Canadian Marine Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) Broadcast Standard

Table of Content


Scope

Figure 1: Image of how the DGPS Navigation Service works

Figure 1 - System Concept of the DGPS Navigation Service

The Canadian DGPS Navigation Service augments the Navstar Global Positioning System (GPS) by providing localized pseudo range correction factors and ancillary information that are broadcast over a network of strategically located MF marine radio beacons. This service will provide the mariner with a horizontal accuracy of 10 meters or better, 95 % of the time in all coverage areas.

The user equipment receives system status and data updates on a continuous basis. The DGPS Reference Station utilizes a NAD 83 datum for its antenna surveyed position. Therefore, the user equipment suite will compute the NAD 83 Datum when operating in the differential mode. The DGPS Navigation Service not only enhances the accuracy of the Standard Positioning Service (SPS), but also provides real time integrity, monitoring and reporting (for further information on the SPS, see the Global Positioning System Standard Positioning Service Signal Specification dated November 5, 1993, published by the US Department of Defense).

DGPS transmissions will be broadcast in the 285 KHz to 325 KHz band that is allocated for maritime radio navigation (radio beacons). Marine radio beacons will be exclusively used to broadcast DGPS signals on the main carrier using Minimum Shift Keying (MSK) Modulation. There will be no radiobeacon identity tone. The modulated signal will contain DGPS information and the identification of the transmitting DGPS station.

Figure 1 contains a system concept of the DGPS Navigation Service. A typical DGPS station comprises control stations (CSs), reference stations (RSs), their associated integrity monitors (IMs) to ascertain the status and the integrity of the broadcast, and the MF radio beacon transmitter to broadcast DGPS information to users. A control monitor (CM) located at a 24 hour staffed Coast Guard operational site maintains two-way communications via dial up lines with the DGPS stations. The CM monitors the status of the system.

Date modified:

Système mondial de localisation différentiel (DGPS)

Table des matières


Portée

Figure 1 Système DGPS

Figure 1 - Système DGPS

Le service de navigation DGPS du Canada complète le système mondial de localisation (GPS) Navstar en fournissant des facteurs de correction de pseudo-distance localisée et de l'information auxiliaire, diffusés à l'aide d'un réseau de radiophares maritimes MF implantés à des emplacements stratégiques. Ce service offrira au navigateur une précision horizontale de 10 m ou mieux 95 % du temps dans toutes les zones de couverture.

Le matériel utilisateur reçoit l'état du système et les mises à jour des données de façon continue. La station de référence DGPS utilise un niveau de référence du NAD83 pour la position relevée de son antenne. Par conséquent, le matériel utilisateur doit afficher le repère sur le niveau de référence du NAD83 lorsqu'il fonctionne dans le mode différentiel. Non seulement le service de navigation du DGPS améliore-t-il la précision du service de positionnement standard (SPS), mais il offre aussi les fonctions d'intégrité, de surveillance et de rapport en temps réel (pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le SPS, voir le document de référence, « Global Positioning System Standard Positioning Service Signal Specification », du 5 novembre 1993, publié par le département de la Défense des États-Unis).

Les émissions DGPS seront diffusées dans la bande 285 325 kHz, attribuée à la radionavigation maritime (radiophares). Les radiophares maritimes seront exclusivement utilisés pour diffuser des signaux DGPS à la porteuse principale au moyen de la modulation à déphasage minimal (MDM). Il n'y aura pas de tonalité d'identification de radiophare. Le signal modulé contiendra l'information DGPS et l'identité de la station DGPS émettrice.

La figure 1 illustre le principe du service de navigation DGPS. Une station DGPS type comprend des stations de contrôle (CS), des stations de référence (RS), les moniteurs d'intégrité (IM) qui leur sont associés pour vérifier l'état et l'intégrité de la diffusion et l'émetteur de radiophare MF servant à diffuser l'information DGPS aux utilisateurs. Une station de contrôle et de surveillance (CM), située à un site d'exploitation de la Garde côtière où du personnel est présent 24 heures par jour, maintient continuellement des communications bidirectionnelles par lignes téléphoniques vers les stations DGPS. La station CM surveille l'état du système.

Date de modification :