Canadian Marine Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) Broadcast Standard

Table of Content


Signal Format

The broadcast data consists of a selected subset of the message types contained in the RTCM Special Committee No. 104, “Recommended Standards for Differential Navstar GPS Service”, dated January 3, 1994 herein referred to as “RTCM SC104 (Version 2.1.). All selected message types will be broadcast in the format of this document unless otherwise noted or amended by a later version.

Message types

RTCM SC104 (Version 2.1.) Message Types 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, and 16 will be broadcast in the DGPS Navigation service. The currently undefined, Type 15 Message (atmospheric parameters) if developed may also be included at a later time. Stated performance of the system is only applicable for user equipment suites that fully incorporate all of the aforementioned message types. RTCM SC104 (Version 2.1) requires that the service provider further specify the content of several message types. Further description is given for Message Types 3, 5, 7, 9 and 16, along with a complete description of the use of the message header when operating within the DGPS Navigation Service. The Type 6 message is a filler message used only when the reference station has no other message to broadcast. Unless otherwise stated, all message types are applied in the manner recommended in RTCM SC104 (Version 2.1). In attempting to provide the user with a seamless North American DGPS service, arrangements will be negotiated with US authorities to provide reciprocal service with respect to information in certain types of messages (e.g. Message Types 7 & 16), especially where adjacent DGPS stations are under US jurisdiction.

Message header

The “Station Health Field” (bits 22 24) is in the two-word header of all messages, including the Type 9 Message (9 1 and 9 3). Table 1 delineates the pertinent meaning of the bits in this field. The enhancements to the UDRE (user differential range error) resolution will provide a substantial added value to the system. For the Type 9 3 Message, the UDRE scale factor is determined by the satellite with the largest UDRE value. If an unhealthy or unmonitored condition exists, the UDRE Scale Factor registers a value of one.

Table 1 - Message Header Station Health Field

Code and corresponding indication of message header station health field
CODE INDICATION
111 UNHEALTHY BROADCAST
110 UNMONITORED BROADCAST
101 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 0.10
100 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 0.20
011 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 0.30
010 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 0.50
001 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 0.75
000 UDRE SCALE FACTOR = 1.00

Type 3 message

A Type 3 message contains information on the identity and surveyed position of the active reference station in the DGPS station. Two reference stations are provided in a DGPS station (dual redundancy). At any given time one will be on air and the other will serve as a “hot standby”. In the event of a reference station changeover, the position coordinates which are broadcast in the Type 3 Message will change to reflect the other reference station surveyed position and its identity. The Type 3 Message will contain NAD 83 coordinates since this system is the only one in North America that can take advantage of the centimeter resolution provided in this message.

Type 5 message

This message type will notify the user equipment suite that a satellite that is deemed unhealthy by its current navigation message is usable for DGPS navigation. This is accomplished by the setting of the “Health Enable Function” in the Type 5 Message by the reference station in order to indicate this condition. An example of this situation is a slowly drifting satellite clock that may render a satellite unhealthy for GPS use, but would be correctable by the reference station for DGPS use. The user equipment suite should not use an unhealthy satellite unless a Type 5 Message allowing the use of an unhealthy satellite was received within the last thirty minutes. If the most recent Type 5 Message received does not indicate that an unhealthy satellite can be utilized, then the use of that satellite should be discontinued if it were being used earlier (i.e. via a previous Type 5 Message).

Type 7 message

A Type 7 Message provides information of its broadcasting DGPS station and the other two or three adjacent DGPS stations. Where adjacent stations are under US jurisdiction, appropriate arrangements will be made to provide reciprocal information. The user equipment suite should update its internal almanac immediately as new information is received. Nonvolatile memory should be employed to store the internal almanac. When a broadcast becomes unhealthy or unmonitored in a DGPS coverage area, the Type 7 Message will be set to indicate the subject condition. Upon receiving the next Type 7 message, the user's equipment suite should immediately update its internal almanac. Additionally, the user equipment suite is immediately notified by means of the station health status indicator contained in the second word of the universal message header. The user should be able to view the contents of the current Type 7 Message in order to obtain information on coverage areas that may soon be entered.

