Tank truck to marine vessel - Oil transfer

Table of Content

10. Contingency Planning

Prior to conducting an oil transfer operation, the driver must be confident that, in the event of an incident, appropriate actions will occur.

A contingency plan prescribes specific actions to be taken in the event of accidental discharges and is essential for an efficient and effective response. Such a response is intended to safeguard human health, the environment and property, in that order. A contingency plan should be backed up by a clear Company policy statement of the actions the company will commit to in the event of an emergency.

A contingency plan is of particular importance during truck to vessel oil transfers because the driver may:

10.1 Communications

Communication with Company management, off-site resources and regulatory agencies must be maintained. These lines of communication must be available at all times throughout the oil transfer operation. Trucks should have portable telephones or radios.

Note

All electrical equipment used in hazardous areas must meet appropriate safety requirements.

10.2 Initial Steps

The contingency plan must include a brief listing of the first steps to be taken in the event of a spill or other emergency. The focus of these steps should be:

10.3 Notification Requirements

Notification plans must include:

Note

The local Harbor Master, Wharfinger and Fisheries Officer should also be contacted as they may be able to coordinate local resources for an immediate response.

10.4 Contact Lists

Contact lists to support the above notification plans must be:

10.5 Equipment Lists

Equipment lists will provide information on what equipment is available, where it is located, and how to access and transport the equipment to the site. The lists will include the following:

10.6 On-Site Response Equipment

Equipment available on site during the transfer, as a minimum, must include the equipment required by CPPI The Petroleum Products Professional Driver's Manual. Additional equipment should be on hand depending on the specifics of the operation, taking into consideration factors such as size of the transfer, remoteness of the location, etc. The amount of equipment is to be commensurate with the risk associated with this activity and is necessary to ensure that an appropriate response can be conducted.

10.7 Training

All drivers and appropriate company personnel must be trained in emergency response procedures. The training must be adequate to provide them with the skills necessary to execute those portions of the contingency plan for which they are responsible. These might include:

10.8 Exercising

Exercising a contingency plan is the only way that any problems with the plan or its implementation can be identified. The plan should be exercised at least once each year. The exercise should be documented, along with all problems identified, lessons learned and solutions. Required modifications to the plan should be made immediately.

10.9 References

There are a number of documents available to assist in the development of a contingency plan.

As well, the B.C. Coastal Marina Facility and Operating Standards is a document intended to aid in the design and operation of land-based marina installations. It's contingency planning section may be helpful in designing a plan for mobile operations, see Appendix B at the end of this document.

Date modified:

Transfert de produits pétroliers de camions-citernes à navires

Table des matières


10. Plan d'intervention

Avant toute opération de transfert de produits pétroliers, le chauffeur doit s'être assuré qu'il existe un dispositif d'intervention en cas d'accident.

Il est donc essentiel qu'un plan d'action efficient et efficace ait été établi en prévision des déversements accidentels. Ce plan doit prévoir des mesures spécifiques pour la protection des personnes, de l'environnement et des biens (dans cet ordre-là), et il doit être appuyé par une politique correspondante du transporteur concernant les mesures à prendre en cas d'urgence.

Le plan d'intervention prend toute son importance lorsque le chauffeur est :

Après un déversement, les autorités concernées cherchent à établir non seulement les causes et les impacts de l'accident, mais les mesures qui ont été prises par les personnes impliquées. Un plan d'intervention efficace permet de prendre les mesures appropriées et d'assurer aux autorités que des moyens avaient été prévus pour gérer la situation avec toute la diligence requise.

10.1 Communications

Il importe de maintenir de bons canaux de communication - et ce pendant toute la durée de l'opération - avec les responsables de l'entreprise de transport, les ressources extérieures et les organismes de réglementation concernés. Le chauffeur devra pour cela être pourvu d'un téléphone portable ou d'un système de communication radio.

Nota

L'équipement électrique utilisé dans les endroits dangereux doit être conforme aux règles de sécurité concernées.

10.2 Mesures d'intervention initiales

Le plan d'intervention doit prévoir une brève nomenclature des mesures initiales à prendre en cas de déversement ou autre situation d'urgence. À cette étape, l'accent sera mis sur :

10.3 Consignes de notification

Le plan de notification doit prévoir ce qui suit :

Nota

Le directeur du port, le gardien du quai et l'agent local de surveillance des pêches doivent également être avertis car ils pourraient utilement intervenir dans la coordination des ressources locales d'intervention initiale.

10.4 Listes de contacts

Les listes de contacts établies pour le plan de notification doivent être :

10.5 Listes des équipments d'intervention

Des listes des équipements mis à disposition doivent être prévues en prévision des interventions d'urgence. Ces listes doivent préciser l'endroit où se trouve chaque équipement concerné, comment on peut y accéder et comment on peut le transporter à pied d'œuvre. Elles indiqueront notamment ce qui suit :

10.6 Équipements d'intervention requis in situ

Le site de l'opération de transfert doit au minimum être doté des équipements requis par le Manuel des chauffeurs de véhicules transportant des produits pétroliers (ICPP). Il conviendra d'avoir à disposition in situ certains équipements particuliers, selon le type d'opération (quantité de produit à transférer) et les conditions du site (éloignement relatif de l'endroit, etc.). L'importance du matériel à prévoir dépend du degré de risque que comporte l'opération et des moyens requis pour que l'intervention soit efficace.

10.7 Formation

Les chauffeurs de camion et autres personnels concernés de l'entreprise de transport doivent avoir reçu la formation nécessaire pour assurer adéquatement les étapes d'intervention dont ils ont la charge. Ces étapes comprennent :

10.8 exercices d'intervention d'urgence

C'est en procédant à un exercice - au moins une fois par an - qu'on pourra détecter les lacunes que comporte le plan d'intervention et les difficultés que pourrait poser sa mise à exécution. Un rapport circonstancié doit être établi, décrivant tous les problèmes rencontrés, les solutions proposées et les leçons tirées de l'expérience. Les modifications recommandées au plan d'intervention par suite de l'exercice doivent être mises en œuvre dans les plus brefs délais.

10.9 Références

Il existe plusieurs documents de référence pouvant être d'une grande utilité dans l'élaboration des plans d'intervention d'urgence :

On se reportera également au B.C. Coastal Marina Facility and Operating Standards concernant les normes en vigueur pour les équipements terrestres des ports de plaisance maritimes de la Colombie-Britannique. La section portant sur les plans d'intervention d'urgence contient des renseignements utiles concernant les opérations mobiles (se reporter à l'annexe B du présent manuel).

Date de modification :