety.
Canadian Coast Guard Fleet – Regional Operations Centre
The Regional Operations Centre may provide notification to the Environmental Response Duty Officer of a marine pollution incident (some Regions – see “Canadian Coast Guard Operations– Marine Communications and Traffic Services” above) and will provide the coordination and allocation of Canadian Coast Guard resources, as requested by the Incident Commander.
Canadian Coast Guard Integrated Technical Services
Integrated Technical Services provides technical support services with respect to the procurement and Life Cycle Management of capital assets, including but not limited to pollution countermeasures equipment and vessels.
Canadian Coast Guard Facilities/Fisheries and Oceans Canada Facilities
Provision of small vessels, base facilities, storage, helicopter pads, boat launch and docking facilities and staging areas.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Corporate Services – Real Property, Safety & Security
Provision of advice regarding site and employee safety and the application of departmental security measures, general health and safety advice, and a Health and Safety Officer as required under the Response Management System (or Incident Command System equivalent) organizational structure.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Information Management and Technical Services – IT Security
Information Technology (IT) Security will provide informatics systems such as computer systems, servers, software and email applications, handheld communication devices such as Blackberries, and the appropriate IT security infrastructure meeting all Fisheries and Oceans Canada IT requirements as required under the Response Management System (or Incident Command System equivalent) organizational structure.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Communications
Communications will process inquiries from media organizations through the application of the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Crisis Communications Plan. Communications branch also coordinates all aspects of information being released to ensure the public is getting the most relevant, accurate information as soon as practicable. This sector would fulfill the Communications Officer function in the Response Management System (or Incident Command System equivalent) organizational structure.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Finance
Provide support and resources to the Finance section of the Response Management System. In conjunction with Canadian Coast Guard personnel, Fisheries and Oceans Canada Finance will provide the Fisheries and Oceans Canada financial systems relevant to Canadian Coast Guard operations and providing costing, contractual and accounting services.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Human Resources
Provides administration and support to the Environmental Response program regarding services typically found within the human resources community such as: staffing, labour relations and compensation.
Fisheries and Oceans Canada/Department of Justice – Legal Services
Provision of legal services to the Canadian Coast Guard is the responsibility of the Federal Department of Justice, within Fisheries and Oceans Canada Legal Services in Ottawa. The assistance and advice provided will be in support of the Incident Commander. Legal Counsel will be part of the Command Staff of the Incident Command System organizational structure.
Other Fisheries and Oceans Canada Resources (Habitat, Science, etc.)
As a participant of the Science Table, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will provide scientific and technical advice respecting the location of critical fisheries resources and their habitat, the timing and location of fishing activities, oceanographic information, support in spill tracking and trajectory modeling, general advice in support of clean-up operations and strategies, the impact of pollutants on sensitive resources, monitoring the potential impact of response strategies, and priorities for environmental protection related to the fisheries.
Transport Canada – Marine Safety
Transport Canada, Marine Safety, is responsible for on-board investigation of ship-source pollution occurrences and will provide technical expertise with respect to the ship and the ship’s on-board activities, which can assist in mitigating ship-source spills. In addition, Transport Canada is responsible for the Environmental Prevention and Response National Preparedness Plan and the Marine Oil Spill Preparedness and Response Regime for safety oversight, pollution prevention, monitoring of compliance with regulations and enforcement action. These responsibilities include:
  • management of the National Aerial Surveillance Program;
  • review vessel and oil handling facility pollution prevention and response plans;
  • assistance with the review of salvage plans;
  • Regime Governance (Regime oversight, National/Regional Advisory Councils, User Committees in accordance with OIC P.C.2003-2090 and P.C. 2004-0322); and
  • certification of Response Organizations and monitoring of their activities and exercises.
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Environment and Climate Change Canada is the federal authority for environmental and scientific advice during a marine pollution incident. Environment and Climate Change Canada normally chairs the Science Table which is responsible for providing consolidated environmental advice during the course of response operations, including weather forecasts and information on the physical operating environment, spill movement and trajectory forecasts, appropriate response strategies, the location of sensitive areas, approving the use of spill treating agents and cleanup techniques.