Type 9 message

Due to the advantages of greater impulse noise immunity, lower latency and a timely alarm capability, the Type 9 Message has been selected for broadcasting pseudo range corrections instead of the Type 1 Message. Two methods of transmitting the Type 9 message are possible.

Type 9-3 message

The first method of broadcasting PRC's (Pseudo range Corrections) is based upon “Three Satellite Type 9 Messages” This is denoted as “Type 9 3” Messages. In this method all satellites for which corrections are broadcast are assigned to either three satellite Type 9 Messages or to a remainder message of either one or two satellites. The transmission rate could be at either 100 or 200 bps. For example, the pseudo range corrections for eight satellites will consist of three Type 9 Messages, two with 3 satellites and one with two satellites. An equal number of corrections are broadcast for each satellite. In order to optimize use of the UDRE Scale Factor in the message header, satellites will be grouped in messages by their UDRE values. At a transmission rate of 200 bps this represents a minimum of a forty percent reduction in message loss as compared to a Type 1 Message under high noise conditions broadcast at the same bit rate. The relative latency of the different PRC message types is illustrated in Figure 2 note that since the corrections can be applied as soon as the parity is verified for the words that contain a given correction, the latencies in Figure 3 are the maximum latencies. PRC accuracy is for the most part a function of the latency of the Range Rate Correction (RRC) since it is the only PRC component in which the error is a function of time. The error of the PRC (t0) term is fixed at the time of measurement and any errors that result from its propagation are a function of RRC accuracy. Figure 3 illustrates an additional advantage of the Type 9 Message the phasing of the PRCs. When the latency for certain satellites is nearing its maximum the latency for others is very low. This provides a built in immunity factor to high pseudo range accelerations on one or more satellites. The potential to weight pseudo ranges on the basis of latency is readily apparent and should be beneficial to the user.

This method of transmitting a Type 9 message at 100 bps and 200 bps will be used for the standard and enhanced/multiple coverage areas respectively.

 Figure 2 - PRC Latency for Type 1 and Type 9-3 Corrections

Figure 2 - PRC Latency foro Type 1 and Type 9-3 Corrections

Figure 3 - PRC Latency for three 9-3 Messages

Figure 3 - PRC Latency for three 9-3 Messages

Type 9-1 message

The second method of broadcasting pseudo range corrections is to broadcast individual Type 9 Messages for each satellite at a transmission rate of 50bps. This message is referred to as the “Single Satellite Type 9 Message” and is denoted in this document as the “Type 9 1 Message”. A high level of impulse noise immunity is achieved by this technique that will extend the effective range of the broadcast. Lower transmission rates such as 50 bps could not be used at this time because of the need to meet the time to alarm requirement due to the length of the PRC Messages. An equal number of corrections are broadcast for all satellites regardless of their pseudo range rates or accelerations

Table 2 - PRC Message Broadcast Paramenters

PRC Message Broadcast data rate and transmission rate for message types
Method Message Type Data Rate Transmission Rate
1a TYPE 9-3 200 bps 200 bps
1b TYPE 9-3 100 bps 100 bps
2* TYPE 9-1 50 bps 50 bps

Note:

* May be used if SA is permanently discontinued by US authorities

Table 2 summarizes the above mentioned methods of Type 9 message transmission.

Since each Type 9 Message contains the freshest possible corrections, the corrections contained in each and every Type 9 Message are computed at different times (i.e. computed at the latest possible time before broadcast). The user equipment suite can mix corrections that may have been computed up to 30 seconds apart, thus the reference station should utilize a highly stable frequency source, within one part in 10-11 (30 second Allan Variance). The use of a highly stable frequency reference and a tightly controlled clock provides the additional benefit of allowing corrections for each satellite to be applied as they are received, as long as the parity for both of the words which contain a given correction is verified. This capability should be implemented for the Type 9 Message in all user equipment suites. Generally, the Reference Station clock will be within 100 ns of GPS time. Clock stability is of far greater priority then absolute time accuracy since PRC's are generated relative to each other for a given Reference Station.

The shorter message length and greater frequency of preambles provided by the Type 9 Message result in a substantially improved impulse noise performance as compared with the Type 1 Message. The higher rate of preambles allows a much faster re synchronization, especially during high noise periods. As previously discussed, even in low noise conditions the Type 9 3 Message provides a lower latency than the Type 1 Message, making it advantageous when operating with a low data rate as well as in high noise environments. This is especially useful since the position error growth due to latency is non linear.

