Canadian Marine Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) Broadcast Standard

Table of Content


DGPS Beacon Information

These figures show nominal coverage from DGPS broadcasts. Users should be aware that coverage is subject to short and long term variation due to environmental and seasonal conditions. Please note that the following maps are not at scale and the coverage represented is approximate.

Pacific Coast
DGPS Beacon Information - Pacific
Site ID of Ref Stations DGPS Station ID Position Frequency [KHz] BPS
Alert Bay 300, 301

909

50 35 N
126 55 W
309 200
Amphitrite Pt. 302, 303 908 48 55 N
125 33 W
315 200
Richmond 304, 305 907 49 06 N
123 11W
320 200
Sandspit 306, 307 906 53 14 N
131 49 W
300 200
DGPS Coverage - Pacific Region

Figure 6 - DGPS Coverage Pacific Region

This full-colour map portrays minimal coverage from existing broadcast stations as described in Table 4-16 entitled Canadian Coast Guard DGPS Broadcasts – Pacific Coast.

Great Lakes
DGPS Beacon Information - Central
Site ID of Ref Stations DGPS Station ID Position Frequency [KHz] BPS
Wiarton 310, 311 918 44 45 N
81 07 W
286 200
Cardinal 308, 309 919 44 47 N
75 25 W
306 200
DGPS Coverage - Central Region

Figure 7 - DGPS Coverage Central Region

This map shows the Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) available to mariners in limited areas on the Great Lakes. The Canadian Coast Guard provides a system of MF radiobeacon transmitters which broadcast corrections to GPS information in order to allow for more precise positioning in areas covered by the DGPS sites, represented by large dots. This map shows a site located at Wiarton on Georgian Bay, which provides coverage for Georgian Bay, most of Lake Huron and also most of Lake Simcoe on the Trent Severn System. Also shown are the DGPS sites at Cardinal Ontario and St-Jean-sur-Richelieu Québec, which combined provide coverage to the extreme east end of Lake Ontario and on the St. Lawrence River. For all sites, areas of coverage are shown as enclosed shapes with the actual site at the approximate centre of the shape. An important note is shown on the map, and it reads ‘All possible efforts have been made to verify the data using actual measurements. However, coverage may be affected by time of the day, season or land layout. Therefore the coverage shown is approximate and the Canadian Coast Guard cannot be responsible for any inaccuracies’.

St. Lawrence Seaway
DGPS Beacon Information - Québec/St. Lawrence Seaway
Site ID of Ref Stations DGPS Station ID Position Frequency [KHz] BPS
St.-Jean-sur-Richelieu 312, 313 929 45 19 N
73 19 W
296 200
Lauzon 316, 317 927 46 49 N
71 10 W
309 200
Riviere du Loup 318, 319 926 47 46 N
69 36 W
300 200
Moisie 320, 321 925 50 12 N
66 07 W
313 200
DGPS Coverage - St. Lawrence Seaway

Figure 8 - DGPS Coverage St. Lawrence Seaway

This map displays the DGPS coverage in the St. Lawrence Seaway on a satellite map. DGPS stations are indicated by small black dots with the site name, province and transmission frequency. Around each station, a solid black line illustrates the scope and extent of coverage. Each station has its own scope and coverage, which lends each diagram a different shape. Some zones are covered by more than one station. The map illustrates the extent of coverage from the following DGPS stations: Cape Ray, NL, 288 KHZ; Point Escuminac, NB, 319 KHZ; Moisie, QC, 313 KHZ; Rivière-du-Loup, QC, 300 KHZ; Lauzon, QC, 309 KHZ; Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, 296 KHZ; and Cardinal, QC, 306 KHZ. The title "DGPS coverage - St. Lawrence Seaway" is indicated in a box at the top of the chart. A legend in the lower left indicates that the black dots represent existing DGPS stations. The date the chart was created "November 25, 2005" is indicated in the lower right. A warning appears in the upper left that states: "All possible efforts have been made to verify the data using actual measurements. However, coverage may be affected by time of day, season or land layout. Therefore the coverage shown is approximate and the Canadian Coast Guard cannot be held responsible for any inaccuracies.

