1 Plan Overview

1.1 Introduction

Within Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), on behalf of the Minister, the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) is the operational arm of the Government of Canada responsible for ensuring an appropriate response to ship-source and mystery-source pollution incidents in Canadian waters. This constitutes a major component of the overall marine pollution response capacity in Canada. The National Strategies Directorate, the Operations Directorates and the National Environmental Response Program Office are responsible for preparedness and response in this regard.

The Government of Canada is accountable to the Canadian public to ensure that the public interest is being protected in the event of a marine pollution incident. The objectives of the CCG are to minimize the environmental, socio-economic, and public safety impacts of marine pollution incidents, and provide humanitarian aid to natural and man-made disasters, where possible.

In addition, an industry funded pollution response capacity exists whereby potential polluters pay for the cost of preparedness for the environmental risk posed by their operations. This preparedness is established and maintained by certified Response Organizations who can be contracted by polluters to provide oil spill response services in the event of a marine pollution incident. This industry funded capacity is known as the Canadian Marine Oil Spill Preparedness and Response Regime and forms the other component of Canada’s overall marine pollution response capacity.

CCG will apply the Incident Command System (ICS) as its common and standard incident response methodology for all marine pollution incidents and respond as the Incident Commander for the federal government. Depending on the nature, scope and complexity of an incident, either a Single Command or a Unified Command construct may be established to conduct the incident response effort. When a Unified Command construct is established, it brings together the Incident Commanders of all major organizations that have either the jurisdiction and/or a mandate related to the incident at hand to coordinate an effective response while carrying out their own organization’s jurisdictional responsibilities.

Canada has adopted the "polluter pay principle" in legislation and requires polluters to pay for the cost of cleanup and pollution damage. CCG’s costs with respect to the response may also be recovered from the polluter.

1.2 Purpose

The Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter provides the details regarding the scope within which CCG will operate to ensure an appropriate response to a marine pollution incident. It outlines the operational precepts under which CCG responds to an incident at the tactical, regional, and national levels.

This Plan outlines the framework CGG will implement during the response to a marine pollution incident. It also establishes procedures when acting as an assisting agency for pollution incidents.

1.3 Vision

To minimize the public safety, environmental and economic impacts of marine pollution incidents occurring in Canadian waters.

1.4 Application

The Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter applies to marine pollution incidents occurring in Canadian waters for which CCG is the lead agency. It also guides the manner in which CCG will provide support, upon request, to another lead agency.

1.5 Legislative Mandate

The following Acts of Parliament provide the federal legislative mandate for this Plan:

Canada is also signatory to a number of international agreements, conventions and Memoranda of Understanding that apply to the conduct of this Plan. Please refer to Annex A – Existing Agreements and Memoranda of Understanding for a complete list of these agreements.

1.6 National Integrated Government of Canada Response

During an integrated Government of Canada response, all involved federal government institutions assist in determining overall objectives, contribute to joint plans, and maximize the use of all available resources. This occurs at the national and regional levels as necessary, based on the scope and nature of the emergency.

1.6.1 Supporting Departmental Plans

Supporting departmental plans and coordinating departments provide general or specialized assistance to feed into the Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter.

The Fisheries and Oceans Canada Strategic Emergency Management Plan (SEMP) is an overarching plan that outlines the Department’s comprehensive and coordinated approach to emergency management at a strategic departmental level. This plan builds on existing operational and business continuity plans and establishes the Department’s objectives, approach and structure for protecting Canadians from threats and hazards within its areas of mandated responsibility.

The Canadian Coast Guard’s Headquarters Operations Emergency Management Plan (OEMP) is to ensure that the full resources of Fisheries and Oceans Canada can be brought to the aid of any Canadian Coast Guard ship or unit that is facing a shipboard emergency, including a marine pollution incident. This plan, housed in the Canadian Coast Guard, National Command Centre, provides operational support to the Canadian Coast Guard’s National Incident Management Team in the event of an emergency.