Health Portfolio, Public Health Agency of Canada/Health Canada
The Federal Health Portfolio (HP) (Public Health Agency of Canada and Health Canada), share a mandate to prepare for and respond to public health emergencies. The HP leads or provides assistance to Government of Canada institutions/departments responding to a request from the province/territory for assistance to an emergency that may impact the health of their populations, including First Nations and Inuit Health.
Canadian Armed Forces – Canadian Joint Operations Command
The Canadian Armed Forces may provide persons, facilities, logistics, naval and airborne support and other resources during a marine pollution incident. The availability of these resources is dependent upon National Defence established priorities and operational requirements.
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada can provide advice to the Canadian Coast Guard regarding pollution incidents in the Arctic and on or near Indigenous lands regarding land claims agreements, cultural and other issues. They may participate in the Environmental Emergency Team, provide expertise in specific areas and/or act as a community liaison to Indigenous groups.
Public Safety Canada
Public Safety Canada is responsible for the Federal Emergency Response Plan and can provide support in a large-scale incident that requires additional coordination of federal resources beyond the Canadian Coast Guard’s capability.
Government Operations Centre
The Government Operations Centre (GOC) operates within Public Safety Canada and provides 24/7 monitoring and reporting of events of national interest and provides strategic level coordination on behalf of the Government of Canada in response to an emerging or occurring event affecting the national interest. The GOC is also the main contact point for the Canadian Coast Guard in accordance with the Agreement on Cooperation on Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response in the Arctic.
National Energy Board
The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is the lead agency for spills that occur at offshore and nearshore oil and gas exploration and production facilities on frontier lands. It is an independent federal agency that reports to the Minister of Natural Resources Canada and regulates international and interprovincial aspects of the oil, gas and electric utility industries. They may be included as part of the Science Table for expertise in this field.
Global Affairs Canada, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Canadian Coast Guard headquarters will work with this department to provide assistance to contracting states to the International Convention, Oil Pollution Preparedness, Response and Cooperation, Convention (1990) and to request assistance from other countries in accordance with the procedures stipulated in section 5.4 International Cooperation in Pollution Response of the National Contingency Chapter.

B.2  External Support Agencies

Provincial and Territorial Governments
Provincial and territorial governments, through their various agencies and departments, have legislative mandates and expertise that can contribute to the overall response and should be included in Regional Plans as required.
Municipal Governments, Agencies, or Boards
The first responders to a spill in any community are typically the local fire department or public works. Municipal governments can provide valuable local knowledge on what sensitivities are important to local community they represent and what resources are available to assist in a response. The Canadian Coast Guard will work closely with these groups to ensure an appropriate response.
Indigenous Groups
Indigenous Groups may provide people, knowledge and equipment, and can identify resources at risk during the response to marine pollution incidents on or from their lands and indigenous traditional territories. They should be included in area plan development as required.
Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board
The Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board has the lead agency responsibility for pollution response with respect to incidents related to offshore Newfoundland petroleum exploration or production installations. In the event of such an incident, the Canadian Coast Guard may provide assistance in accordance with the  Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canadian Coast Guard [PDF] as a resource agency.
Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board
The Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board has the lead agency responsibility for pollution response with respect to incidents related to offshore Nova Scotia petroleum exploration or production installations. In the event of such an incident, the Canadian Coast Guard may provide assistance in accordance with the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canadian Coast Guard [PDF] as a resource agency.
Date modified:

Annexe B Organismes de soutien internes et externes

B.1  Organismes de soutien internes

Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne – Formation permanente – Enseignement maritime
Le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne appuie la préparation du programme en agissant à titre de coordonnateur de l’élaboration du programme d’enseignement. Les cours sont offerts au personnel du service Intervention environnementale de même qu’à d’autres représentants du gouvernement et de l’industrie.
Opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne – Services de communications et de trafic maritimes
Les Services de communications et de trafic maritimes présentent un avis à l’agent du service en Intervention environnementale concernant un incident de pollution en milieu marin (certaines régions – voir « Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne – Centre des opérations régionales » ci-dessous), dirigent les navires dans les zones d’urgence selon les directives données par les agents d’intervention en cas de pollution, diffusent l’information maritime, émettent les Avis à la navigation et communiquent de l’information sur les navires, s’il y a lieu.
Garde côtière canadienne – Flotte
La flotte offrira un soutien ou des services aux organismes responsables à la demande de l’agent du service en Intervention environnementale, du commandant d’intervention. Parmi ces services, mentionnons les suivants : évaluations initiales des déversements; vérifications et opérations initiales d’intervention; prélèvement d’échantillons sur l’eau au nom de l’agent d’intervention en cas de pollution; exécution des fonctions de commandant d’intervention à la demande du programme d’Intervention environnementale; assurance de la sécurité sur place.
Flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne – Centre des opérations régionales
Le Centre des opérations régionales peut informer l’agent du service d’Intervention environnementale d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin (certaines régions – voir « Opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne – Services de communications et de trafic maritimes » ci-dessus) et se charge de la coordination et de l’affectation des ressources de la GCC à la demande du commandant d’intervention.
Services techniques intégrés de la Garde côtière canadienne
Les Services techniques intégrés offrent des services de soutien technique en ce qui concerne l’acquisition et la gestion du cycle de vie d’immobilisations, ce qui comprend, entre autres, l’équipement de dépollution et les navires.
Installations de la Garde côtière canadienne/Installations de Pêches et Océans Canada
Mise à disposition de petits navires, d’installations de base, d’espace d’entreposage, d’héliplateformes, de rampes de mise à l’eau et d’accostage de bateau et de sites de transition.
Pêches et Océans Canada – Services intégrés – Biens immobiliers, protection et sécurité
Communication de conseils sur la sécurité des lieux et des employés et application de mesures de sûreté ministérielles, conseils généraux sur la santé et la sécurité et affectation d’un agent de santé et sécurité, si nécessaire, selon la structure organisationnelle rattachée au Système de gestion des interventions (ou au Système de commandement d’intervention équivalent).
Pêches et Océans Canada – Gestion de l’information et services de la technologie – Sûreté de la technologie de l’information
Le service Sûreté de la technologie de l’information (TI) met à disposition des systèmes d’informatique, tel que des ordinateurs, des serveurs, des applications logicielles et de courriel, des appareils de communication portatifs, tels que des Blackberry, et l’infrastructure de sûreté de la TI adéquate satisfaisant à toutes les exigences de Pêches et Océans Canada en matière de TI et requise par la structure organisationnelle rattachée au Système de gestion des interventions (ou au Système de commandement d’intervention équivalent).
Pêches et Océans Canada – Communications
Le service Communications traite les demandes de renseignements des organismes de médias en appliquant le Plan de communication en temps de crise de Pêches et Océans Canada. La Direction des communications coordonne également tous les aspects de l’information diffusée pour s’assurer que la population dispose dès que possible de l’information la plus pertinente et exacte qui soit. Ce service correspond aux fonctions de l’agent des communications dans la structure organisationnelle rattachée au Système de gestion des interventions (ou au Système de commandement d’intervention équivalent).
Pêches et Océans Canada – Finances
Offre un soutien et des ressources à la section des finances du Système de gestion des interventions. Conjointement avec le personnel de la Garde côtière canadienne, le service des finances de Pêches et Océans Canada met à disposition les systèmes financiers de Pêches et Océans Canada servant aux opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne et offre des services contractuels, comptables et d’établissement des coûts.
Pêches et Océans Canada – Ressources humaines
Le service des Ressources humaines offre au programme d’intervention environnementale l’administration et le soutien en ce qui a trait aux services qu’il fournit habituellement tels que la dotation, les relations de travail et la rémunération.