Atlantic Coast
DGPS Beacon Information - Maritimes
Site ID of Ref Stations DGPS Station ID Position Frequency [KHz] BPS
Partridge Island 326, 327 939 45 14 N
66 03 W
295 200
Pt. Escuminac 332, 333 936 47 04 N
64 48 W
319 200
Fox Island 336, 337 934 45 20 N
61 05 W
307 200
Western Head 334, 335 935 43 59 N
64 40 W
312 200
Hartlen Point 330, 331 937 44 36N
63 27 W
298 200
DGPS Beacon Information - Newfoundland
Site ID of Ref Stations DGPS Station ID Position Frequency [KHz] BPS
Cape Race 338, 339 940 46 46 N
53 11 W
315 200
Cape Ray 340, 341 942 47 38 N
59 14 W
288 200
Cape Norman 342, 343 944 51 30 N
55 49 W
310 200
Rigolet 344, 345 946 54 11 N
58 27 W
299 200
DGPS Coverage - East Coast

Figure 9 - DGPS Coverage East Coast

This map displays eastern Canada showing the locations of the differential global positioning system (DGPS) sites on the east coast which are fully operational. Areas of water are shown in varying shades of blue and land masses are green. In Newfoundland and Labrador there are DGPS sites located at Rigolet in Labrador (299kHz), Cape Norman (310kHz) on the western tip of the northern peninsula, Cape Race (315kHz) on the southeastern tip of the Avalon peninsula and at Cape Ray (288kHz) on the southwest coast. In Nova Scotia, DGPS sites are located at Fox Island (307kHz) on the northeast coast, Hartlen Point (298kHz) on the east coast and at Western Head (312kHz) on the south shore. In New Brunswick there are DGPS sites located at Partridge Island (295kHz) on the Bay of Fundy and at Point Escuminac (319kHz) in Miramichi Bay. There is also a site in eastern Quebec at Moisie (313kHz). There is DGPS coverage on the entire coast with overlap in most areas from adjacent sites. Coverage is depicted on this map by varying shapes drawn around the actual DGPS sites. The coverage area is indicated by different colour (either black, white, or alternating black and white) lines.Coverage may be affected by various factors such as time of the day, season or land layout. Coverage shown is approximate due to the varying conditions and the Coast Guard can not be responsible for any inaccuracies.

Date modified:

Système mondial de localisation différentiel (DGPS)

Table des matières


Information des stations DGPS

Ces figures montrent le rayonnement nominal des diffusions du DGPS. Les utilisateurs doivent être avertis que le rayonnement est sujet à des variations à court et à long terme dûes aux conditions environnementales et saisonnières. Veuillez prendre note que les cartes suivantes ne sont pas à l'échelle et que la représentation du rayonnement est approximatif.

Côte du Pacifique
Information des radiophares du DGPS - Pacifique
Site Nos d’ident. des stations de référence DGPS Ident. station Position Fréquence [kHz] bit/s
Alert Bay 300, 301 909 50 35 N
126 55 O
309 200
Amphitrite Pt. 302, 303 908 48 55 N
125 33 O
315 200
Richmond 304, 305 907 49 06 N
123 11O
320 200
Sandspit 306, 307 906 53 14 N
131 49 O
300 200
Couverture DGPS - Région du Pacifique

Figure 6 - Couverture DGPS dans la région du Pacifique

Cette carte en couleurs illustre la couverture minimale des stations de diffusion comme il est décrit dans le Tableau 4-16 intitulé Émission DGPS par la Garde côtière canadienne - Côte du Pacifique.

Grands lacs
Information des radiophares du DGPS - Centrale
Site Nos d’ident. des stations de référence DGPS Ident. station Position Fréquence [kHz] bit/s
Wiarton 310, 311 918 44 45 N
81 07 O
286 200
Cardinal 308, 309 919 44 47 N
75 25 O
306 200
DGPS de la Région du Centre

Figure 7 - Couverture DGPS dans la région du centre

Cette carte illustre la couverture du Système de positionnement mondial différentiel (DGPS) dont disposent les navigateurs dans certains secteurs des Grands Lacs. La Garde côtière canadienne fournit un système d'émetteurs de radiophare MF qui diffusent les corrections concernant l'information GPS de manière à permettre un positionnement plus précis dans les secteurs couverts par les sites DGPS, lesquels sont représentés par de gros points. La carte indique un site situé à Wiarton, dans la baie Georgienne, qui assure la couverture pour la baie Georgienne, la majorité des eaux du lac Huron et presque la totalité du lac Simcoe dans la voie navigable Trent-Severn. Les sites DGPS de Cardinal, en Ontario, et de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, au Québec, figurent également sur la carte, et ces sites, réunis, assurent la couverture pour l'extrémité est du lac Ontario et pour le fleuve Saint-Laurent. La zone de couverture de chaque site est représentée par une forme fermée dont le centre approximatif est le site proprement dit. La carte comporte une remarque importante : [traduction] "Tout a été mis en œuvre pour vérifier les données au moyen de mesures réelles. Certains facteurs peuvent toutefois nuire à la couverture, notamment l'heure, la saison ou la disposition du terrain. Par conséquent, la représentation de la couverture est approximative, et la Garde côtière canadienne ne peut être tenue responsable des inexactitudes".