If a satellite suddenly becomes unhealthy when in use by a given reference station the PRC (to) and the RRC are set to predefined values as delineated in RTCM SC104 (Version 2.1) that designate this condition.

Type 16 message

The Type 16 message will be utilized as a timely supplement to the notice to mariners or shipping, regarding information on the status of the local DGPS service that is not provided in other message types. Additionally, the Type 16 Message may provide limited information on service outages in adjacent coverage areas or planned outages for scheduled maintenance at any broadcast site. In order to keep data link loading to a minimum, Type 16 Messages will contain only system information that is crucial to the safety of navigation. Any broadcast of the Type 16 Message will not exceed 4.8 seconds. At 200 bps this translates into 32 words that allow a maximum 90 characters after accounting for the message header. The Type 16 Message is not intended to act as a substitute for the notice to mariners, even though it pertains to DGPS information. Type 16 Messages will be utilized to alert the user of an outage condition for which a broadcast in an adjacent coverage area may be unhealthy, unmonitored, or unavailable. This information would be useful to the mariner who is planning a transit through an affected area or whose equipment suite is presently incapable of automatic selection from the beacon almanac. Further details of an outage condition can be derived from the Type 7 Message for route planning purposes.

Heads up!

The capability of the TYPE 16 message to inform the mariner of the adjacent coverage areas is not currently implemented. Full capability will be available when the full networking capability is implemented (see also DGPS System Failure / Default Mode).

Message scheduling

The routine data stream will consist mainly of message types 3, 7, & 9 and broadcast of message types 5, 6 and 16 will be on an exceptional basis. Due to the advent of continuous tracking receivers the Type 2 Message is no longer required and its use would only serve to increase the latency of the broadcast. For each new Issue of Data (IOD) there will be a 90 second delay before the broadcast pseudo range corrections are computed with the new IOD. Ninety seconds should be more than adequate for a continuously tracking DGPS receiver, as it will be able to instantaneously read the navigation messages as they are broadcast from each satellite. Any short term blockage of a satellite at IOD, such as passing under a bridge, is compensated for by the ninety second delay. This method of handling a new IOD requires the user equipment suite to store both the new and the old IOD for the subject period. Message Types 3, 5, 7, 15 and 16 will not be broadcast within 90 seconds of each other under any circumstances.

  1. Type 3 Message Type 3 Messages will be broadcast at fifteen and forty five minutes past the hour. 
  2. Type 5 Message If an unhealthy satellite is deemed usable for DGPS, a Type 5 Message will be broadcast at fifteen minute intervals beginning at five minutes past the hour. If an unhealthy satellite that was deemed usable is later deemed unusable the reference station will no longer broadcast corrections for the subject satellite.
  3. Type 7 Message A routine Type 7 Message will be broadcast at ten minute intervals beginning at seven minutes past the hour. Special Type 7 Messages will be broadcast as soon as possible, subject to the other scheduling constraints, when the status of a beacon in the almanac changes. This will aid the user equipment suite in its choice of the proper beacon. 
  4. Type 9 Message Pseudorange corrections will be broadcast only for satellites at an elevation angle of 7.5 degrees or higher through use of the Type 9 Message. The official GPS coverage is based on elevation angles of ten degrees or higher. Satellites at elevation angles lower than 7.5 degrees are adversely affected by spatial decorrelation, multipath, and minimal processing time between acquisition and actual use. The level of 7.5 degrees is identical to that recommended by RTCA Special Committee 159. Corrections for all satellites in view above the mask angle will be broadcast. Positioning users of the system who are interested in achieving the highest accuracy level possible should use a higher mask angle in order to avoid the more pronounced atmospheric effects associated with satellites at low elevation angles. When a reference station drops a satellite it will broadcast an indication to the user equipment suite to stop applying corrections for that satellite to its navigation solution (see System Integrity for details).
  5. Type 16 Message This message type will be broadcast as deemed necessary but within strict limits. The interval between successive Type 16 Messages will be no less than three minutes.
Date modified:

Système mondial de localisation différentiel (DGPS)

Table des matières


Format du signal

Généralités

Les données de diffusion sont constituées d'un sous-ensemble sélectionné des types de message contenus dans la publication « Recommended Standards for Differential Navstar GPS Service » du Comité spécial no 104 de la RTCM, datée du 3 janvier 1994 et désignée dans la présente norme par « RTCM SC104 (version 2.1.) ». Tous les types de message sélectionnés seront diffusés dans le format de ce document, sauf indication contraire ou modification par une version ultérieure.