1.6.2 Other Coordinating Government Departments

The National Emergency Response System, developed by federal, provincial and territorial governments, provides for the harmonization of joint federal, provincial and territorial response to emergencies. It supports and facilitates procurement and logistics coordination between all levels of government, the private sector, non-governmental organizations and international stakeholders. Although in most instances it applies to federal support at the request of a province or territory, it can also be used in instances where provinces or territories support federal response to an emergency under federal jurisdiction such as the CCG’s responsibility to respond to marine pollution incidents.

1.6.2.1 Federal Emergency Response Plan

Public Safety Canada is the federal coordinating department, based on the legislated responsibility of the Minister of Public Safety under the Emergency Management Act, responsible for engaging relevant federal government institutions in a response. Public Safety Canada developed the Federal Emergency Response Plan in consultation with other federal government institutions and is the Government of Canada's "all-hazards" response plan. The Federal Emergency Response Plan outlines the processes and mechanisms to facilitate an integrated Government of Canada response to an emergency and to eliminate the need for federal government institutions to coordinate a wider Government of Canada response. Federal government institutions are responsible for developing emergency management plans, such as the Canadian Coast Guard’s Marine Spills Contingency Plan, in relation to risks in their areas of accountability. By this method, individual departmental activities and plans that directly or indirectly support the strategic objectives of the Federal Emergency Response Plan contribute to an integrated Government of Canada response.

1.6.2.2 Maritime Event Response Protocol

While not a plan, the Maritime Event Response Protocol recognizes that many government departments and agencies have emergency management responsibilities specifically related to maritime events to which various legislation, regulations and policies apply. The Maritime Event Response Protocol does not diminish the Canadian Coast Guard’s mandate as lead federal agency for marine spills from ships, but rather coordinates a comprehensive approach to incident management with other interested agencies.

The Maritime Event Response Protocol provides strategic guidance for the planning and execution of an integrated and coordinated Government of Canada response to a significant emerging or occurring maritime event affecting Canadian national interests. Although focused primarily on maritime security, events may include, but are not limited to health, pollution or other environmental impacts, unauthorized research or exploitation of the seabed and resources; and terrorism and other criminal activities. The Maritime Event Response Protocol also provides for common situational awareness for all federal government departments and provides a venue for all departmental Headquarters to share information and support the response.

Any of the Core Group Partners, including the CCG (Director, Incident Management, Operations, CCG Headquarter), may activate the Maritime Event Response Protocol for a significant marine event.

The plans mentioned in this section do not supersede the Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter. Rather, they represent a federal escalation of an emergency response beyond the scope of the activities detailed in this Plan. For example, the Maritime Event Response Protocol fosters enhanced federal communication, coordination and unity of an effort during potentially complex and politically sensitive situations or events.

1.7 Health and Safety

Safety is the first and foremost consideration in any response to a marine pollution incident in Canada. Environmental Response personnel involved in the response to a marine pollution incident shall do so in accordance with provisions stipulated in the Canada Labour Code, specifically those specified in the Canada Occupational Health and Safety Regulations, the Marine Occupational Safety and Health Regulations, the Fleet Safety and Security Management System and the Shore-Based Safety Management System.

The Fisheries and Oceans Canada Occupational Health and Safety Manual provides an overview of the requirements for Health and Safety under the Canada Labour Code. All personnel who have supervisory responsibilities are responsible and personally liable for protecting the health and safety of their employees while in the workplace.

1.8 Geographic Scope - Canadian Coast Guard Regions

There are three Canadian Coast Guard Regions to facilitate the administration of program delivery. They are:

  • Western: includes all Canadian waters on the west coast of Canada out to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone and the internal waters of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba;
  • Central and Arctic: includes all Canadian Arctic waters from the Alaska-Yukon boundary east to the Nunavut-Greenland boundary out to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone, Hudson and James Bays, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River, and the internal waters of Ontario and Quebec; and
  • Atlantic: includes all Canadian waters from the maritime border between Quebec and Newfoundland and Labrador east and south to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone and the internal waters of Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia to the United States Border.