La voie maritime du Saint-Laurent
Information des radiophares du DGPS - Québec/La voie maritime du Saint-Laurent
Site Nos d’ident. des stations de référence DGPS Ident. station Position Fréquence [kHz] bit/s
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu 312, 313 929 45 19 N
73 19 O
296 200
Lauzon 316, 317 927 46 49 N
71 10 O
309 200
Rivière du Loup 318, 319 926 47 46 N
69 36 O
300 200
Moisie 320, 321 925 50 12 N
66 07 O
313 200
st_lawrence_seaway_fr_small.jpg

Figure 8 - Couverture DGPS dans la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent

Cette carte illustre la couverture DGPS dans la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent sur une carte satellite. Les stations DGPS sont indiquées par des petits cercles noircis avec le nom du site, la province et la fréquence de transmission. Autour de chaque station, une ligne noire fermée illustre la portée et l’étendue de sa couverture. Chaque station a sa propre portée et sa propre couverture ce qui donne une forme différente à chaque diagramme de couverture. Certaines zones sont couvertes par plusieurs stations. La carte illustre l’étendue de la couverture à partir des stations DGPS suivantes : Cape Ray, NL 288 KHZ, Pointe Escuminac, NB 319 KHZ, Moisie, QC 313KHZ, Rivière-du-Loup, QC 300 KHZ, Lauzon QC 309 KHZ, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC 296 KHZ et Cardinal, QC 306 KHZ. En haut de la carte dans un rectangle est inscrit le titre de la carte ‘’Couverture DGPS. Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent’’. Dans le coin inférieur gauche de la carte une légende qui informe que les cercles noircis représentent les stations DGPS existante. Dans le coin inférieur droit de la carte figure la date de production de la date ‘’ 22 novembre 2005’’. Dans le coin supérieur gauche de la carte un avertissement est inscrit ‘’Tous les efforts possibles ont été faits pour vérifier les données en utilisant des mesures réelles. Toutefois, la couverture peut être affectée selon le moment de la journée, la saison ou la configuration du terrain. Par conséquent, la couverture indiquée est approximative et la Garde côtière canadienne ne peut être tenue responsable d’aucune erreur de précision.

Côte de l'Atlantique
Information des radiophares du DGPS - Maritimes
Site Nos d’ident. des stations de référence DGPS Ident. station Position Fréquence [kHz] bit/s
Partridge Island 326, 327 939 45 14 N
66 03 O
295 200
Pt. Escuminac 332, 333 936 47 04 N
64 48 O
319 200
Fox Island 336, 337 934 45 20 N
61 05 O
307 200
Western Head 334, 335 935 43 59 N
64 40 O
312 200
Hartlen Point 330, 331 937 44 36N
63 27 O
298 200
Information des radiophares du DGPS - Terre-Neuve
Site Nos d’ident. des stations de référence DGPS Ident. station Position Fréquence [kHz] bit/s
Cape Race 338, 339 940 46 46 N
53 11 O
315 200
Cape Ray 340, 341 942 47 38 N
59 14 O
288 200
Cape Norman 342, 343 944 51 30 N
55 49 O
310 200
Rigolet 344, 345 946 54 11 N
58 27 O
299 200
eastcoast_fr_small.jpg

Figure 9 - Couverture DGPS dans la côte Est

Cette carte illustre l'Est du Canada laquelle démontre l'emplacement des sites pleinement fonctionnels du Système de positionnement mondial différentiel (DGPS) sur la côte est. Les étendues d'eau sont représentées par diverses teintes de bleu, et le continent est représenté en vert. À Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, des sites DGPS sont situés à Rigolet (Labrador) (299 kHz), à Cape Norman (310 kHz) sur l'extrémité ouest de la péninsule nord, à Cape Race (315 kHz) sur l'extrémité sud-est de la péninsule Avalon et à Cape Ray (288 kHz) sur la côte sud-ouest. En Nouvelle-Écosse, on trouve des sites à Fox Island (307 kHz) sur la côte nord-est, à Hartlen Point (298 kHz) sur la côte est et à Western Head (312 kHz) sur la rive sud. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les sites DGPS sont situés sur l'île Partridge (295 kHz) dans la baie de Fundy et à Point Escuminac (319 kHz) dans la baie Miramichi. On trouve également un site dans l'est du Québec, à Moisie (313 kHz). La couverture DGPS englobe l'ensemble de la côte et chevauche la plupart des zones des sites adjacents. Sur la carte, la couverture est illustrée par diverses formes dessinées autour des sites DGPS. La zone de couverture est représentée par des lignes de différentes couleurs (noir, blanc ou pointillé noir et blanc). Plusieurs facteurs peuvent nuire à la couverture DGPS, notamment l'heure du jour, la saison ou l'aménagement terrestre. La représentation de la couverture est approximative en raison des conditions variées, et la Garde côtière ne peut être tenue responsable des inexactitudes.

Date de modification :