Icebreaking Operations Directive 
2. Support to Sealing Vessels

Table of contents

1 Introduction

This directive specifies the conditions under which the Canadian Coast Guard provides icebreaking services in support of sealing vessels. It should be used in conjunction with other icebreaking policies including Icebreaking Levels of Service and Ice Navigation in Canadian Waters.

2 Background

The Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard is mandated to provide icebreaking and ice management services in order to facilitate safe, economical and efficient movement of ships through ice-covered waters. Additionally, icebreaking services decrease the risk of flooding as a result of ice build-up.

The legal basis or authority for the provision of icebreaking services is the Oceans Act, 1996, Part III, Section 41.

Each spring, in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and off the north east coast of Newfoundland, the annual seal hunt takes place, where vessels under 20 meters (65 feet) transport hunters through ice to the seal herds. During this period, frequent requests for escort are received as well as numerous distress calls from fishing vessels trapped in the ice. Marine investigation reports from the Transportation Safety Board of Canada indicate that some of the vessels involved in the seal hunt are not designed for ice navigation. Typically, fishing vessels engaged in sealing activities are not strenghtened or reinforced enough for navigation in ice (hulls, shafts, propellers and rudders).

3 Principles

3.1 Purpose

Icebreaking services are provided for the safety of navigation, to improve marine traffic in ice-covered Canadian waters, and in southern Canada, to protect life and property in flood plain areas.

3.2 Provision

Due to the level of risk of damage to sealing vessels in heavy ice conditions, the following exception will apply to route assistance. When there are no distress and emergency situations, escort services may be provided to assist sealing vessels out of heavy ice conditions and into workable ice or open water.

Icebreakers may be used as a platform to assist Fisheries Management personnel with enforcement and monitoring functions, or to assist the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in the event there are attempts to disrupt the seal hunt.

If icebreakers are required to transit through ice in the vicinity of seal pups, all due consideration is to be taken to avoid dense populations of seal pups.

3.3 Exclusions

The Canadian Coast Guard will not provide icebreaking services to allow sealing vessels direct access to the seal herds and to break up ice floes to prevent the sealing vessels from damaging their vessels while attempting to reach the seal herds.

4 Responsibilities

The Icebreaking Superintendent under the direction of the Regional Director, Canadian Coast Guard Programs, with the advice and assistance of functional staff at National Headquarters, shall be responsible for the application of the provisions of this directive.

5 Definitions

Arctic:
Geographic area defined for the purposes of this document as shown in annex A(Arctique)
Beset:
Vessel unable to move in any direction because of ice surrounding the vessel. (Coincé dans les glaces)
Convoy:
An escort of more than one vessel in a line. (Convoi)
Escort:
Direct assistance of an icebreaker to a vessel or vessels. The icebreaker will break a track that the escorted vessel(s) will follow. (Escorte)
Icebreaker:
A ship specially designed and constructed for the purpose of assisting the passage of other ships through ice. (Brise-glace)
Icebreaking services:
Includes route assistance, ice routing and information services, and marine facility and port maintenance. (Services de déglaçage)
Ice Information:
The provision of general ice information to vessels and other interested parties. (Information sur les glaces)
Ice Routing:
The provision of a specific route for vessels to follow through the easiest ice, reducing the need for escorts. (Navigation dans les glaces)
Ice season:
Each period of time starting with and including early November for the Labrador coast up to and including June of the following year in southern Canada and beginning at the end of June up to and including some of November in the prescribed zones of northern Canada. (Saison des glaces)
Southern Canada:
The waters of the territorial sea of Canada and the exclusive economic zone of Canada south of the Arctic as shown in annex A(Sud du Canada)

6 References

7 Inquiries

Inquiries related to this directive should be sent to the Manager, Icebreaking Program and Arctic operations:
DFO.ManagerIBProg-ArcticOps/ProgDECI-OpsArctique.mpo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Approved by:

Julie Gascon
Director General, Operations

Annex A Icebreaking Geographical Areas

Map of Canada

  • Map of Canada - Text version A colour map of Canada with a legend at top left showing two elements: Arctic waters in pale green and Southern Canada waters; including Atlantic Ocean, Gulf, Estuary and Great Lakes; in yellow. A compass is situated at the top right. A scale in Nautical miles is at the bottom right. The NavData team logo is presented at the bottom left.
Date modified:

Directive sur les opérations de déglaçage
2. Appui aux navires participant à la chasse aux phoques

Table des matières

1 Introduction

La présente directive précise les conditions en vertu desquelles les services de déglaçage de la Garde côtière canadienne peuvent être offerts en appui aux navires participant à la chasse aux phoques. Elle devrait être utilisée de concert avec d’autres politiques de déglaçage incluant les Niveaux de service - Déglaçage et la Navigation dans les glaces en eaux canadiennes.

2 Contexte

Le ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne a pour mandat d'offrir des services de déglaçage et de gestion des glaces afin d’assurer la sécurité, la rentabilité et l’efficacité du déplacement des navires dans les eaux couvertes de glace. De plus, les services de déglaçage réduisent le risque d’inondation en raison des embâcles.

La base juridique ou l’autorité pour la prestation des services de déglaçage est la Loi sur les océans, 1996, Partie III, Article 41.