Figure 1: Canadian Coast Guard Regions

Canadian Coast Guard Regional Boundaries
Figure 1: Canadian Coast Guard Regions

Canadian Coast Guard Regional Boundaries

  1. Western Region – Includes all Canadian waters on the west coast of Canada out to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone and the internal waters of British Columbia, the Yukon Territory, the Northwest Territories, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba
  2. Central and Arctic Region – Includes all Canadian Arctic waters from Alaska-Yukon boundary est to the Nunavute-Greenland boundary out to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone, Hudson and James Bays, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River, and the internal waters of Ontario and Quebec
  3. Atlantic Region – Includes all Canadian waters from the maritime border between Quebec and Newfoundland and Labrador east and south to the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone and the internal waters of Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia to the United States Border
Date modified:

1 Aperçu du plan

1.1 Introduction

En tant qu’organisme de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) est l’organe opérationnel du gouvernement du Canada responsable d’assurer, au nom du ministre, une intervention adéquate à la suite des incidents de pollution causée par les navires et d’origine mystérieuse survenant dans les eaux canadiennes. Cette responsabilité constitue un des éléments majeurs de la capacité générale d’intervention en cas de pollution en milieu marin au Canada. La Direction générale des stratégies nationales, la Direction générale des opérations et le Bureau national du programme d’intervention environnementale sont chargés de la préparation et de l’intervention dans ce domaine.

Le gouvernement du Canada est tenu de rendre compte à la population canadienne en ce qui concerne la protection de l’intérêt public en cas d’incident de pollution en milieu marin. Les objectifs de la GCC consistent à réduire au minimum les répercussions des incidents de pollution marine sur l’environnement, la société, l’économie et la sécurité publique, puis de fournir une aide humanitaire en cas de catastrophe naturelle et anthropique, dans la mesure du possible.

En outre, il existe une capacité d’intervention en cas de pollution qui est financée par l’industrie et selon laquelle les pollueurs éventuels assument le coût de la préparation en fonction du risque que représentent leurs activités pour l’environnement. Cette préparation est établie et maintenue par des organismes d’intervention agréés avec lesquels les pollueurs peuvent conclure des contrats pour l’offre de services d’intervention en cas de déversement d’hydrocarbures donnant suite à un incident de pollution en milieu marin. Cette capacité financée par l’industrie est connue sous le nom de Régime canadien de préparation et d’intervention en cas de déversement d’hydrocarbures en milieu marin et constitue l’autre composante de la capacité globale d’intervention du Canada en cas de pollution en milieu marin.

La GCC appliquera le Système de commandement d’intervention (SCI) à titre de méthodologie courante et normalisée pour tous les incidents de pollution marine et interviendra en tant que commandant d’intervention pour le gouvernement fédéral. Selon la nature, la portée et la complexité d’un incident, un commandement simple ou un commandement unifié pourra être établi afin de réaliser les efforts d’intervention en cas d’incident. Lorsqu’un commandement unifié est établi, celui-ci réunit les commandements simples de toutes les grandes organisations qui ont soit la compétence, soit un mandat associé à l’incident en question afin de coordonner une intervention efficace tout en s’acquittant des responsabilités relevant de leur compétence.

Le Canada a adopté le « principe du pollueur-payeur » précisé dans la législation et exige que les pollueurs assument les coûts associés au nettoyage et aux dommages causés par la pollution. Les coûts engagés par la GCC en ce qui a trait à l’intervention peuvent également être récupérés auprès du pollueur.

1.2 Objet

Le Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national donne les détails de la portée des opérations que mènera la GCC pour assurer une intervention adéquate à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin. Ce plan décrit les préceptes opérationnels selon lesquels la GCC intervient en cas d’incident à l’échelle nationale, régionale ou locale.

Il présente la structure que la GCC doit mettre en place pour intervenir en cas d’incident de pollution marine. Le plan établit également des procédures associées au rôle d’organisme de soutien dans le cas d’incidents de pollution.

1.3 La vision

Réduire au minimum les répercussions des incidents de pollution marine survenant dans les eaux canadiennes sur la sûreté publique, l’environnement et l’économie.

1.4 Application

Le Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national s’applique aux incidents de pollution en milieu marin survenant dans les eaux canadiennes et vis-à-vis desquels la GCC agit à titre d’organisme responsable. Il oriente également la façon dont la GCC offre un soutien, sur demande, à un autre organisme responsable.