Types de message

Les messages des types 3, 5, 6, 7, 9 et 16 de la RTCM SC104 (version 2.1.) seront diffusés dans le service de navigation DGPS. S'il y a lieu, les messages du type 15 (paramètres atmosphériques), actuellement indéfinis, pourront aussi être inclus à une date ultérieure. La performance énoncée du système ne s'applique qu'au matériel utilisateur intégrant tous les types de message susmentionnés. La RTCM SC104 (version 2.1.) exige que le fournisseur de services spécifie plus précisément le contenu de plusieurs types de messages. Une description plus précise est fournie pour les messages des types 3, 5, 7, 9 et 16, avec une description complète de l'utilisation de l'en-tête des messages lorsque l'exploitation s'effectue dans le service de navigation DGPS. Les messages du type 6 sont des messages de remplissage employés seulement lorsque la station de référence n'a aucun autre message à diffuser. Sauf indication contraire, tous les types de message s'appliquent de la façon recommandée dans la RTCM SC104 (version 2.1.). Dans le but de fournir à l'utilisateur un service DGPS nord-américain ininterrompu, des arrangements seront négociés avec les autorités des États-Unis relativement à un service réciproque visant l'information de certains types de messages (p. ex. les messages des types 7 et 16), particulièrement lorsque les stations de référence DGPS adjacentes relèvent de la compétence des États-Unis.

En-tête de message

Le champ de conformité de station (« Station Health Field ») (bits 22-24) apparaît dans l'en-tête de deux mots de tous les messages, y compris les messages de type 9 (9-1 et 9-3). Le tableau 1 donne la signification pertinente des bits de ce champ. Les améliorations de précision de l'UDRE (erreur de distance différentielle de l'utilisateur) ajoutent une valeur substantielle au système. Pour les messages de type 9-3, le facteur d'échelle de l'UDRE est déterminé par le satellite pour lequel la valeur UDRE est la plus élevée. Dans les cas d'état non conforme ou non surveillé, le facteur d'échelle de l'UDRE est égal à l'unité (1).

Tableau 1 - Champ de conformité de station de l'en-tête des messages

Signification pertinente des bits de ce champ incluant les codes et leur indication
CODE INDICATION
111 DIFFUSION NON CONFORME
110 DIFFUSION NON SURVEILLÉE
101 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 0,10
100 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 0,20
011 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 0,30
010 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 0,50
001 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 0,75
000 FACTEUR D'ÉCHELLE DE L'UDRE = 1,00

Messages de type 3

Un message de type 3 contient des renseignements sur l'identité et la position relevée de la station de référence active dans la station DGPS. Deux stations de référence se trouveront à chaque station DGPS (double redondance). à tout moment, l'une sera en ondes et l'autre servira de « relève instantanée ». Lors du changement de la station de référence, les coordonnées de position diffusées dans les messages de type 3 changeront pour refléter la position relevée et l'identité de l'autre station de référence. Les messages de type 3 comprennent les coordonnées du NAD83, car ce système est le seul en Amérique du Nord qui puisse tirer profit de la résolution en centimètres indiquée dans les messages.

Messages de type 5

Les messages de ce type informent le matériel utilisateur qu'un satellite jugé non conforme d'après le message de navigation en vigueur est cependant utilisable pour la navigation DGPS. Pour indiquer cette condition, la station de référence sélectionne la fonction de validation de conformité (« Health Enable Function ») dans les messages de type 5. Par exemple, un satellite dont l'horloge dérive lentement peut ne pas convenir au GPS, mais être à même de s'utiliser pour le DGPS une fois les corrections apportées par la station de référence. Le matériel utilisateur ne doit pas avoir recours à un satellite non conforme, à moins qu'un message du type 5 permettant le recours à un tel satellite n'ait été reçu au cours des 30 minutes précédentes. Si le dernier message de type 5 reçu n'indique pas qu'un satellite non conforme peut être utilisé, on cessera de le faire si tel était le cas auparavant (p. ex. en raison d'un message antérieur de type 5).