Pêches et Océans Canada/Ministère de la Justice – Services juridiques
La prestation de services juridiques à la Garde côtière canadienne incombe au ministère fédéral de la Justice, au sein des services juridiques de Pêches et Océans Canada, à Ottawa. L’aide et les conseils donnés viseront à appuyer le commandant d’intervention. L’avocat fera partie de l’équipe de commandement de la structure organisationnelle du Système de commandement d’intervention.
Autres ressources de Pêches et Océans Canada (Habitat, Sciences, etc.)
À titre de participant à la Table scientifique, Pêches et Océans Canada donne des conseils scientifiques et techniques relativement aux éléments suivants : l’emplacement des ressources halieutiques essentielles et leur habitat, les périodes et le lieu des activités de pêche, l’information océanographique, le soutien de la surveillance des déversements et de la modélisation des trajectoires, une orientation générale pour le soutien des opérations et des stratégies de nettoyage, l’incidence des polluants sur les ressources délicates, la surveillance de l’incidence possible des stratégies d’intervention, les priorités liées à la protection de l’environnement dans la perspective des pêches.
Transports Canada – Sécurité maritime
La Sécurité maritime de Transports Canada est chargée des enquêtes à bord des navires, en cas d’incidents de pollution causée par les navires, et offre une expertise technique en ce qui concerne les navires et les activités à bord de ceux-ci qui peuvent atténuer les effets des rejets provenant des navires. En outre, Transports Canada est responsable du Plan national de préparation en matière de prévention et d’intervention environnementale et du Régime de préparation et d’intervention en cas de déversements d’hydrocarbures en milieu marin, lesquels assurent la surveillance de la sécurité, la prévention de la pollution, la surveillance de la conformité à la réglementation et les mesures d’application. Ces responsabilités sont les suivantes :
  • gestion du Programme national de surveillance aérienne
  • examen des plans de prévention de la pollution et d’intervention des bâtiments et des installations de manutention des hydrocarbures
  • aide à l'examen des plans de sauvetage
  • gouvernance du régime (surveillance du régime, conseils consultatifs nationaux/régionaux, comités d’utilisateurs, conformément aux décrets C.P. 2003-2090 et 2004-0322)
  • agrément des organismes d’intervention et surveillance de leurs activités et de leurs exercices
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est l’autorité fédérale donnant des conseils environnementaux et scientifiques pendant un incident de pollution en milieu marin. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada préside normalement la Table scientifique qui est chargée de communiquer des conseils environnementaux regroupés au cours des opérations d’intervention, ce qui comprend les prévisions météorologiques et l’information sur l’environnement opérationnel physique, les prévisions du mouvement et de la trajectoire des déversements, les stratégies d’intervention adéquates, l’emplacement des zones délicates, l’approbation de l’utilisation des agents de traitement de déversements et les techniques de nettoyage.
Portefeuille de la Santé, Agence de la santé publique du Canada/Santé Canada
Le portefeuille fédéral de la Santé est constitué de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de Santé Canada qui partagent un mandat de préparation et d’intervention en cas d’urgences de santé publique. Le portefeuille de la Santé dirige ou aide les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement du Canada lorsqu’il faut répondre à une demande d’aide de la part d’une administration infranationale pour intervenir dans une situation d’urgence susceptible d’avoir des répercussions sur la santé des citoyens et notamment sur la santé des Premières Nations et des Inuits.
Forces armées canadiennes – Commandement des opérations interarmées du Canada
Les Forces armées canadiennes peuvent offrir du personnel, des installations, des services de logistique, un soutien naval et aéroporté et d’autres ressources en cas d’incident de pollution en milieu marin. La disponibilité de ces ressources est fonction des priorités établies et des besoins opérationnels de la Défense nationale.
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada peut donner des conseils à la Garde côtière canadienne relativement aux incidents de pollution survenant dans l’Arctique et sur des terres autochtones ou à proximité de celles-ci. Les conseils portent sur les accords de revendications territoriales, sur les aspects culturels et sur d’autres aspects. Les représentants de ce ministère peuvent participer aux activités de l’équipe d’intervention d’urgence, offrir une expertise dans des domaines précis ou agir à titre d’agent de liaison communautaire avec les groupes autochtones.