1.5 Mandat législatif

Les lois du Parlement suivantes représentent le mandat législatif fédéral associé à ce plan :

En outre, le Canada est signataire d’un certain nombre d’accords, de conventions et de protocoles d’entente internationaux qui s’appliquent à l’exécution de ce plan. Voir l’Aperçu du plan annexe A – Ententes et protocoles d’entente en vigueur pour consulter la liste complète de ces accords.

1.6 Intervention nationale intégrée du gouvernement du Canada

Au cours d’une intervention intégrée du gouvernement du Canada, toutes les institutions fédérales concernées aident à déterminer les objectifs globaux, contribuent aux plans communs et maximisent l’utilisation de toutes les ressources disponibles. Ce processus se déroule à l’échelle nationale et régionale, selon les besoins, en fonction de la portée et de la nature de l’urgence.

1.6.1 Plans de soutien des ministères

Les plans de soutien des ministères et les ministères coordonnateurs apportent une aide générale ou spécialisée qui s’intègre au Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national.

Le Plan stratégique de gestion des urgences (PSGU) de Pêches et Océans Canada est un plan fondamental qui décrit la démarche globale et coordonnée du ministère pour la gestion des urgences à un niveau stratégique ministériel. Ce plan s’appuie sur les plans de continuité des activités et des opérations et établit les objectifs, la démarche et la structure que le ministère doit adopter pour protéger le public canadien des menaces et des dangers dans les secteurs de responsabilité qui lui incombe en vertu de son mandat.

Le Plan de gestion des mesures d’urgence des opérations de l'administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne vise à faire en sorte que les ressources complètes de Pêches et Océans Canada puissent être mises à la disposition de tout navire ou de toute unité de la Garde côtière canadienne qui fait face à une situation d’urgence à bord, y compris un incident de pollution en milieu marin. Ce plan, qui est hébergé au Centre de commandement national de la Garde côtière canadienne, offre un soutien opérationnel à l’équipe nationale de gestion d'intervention de la Garde côtière canadienne en cas d’urgence.

1.6.2 Autres ministères coordonnateurs

Le Système national d’intervention d’urgence, mis au point par les gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, prévoit l’harmonisation des interventions conjointes fédérales, provinciales et territoriales en cas d’urgence. Il appuie et facilite l’approvisionnement et la coordination de la logistique entre tous les paliers de gouvernement, le secteur privé, les organisations non gouvernementales et les intervenants internationaux. Bien que, dans la plupart des cas, il concerne l’appui du gouvernement fédéral à la demande d’une province ou d’un territoire, il peut également être utilisé lorsque les provinces ou les territoires soutiennent une intervention fédérale à la suite d’une situation d’urgence relevant de la compétence fédérale, comme la responsabilité qu’assume la GCC d’intervenir en cas d’incidents de pollution en milieu marin.

1.6.2.1 Plan fédéral d'intervention d'urgence

Selon la responsabilité conférée au ministre de la Sûreté publique par la Loi sur la gestion des urgences, Sécurité publique Canada est le ministère coordonnateur fédéral responsable de mobiliser les institutions pertinentes du gouvernement fédéral pour une intervention. En consultation avec les autres institutions fédérales, Sécurité publique Canada a élaboré le Plan fédéral d’intervention d’urgence, qui est le plan d’intervention « tous risques » du gouvernement du Canada. Le Plan fédéral d’intervention d’urgence présente les processus et les mécanismes visant à faciliter et à coordonner l’intervention intégrée du gouvernement du Canada en cas d’urgence et à libérer les institutions fédérales de leur obligation de coordonner une intervention du gouvernement du Canada de plus grande envergure. Les institutions fédérales sont chargées d’élaborer des plans de gestion des urgences, comme le Plan d’urgence en cas de déversements en milieu marin de la Garde côtière canadienne, à l’égard des risques dans leurs domaines de responsabilité. De cette façon, les activités et les plans ministériels individuels qui appuient directement ou indirectement les objectifs stratégiques du Plan fédéral d’intervention d’urgence contribuent à l’intervention intégrée du gouvernement du Canada.