Messages de type 7

Un message de type 7 contient de l'information sur la station de diffusion DGPS et sur les deux ou trois stations DGPS adjacentes. Lorsque les stations adjacentes relèvent de la juridiction des états-Unis, des arrangements appropriés seront conclus dans le but de fournir l'information réciproque. Le matériel utilisateur doit mettre à jour ses almanachs internes dès la réception d'information nouvelle. Le contenu des almanachs internes doit être stocké dans une mémoire non volatile. Lorsqu'une diffusion devient non conforme ou non surveillée dans une zone de couverture DGPS, le message de type 7 indique la condition existante. à la réception du message de type 7 suivant, le matériel utilisateur doit immédiatement mettre à jour ses almanachs internes. En outre, lorsqu'une station devient non conforme ou non surveillée, le matériel utilisateur est immédiatement avisé au moyen de l'indicateur de conformité de la station, contenu dans le deuxième mot de l'en-tête de message universel. L'utilisateur doit pouvoir examiner le contenu du message de type 7 en vigueur afin d'obtenir de l'information sur les zones de couverture dans lesquelles il pourrait bientôt pénétrer.

Messages de type 9

En raison des avantages que constituent une plus grande immunité au bruit impulsif, un retard inférieur et le déclenchement opportun des alarmes, les messages de type 9 ont été sélectionnés pour les corrections de pseudo-distance de diffusion, au lieu des messages de type 1. Il existe deux méthodes de transmission des messages de type 9.

Messages de type 9-3

La première méthode de diffusion des corrections de pseudo-distance (PRC) se fonde sur les « messages de type 9 de trois satellites », appelés messages de « type 9-3 ». Selon cette méthode, tous les satellites pour lesquels des corrections sont diffusées sont assignés soit à des messages de type 9 de trois satellites, soit à un message restant d'un ou de deux satellites. Le débit peut être de 100 ou de 200 bit/s. Par exemple, les corrections de pseudo-distance de huit satellites sont fournies par trois messages de type 9, deux avec trois satellites et un avec deux satellites. Les corrections sont diffusées en nombre égal pour chacun des satellites. Afin d'optimiser l'utilisation du facteur d'échelle de l'UDRE dans l'en-tête de message, les satellites sont regroupés en messages d'après leurs valeurs UDRE. Au débit de 200 bit/s, cela correspond à une réduction minimale de 40 % des pertes de messages, par comparaison avec les messages de type 1 diffusés dans des conditions de bruit élevé au même débit binaire. La figure 2 illustre le retard relatif des différents types de messages de PRC. à noter que, les corrections pouvant s'appliquer dès que la parité a été confirmée pour les mots contenant une correction donnée, les retards indiqués à la figure 3 représentent des valeurs maximales. La précision de la PRC est essentiellement fonction du retard correspondant à la correction de vitesse en distance (RRC), étant donné qu'il s'agit de la seule composante PRC pour laquelle l'erreur est fonction du temps. L'erreur de l'expression PRC(to) est fixe au moment de la mesure, et toute erreur résultant de sa propagation est fonction de la précision de RRC. La figure 3 illustre un avantage supplémentaire du message de type 9 : la correspondance des PRC. Lorsque le retard obtenu pour certains satellites s'approche du maximum, celui des autres est très faible, de telle sorte qu'un facteur d'immunité est intégré aux fortes accélérations de pseudo-distance pour un ou plusieurs satellites. Le potentiel de pondération des pseudo-distances en fonction du retard est évident et devrait être avantageux pour l'utilisateur.

Cette méthode de transmission d'un message de type 9 à 100 bit/s et à 200 bit/s servira respectivement pour les zones de couverture standard et améliorée/multiple.