Sécurité publique Canada
Sécurité publique Canada a la responsabilité du plan fédéral d’intervention d’urgence et peut offrir un soutien en cas d’incident de grande envergure nécessitant une coordination accrue des ressources fédérales qui dépasse la capacité de la Garde côtière canadienne.
Centre des opérations du gouvernement
Le Centre des opérations du gouvernement, qui relève de Sécurité publique Canada, offre une surveillance et un signalement en tout temps des événements d’intérêt national. Il assure la coordination au niveau stratégique au nom du gouvernement du Canada au cours des interventions en cas d’incident nouveau ou en cours qui touche l’intérêt national. Le Centre est également le principal point de contact avec la Garde côtière canadienne, conformément à l’Accord de coopération sur la préparation et l’intervention en cas de déversement d’hydrocarbures dans l’Arctique.
Office national de l'énergie
L’Office national de l’énergie (ONE ou Office) est l’organisme responsable en cas de déversements qui se produisent dans les installations d’exploration et de production pétrolière et gazière au large et à proximité du littoral, sur les terres frontalières. Il s’agit d’un organisme fédéral indépendant qui relève du ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada et qui réglemente les aspects internationaux et interprovinciaux des industries pétrolière, gazière et des services d’électricité. L’Office peut faire partie de la Table scientifique en raison de son expertise dans ce domaine.
Affaires mondiales Canada, ministre des Affaires étrangères
L’Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne collabore avec ce ministère pour offrir une aide aux États contractants signataires de la Convention internationale sur la préparation, la lutte et la coopération en matière de pollution par les hydrocarbures (1990) et pour demander l’aide des autres pays, conformément aux procédures stipulées dans la section 5.4 Coopération internationale en matière d’intervention en cas de pollution Coopération internationale en matière d’intervention en cas de pollution du chapitre national du plan d’urgence.

B.2    Organismes de soutien externes

Gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux
Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, par l’intermédiaire de leurs divers organismes et ministères, remplissent des mandats législatifs et offrent une expertise pouvant contribuer à l’intervention générale; ils doivent être intégrés aux plans régionaux, s’il y a lieu.
Administrations, commissions ou organismes municipaux
Dans n’importe quelle collectivité, les premiers intervenants à se présenter sur les lieux d’un déversement sont généralement les services d’incendie ou de travaux publics de l’endroit. Les administrations municipales peuvent communiquer des connaissances locales très utiles sur les aspects délicats qui sont importants pour la collectivité qu’elles représentent et sur les ressources disponibles pour faciliter une intervention. La Garde côtière canadienne collabore étroitement avec ces groupes pour assurer une intervention efficace.
Groupes autochtones
Les groupes autochtones peuvent fournir des ressources humaines, des connaissances et de l’équipement, et peuvent déterminer les ressources à risque durant une intervention en cas d’incident de pollution en milieu marin qui se déroule sur leurs terres et dans les territoires autochtones traditionnels, ou qui en proviennent. Il faut donc en tenir compte dans l’élaboration du plan sectoriel, s’il y a lieu.
Office Canada-Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador des hydrocarbures extracôtiers
Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board [en anglais seulement] est l’organisme responsable de l’intervention en cas de pollution pour les incidents associés aux installations d’exploration ou de production pétrolière au large de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Advenant un incident semblable, la Garde côtière canadienne peut fournir de l’aide, conformément au  Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canadian Coast Guard [PDF, en anglais seulement] à titre d’organisme ressource.
Office Canada–Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers
Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board [en anglais seulement] est l’organisme responsable de l’intervention en cas de pollution pour les incidents associés aux installations d’exploration ou de production pétrolière au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Advenant un incident semblable, la Garde côtière canadienne peut fournir de l’aide, conformément au  Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board and the Canadian Coast Guard [PDF, en anglais seulement] à titre d’organisme ressource.
Date de modification :