Chaque printemps, une chasse aux phoques annuelle a lieu dans le Golfe du Saint-Laurent et au large de la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve. Des navires de moins de 20 mètres (65 pieds) transportent les chasseurs à travers les glaces jusqu’aux troupeaux de phoques. Au cours de cette période, de nombreuses demandes de services d’escorte sont formulées et plusieurs appels de détresse sont reçus de navires de pêche pris dans les glaces. Les rapports d'enquête maritime du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada impliquant des navires participant à la chasse aux phoques indiquent que certains de ces navires ne sont pas conçus pour la navigation dans les glaces. Généralement, les navires utilisés pour la chasse aux phoques ne sont pas assez renforcés pour la navigation dans les glaces (coques, arbres porte-hélices, hélices et gouvernails).

3 Principes

3.1 Objet

Les services de déglaçage sont fournis pour la sécurité de la navigation, pour améliorer le trafic maritime dans les eaux canadiennes couvertes de glace, et dans le sud du Canada, pour protéger la vie et les biens dans le périmètre d’inondation.

3.2 Prestation de services

En raison du niveau de risque pour les navires participant à la chasse aux phoques dans la glace épaisse, l’exception suivante s’appliquera à l’assistance de la navigation dans les glaces. Lorsqu'il n'y a pas de situations de détresse et d'urgence, des services d'escorte peuvent être fournis pour guider les navires participant à la chasse aux phoques hors des eaux couvertes de glace épaisse jusqu’à des eaux légèrement encombrées de glace ou des eaux libres.

Les brise-glaces peuvent servir de plate-forme pour aider le personnel de la Gestion des pêches à s’acquitter de leurs fonctions d’application et de surveillance ou pour aider la Gendarmerie royale du Canada dans des situations où quelqu’un tenterait de perturber la chasse aux phoques.

Si les brise-glaces doivent se déplacer dans les glaces où se trouvent des jeunes phoques, il faut alors déployer tous les efforts raisonnables pour éviter de s’approcher des populations denses de jeunes phoques.

3.3 Exclusions

La Garde côtière canadienne ne fournira pas les services de déglaçage pour faire en sorte que les navires participants à la chasse aux phoques aient un accès direct aux troupeaux de phoques, ni pour dégager les masses de glaces flottantes pouvant endommager les navires participant à la chasse aux phoques alors qu’ils tentent d’atteindre les troupeaux de phoques.

4 Responsabilités

Le surintendant du déglaçage, sous la direction du directeur régional des Programmes de la Garde côtière canadienne, et avec les conseils et l’aide de son personnel des services fonctionnels à l’Administration centrale, sera responsable de l’application des dispositions de la présente directive.

5 Définitions

Arctique :
Secteur géographique défini pour les besoins de ce document tel qu’illustré à l’annexe A(Arctic)
Brise-glace :
Un navire spécialement conçu et construit dans le but d’aider le passage d’autres navires à travers la glace. (Icebreaker)
Coincé dans les glaces :
Navire incapable de se déplacer dans n’importe quelle direction à cause de la glace entourant le navire. (Beset)
Convoi :
Une escorte de plus d’un navire dans une ligne. (Convoy)
Escorte :
Assistance directe d’un brise-glace à un ou plusieurs navires. Le brise-glace frayera un chemin que suivra le(s) navire(s) escorté(s). (Escort)
Information sur les glaces :
La diffusion d’informations générales sur les glaces aux navires et aux autres parties intéressées. (Ice information)
Navigation dans les glaces :
La prestation d’une route spécifique pour que les navires puissent naviguer plus facilement dans la glace, réduisant le besoin d’escortes. (Ice routing)
Saison des glaces :
Chaque période de temps commençant par et incluant le début de novembre pour la côte du Labrador jusqu'à juin inclusivement de l'année suivante dans le sud du Canada et commençant à la fin de juin jusqu'à novembre inclusivement dans les zones prescrites du nord du Canada. (Ice season)
Services de déglaçage :
Comprend l’assistance à la navigation dans les glaces, les conseils et renseignements sur la navigation dans les glaces, et l’entretien des installations maritimes et portuaires. (Icebreaking services)
Sud du Canada :
Secteur géographique défini pour les besoins de ce document tel qu’illustré à l’annexe A(Southern Canada)

6 Références

7 Renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements relatives à cette directive doivent être envoyées au gestionnaire du programme de déglaçage et opérations de l’Arctique : DFO.ManagerIBProg-ArcticOps/ProgDECI-OpsArctique.mpo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Approuvé par :

Julie Gascon
Directrice générale, Opérations

Annexe A Secteurs géographiques de déglaçage

Map of Canada
  • Version textuelle - Carte du Canada Une carte couleur du Canada avec une légende en haut à gauche montrant deux éléments : les eaux de l’Arctique en vert pâle et les eaux du sud du Canada, y compris l'océan Atlantique, le golfe, l'estuaire et les Grands Lacs en jaune. Une boussole est située en haut à droite. Une échelle en milles nautiques se trouve en bas à droite. Le logo de l'équipe NavData est présenté en bas à gauche.
Date de modification : 2019-01-03