Figure 2 Retards PRC pour les corrections de types 1 et 9-3

Figure 2 - Retards PRC pour les corrections des messages types 1 et 9-3

Figure 3. Retards PRC pour trois messages 9-3

Figure 3 - Retards PRC pour trois messages 9-3

Messages de type 9-1

La deuxième méthode de diffusion des corrections de pseudo-distance consiste à diffuser un message particulier de type 9 pour chaque satellite au débit de 50 bit/s. Un tel message est appelé « message de type 9 de satellite unique » et est désigné dans le présent document par « message de type 9-1 ». Cette technique procure un niveau élevé d'immunité au bruit impulsif, ce qui étend la portée efficace de diffusion. En raison de la longueur des messages de PRC, il serait impossible d'utiliser pour le moment les bas débits, p. ex. 50 bit/s, ce qui pourrait empêcher de satisfaire à l'exigence de temps d'alarme. Les corrections sont diffusées en nombre égal pour tous les satellites, quelles que soient leurs vitesses ou leurs accélérations en pseudo-distance.

Tableau 2 - Paramètres de diffusion de messages PRC

Paramètres de diffusion de messages PRC
Méthode Type de message   Débits binaire Débit
1a TYPE 9-3 200 bps 200 bps
1b TYPE 9-3 100 bps 100 bps
2* TYPE 9-1 50 bps 50 bps

Note

* Pourrait être utilisée si les États-Unis abandonnaient la SA en permanence.

Le tableau 2 présente un résumé des méthodes susmentionnées de transmission de messages de type 9.

Comme chaque message de type 9 renferme les corrections les plus récentes possible, les corrections contenues dans chacun des messages de type 9 sont calculées à des moments différents (c. à d. aussi près que possible du moment de diffusion). Le matériel utilisateur peut mélanger des corrections dont le calcul diffère d'un maximum de 30 secondes, de sorte que la station de référence doit utiliser une source de fréquence extrêmement stable, d'une précision de 1 x 10-11 (variance Allan de 30 secondes). L'utilisation d'une fréquence de référence extrêmement stable et d'une horloge à commande précise offre l'avantage supplémentaire de permettre les corrections pour chaque satellite, dès leur réception et tant qu'est confirmée la parité des deux mots pouvant contenir une correction donnée. Cette fonction doit être intégrée aux messages de type 9 de tout le matériel utilisateur. Règle générale, l'horloge de la station de référence se situe en deçà de 100 ns par rapport au temps GPS. La stabilité de l'horloge est beaucoup plus importante que la précision absolue du temps, car les PRC sont produites relativement les unes aux autres pour une station de référence donnée.

Plus courts et caractérisés par une plus grande fréquence des préambules, les messages de type 9 procurent une performance considérablement améliorée d'immunité au bruit impulsif, par comparaison aux messages de type 1. La fréquence supérieure des préambules permet une resynchronisation beaucoup plus rapide, surtout durant les périodes de bruit élevé. Comme il a été indiqué précédemment, même dans les conditions de faible bruit, les messages de type 9-3 donnent des retards inférieurs aux messages de type 1, ce qui les rend avantageux aux bas débits binaires, ainsi que dans les environnements à bruit élevé. Cette caractéristique est particulièrement utile du fait que l'augmentation de l'erreur de position résultant d'un retard est non linéaire.

Si un satellite devient soudainement non conforme alors qu'il est utilisé par une station de référence donnée, PRC(to) et RRC prennent les valeurs prédéterminées spécifiées dans la RTCM SC104 (version 2.1) pour désigner cette condition.

Messages de type 16

Les messages de type 16 seront utilisés pour compléter au moment nécessaire les avis aux navigateurs afin de fournir de l'information sur l'état du service DGPS local non fournie dans les autres types de messages. De plus, ils peuvent procurer de l'information limitée sur les pannes de service dans les zones de couverture adjacentes ou sur les interruptions planifiées pour des travaux de maintenance à n'importe quel emplacement de diffusion. Afin de maintenir la charge de la liaison de données à son minimum, les messages de type 16 contiendront seulement l'information du système qui est cruciale pour la sécurité de la navigation. Aucune diffusion d'un message de type 16 ne dépassera 4,8 secondes. À 200 bit/s, cette durée correspond à 32 mots, soit un maximum de 90 caractères une fois qu'il a été tenu compte de l'en-tête du message. Les messages de type 16 ne sont pas destinés à remplacer les avis aux navigateurs, même s'ils ont trait à l'information DGPS. Ils serviront à avertir l'utilisateur d'une interruption de service pour laquelle une diffusion dans une zone de couverture adjacente peut indiquer l'état non conforme, non surveillé ou non disponible. Cette information serait utile au navigateur qui projette de traverser une zone touchée ou dont le matériel, dans les conditions existantes, est incapable d'effectuer une sélection automatique à partir des almanachs des radiophares. Le message de type 7 peut, à des fins de planification, donner des détails supplémentaires sur une interruption de service.