1.6.2.2 Protocole d’intervention en cas d’événement maritime

Même s’il ne s’agit pas d’un plan, le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime tient compte du fait que de nombreux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux assument des responsabilités en matière de gestion des urgences liées à des événements maritimes précis auxquels divers règlements, lois et politiques s’appliquent. Le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime ne diminue en rien le mandat d’organisme fédéral responsable assumé par la Garde côtière canadienne en ce qui concerne les déversements en milieu marin causés par un navire, mais coordonne plutôt une approche globale de la gestion des incidents avec d’autres organismes intéressés.

Le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime fournit une orientation stratégique pour la planification et l’exécution d’une intervention intégrée et coordonnée du gouvernement du Canada en cas d’événement maritime important, nouveau ou en cours, ayant des incidences sur les intérêts nationaux du Canada. Bien qu’ils concernent principalement la sécurité maritime, les événements peuvent inclure, sans toutefois s’y limiter, la santé, la pollution ou d’autres impacts environnementaux, la recherche ou l’exploitation non autorisée des fonds marins et des ressources, ainsi que le terrorisme et d’autres activités criminelles. Le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime apporte aussi une connaissance de la situation commune à tous les ministères fédéraux et fournit une tribune à toutes les administrations centrales ministérielles pour le partage de l’information et le soutien des interventions.

Tous les partenaires du groupe principal, ce qui comprend la GCC (directeur, Gestion des incidents, Opérations, Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne ), peuvent suivre le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime si un événement maritime majeur se produit.

Les plans mentionnés dans cette section ne remplacent pas le Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national. Ils représentent plutôt l’augmentation fédérale d’une intervention d’urgence qui dépasse la portée des activités détaillées dans le présent plan. Par exemple, le Protocole d’intervention d’événement maritime favorise une meilleure communication, coordination et unité des efforts à l’échelle fédérale pendant des situations ou événements potentiellement complexes et délicats du point de vue politique.

1.7 Santé et sécurité

La sécurité est l’élément le plus important dans toute intervention donnant suite à un incident de pollution en milieu marin exécutée au Canada. Le personnel d’intervention environnementale effectuant une intervention à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin doit remplir ses fonctions conformément aux dispositions du Code canadien du travail, et particulièrement à celles précisées dans le Règlement canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, le Règlement sur la sécurité et la santé au travail (navires), le Système de gestion de la sécurité et de la sûreté de la flotte et le Système de gestion de la sécurité à terre.

Le Manuel de santé et de sécurité au travail de Pêches et Océans Canada donne un aperçu des exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité applicables prévues par le Code canadien du travail. Tous les employés assumant des responsabilités de supervision sont personnellement responsables de protéger la santé et la sécurité de leurs employés dans le milieu de travail.

1.8 Portée géographique – Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne

Trois régions de la Garde côtière canadienne facilitent l’administration de l’exécution du programme. Ce sont les suivantes :

  • Ouest : comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes sur la côte ouest du Canada jusqu’à la périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, de même que les eaux intérieures de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba.
  • Centre et Arctique : comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes arctiques à partir de la frontière séparant le Yukon de l’Alaska à l’est jusqu’à la frontière du Nunavut et du Groenland, de là jusqu’à la périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, la baie d’Hudson et la baie James, les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, et les eaux intérieures de l’Ontario et du Québec.
  • Atlantique : comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes comprises entre la frontière maritime entre le Québec et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à l’est et au sud de la limite en périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, et les eaux intérieures de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, jusqu’à la frontière américaine.

Figure 1  : Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne

Démarcation des Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne
Figure 1  : Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne

Démarcation des Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne

  • Région de l’Ouest : comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes sur la côte ouest du Canada jusqu’à la périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, de même que les eaux intérieures de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba.
  • Région du Centre et Arctique : comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes arctiques à partir de la frontière séparant le Yukon de l’Alaska à l’est jusqu’à la frontière du Nunavut et du Groenland, de là jusqu’à la périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, la baie d’Hudson et la baie James, les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, et les eaux intérieures de l’Ontario et du Québec.
  • Région de l’Atlantique - comprend toutes les eaux canadiennes comprises entre la frontière maritime entre le Québec et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à l’est et au sud de la limite en périphérie de la zone économique exclusive, et les eaux intérieures de TerreNeuve-et-Labrador, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, jusqu’à la frontière américaine.
Date de modification :