La capacité d'information des navigateurs quant aux zones de couverture adjacentes dans le message de type 16 n'est pas encore mise en œuvre. Elle sera parfaitement opérationnelle lorsque la capacité intégrale du réseau sera mise en œuvre (voir également la section « Mode de défaillance par défaut du système DGPS »).

Horaire de diffusion des messages

Le flot des données courantes comprend principalement des messages de type 3, 7 et 9, et la diffusion des messages de type 5, 6 et 16 ne s'effectue qu'à titre exceptionnel. Avec la venue des récepteurs de poursuite continue, les messages de type 2 ne sont plus nécessaires, et leur utilisation ne ferait qu'augmenter le retard des diffusions. Pour chaque nouvelle transmission de données (IOD), il y aura un retard de 90 secondes avant que les corrections de pseudo-distance de diffusion soient calculées pour la nouvelle IOD. Ce retard devrait s'avérer plus qu'adéquat pour un récepteur DGPS à poursuite continue, étant donné qu'il permettra de lire instantanément les messages de navigation à mesure qu'ils seront diffusés par chaque satellite. Tout blocage à court terme d'un satellite à l'IOD, par exemple au moment du passage sous un pont, sera compensé par le retard de 90 secondes. Cette méthode de traitement des nouvelles IOD exige que le matériel utilisateur stocke à la fois la nouvelle et l'ancienne IOD pour la période visée. Les messages de types 3, 5, 7, 15 et 16 ne seront pas diffusés à moins de 90 secondes l'un de l'autre, quelles que soient les circonstances.

  1. Message de type 3 - Un message de type 3 sera diffusé à la 15e et à la 45e minutes de chaque heure.
  2. Message de type 5 - Si un satellite non conforme est jugé utilisable pour le DGPS, un message de type 5 sera diffusé 5 minutes après l'heure et toutes les 15 minutes par la suite. Si un satellite non conforme jugé utilisable est par la suite considéré inutilisable, la station de référence arrêtera de diffuser des corrections pour le satellite en question.
  3. Message de type 7 - Un message de type 7 ordinaire sera diffusé à des intervalles de 10 minutes débutant 7 minutes après l'heure. Des messages de type 7 spéciaux seront diffusés dès que possible, sous réserve des autres contraintes liées à l'horaire de diffusion, dans le cas de changements d'état d'un radiophare dans les almanachs. Cela aidera le matériel utilisateur à choisir le radiophare approprié.
  4. Message de type 9 - Un message de type 9 sera utilisé pour diffuser les corrections visant seulement les satellites situés à un angle de site de 7,5 degrés ou plus. La couverture GPS officielle repose sur des angles de site de 10 degrés ou plus. Les satellites situés à des angles de site inférieurs à 7,5 degrés sont touchés négativement par la décorrélation spatiale, par les trajets multiples et par le temps de traitement minimal entre l'acquisition et l'utilisation effective. Le niveau de 7,5 degrés est identique à celui recommandé par le Comité spécial 159 de la RTCA. Des corrections seront diffusées pour tous les satellites visibles au-dessus de l'angle de masquage. Les utilisateurs du système de localisation qui sont intéressés à obtenir le plus haut degré de précision possible doivent avoir recours à un angle de masquage supérieur de manière à éviter les effets atmosphériques plus grands associés aux satellites à faible angle de site. Lorsqu'une station de référence perd un satellite, elle diffuse une indication vers le matériel utilisateur afin que les corrections relatives à ce satellite ne soient plus appliquées au système de navigation (voir détails dans la section « Intégrité du système »).
  5. Message de type 16 - Les messages de ce type seront diffusés selon les besoins, mais dans des limites très strictes. L'intervalle entre les messages successifs de type 16 sera d'au moins 3 minutes.
Date de modification :