Operations Order 103.00 - Ship Naming Policy


4. Procedures

4.1 Development of a pool of names

The Director General, Operations will develop and maintain a pool of potential names for each class of vessel as described in Annex A.

Verification of suitability, brevity, clarity and commemoration standards will be done prior to consultation and before names are entered in the pool for each class of vessel.

In developing the pool, the Director General, Operations will use a consultative process as outlined in sections 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 below.

4.1.1 For vessels of 125 GRT or greater

The pool of names must be developed and maintained at headquarters (HQ).

In developing the pool, the Director General, Operations will consult with appropriate regional, industry, community, indigenous, law enforcement, and other government department/agency representatives to refine the pool of proposed names.

The Director General, Operations must forward a request to all assistant commissioners to review the pool of potential vessel names conforming to that class of vessel.

4.1.2 For vessels of less than 125 GRT

A request will be sent to the relevant senior director(s), Fleet seeking a pool of proposed names to be provided. At least 3 names for each vessel to be named are to be provided in order of preference, along with a short biography and rationale for each.

4.2 Selection of names

The procedure to be followed for the selection of names for Coast Guard vessels must be as per the following sections.

4.2.1 For vessels of 125 GRT or greater

The Director General, Operations must forward a request to the assistant commissioner(s) and other relevant partners to review the pool of potential vessel names conforming to that class of vessel. If there are no suitable names in the pool, alternates will be provided as necessary, with a short biography and rationale for each.

The Director General, Operations, in consultation with the assistant commissioner(s) and other relevant partners, must select names to recommend to the Deputy Minister for approval by the Minister.

4.2.2 For vessels of less than 125 GRT

The pool of proposed names from the region(s) is reviewed and vetted by HQ to verify that they conform to the naming criteria outlined in annex A.

4.3 Approval

The Senior Director, Operational Support, must obtain confirmation from Transport Canada’s Vessel Registration Office that the proposed name(s) and alternates are available and meet the criteria listed in section 4.2 above. If not available, other names are to be chosen and verified with the Vessel Registration Office.

The Director General, Operations submits proposed names to the Commissioner, Coast Guard, via the Deputy Commissioner, Operations to recommend to the Deputy Minister for ministerial selection and approval.

4.4 Certification and registration

The Senior Director, Operational Support reserves the name(s) selected by the Minister with Transport Canada.

Depending on the responsibility for project management, either the Director General, Major Projects or the Director General, Integrated Technical Services obtains the necessary surveyor's and builder's certificates and arranges for the placement of names on the vessels.

The Senior Director, Operational Support completes the relevant registration activities, seeks consent from family members in support of proposed names of individuals, and obtains necessary documents (see CGOO [CGFO] 105.00Footnote *).

Date modified:

Ordonnances des Opérations 103.00 - Politique relative aux noms des navires

Table des matières

4. Procédures

4.1 Constitution d'un bassin de noms de navires

Le directeur général des Opérations, créera et tiendra à jour un bassin de noms potentiels pour chaque classe de navires (voir les descriptions à l’annexe A).

La vérification du respect des normes relatives à la pertinence d’un nom, à sa brièveté, à sa clarté et à son caractère commémoratif doit être effectuée avant la consultation et avant qu’un nom ne soit ajouté au bassin pour chaque classe de navires.

Lors de la constitution du bassin, le directeur général des Opérations, utilisera un processus de consultation comme décrit dans les sections 4.1.1 et 4.1.2 ci-dessous.

4.1.1 Pour les navires dont la jauge brute est de 125 tonnes ou plus

Le bassin de noms doit être constitué et maintenu à l’administration centrale (AC).

Lors de la constitution du bassin, le directeur général des Opérations, consultera les représentants appropriés régionaux, de l’industrie, de la communauté, des groupes autochtones, de l’application de la loi et d’autres ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux afin de réviser le bassin des noms proposés.

Le directeur général des Opérations doit transmettre une demande à tous les commissaires adjoints pour qu’ils examinent la liste de noms de navires potentiels qui sont conformes pour la classe de navires visée.

4.1.2 Pour les navires dont la jauge brute est inférieure à 125 tonnes

On invitera les directeurs principaux de la Flotte concernés pour obtenir une liste de noms proposés à fournir. Au moins 3 noms pour chaque navire à nommer doivent être fournis par ordre de préférence, ainsi qu’une courte note biographique et une justification pour chaque proposition.

4.2 Sélection de noms

La procédure à suivre relativement au choix du nom des navires de la Garde côtière doit être conforme aux sections suivantes.

4.2.1 Pour les navires dont la jauge brute est de 125 tonnes ou plus

Le directeur général, Opérations, demandera à tous les commissaires adjoints et les autres partenaires concernés d’examiner le bassin de noms de navires potentiels qui sont conformes pour la catégorie de navires visée. S’il n’y pas de noms qui conviennent dans le bassin, il faudra en proposer d’autres, selon les besoins, avec une brève note biographique et une justification pour chaque proposition.

Le directeur général, Opérations, en consultation avec les commissaires adjoints et les autres partenaires concernés, choisit les noms à recommander pour l’approbation du ministre.

4.2.2 Pour les navires dont la jauge brute est inférieure à 125 tonnes

Le bassin de noms qu’ont proposé les régions est révisé et examiné par l’AC afin de vérifier que les propositions sont conformes au critère d’attribution de noms énoncé à l’Annexe A.

4.3 Approbation

Le directeur principal du Soutien des opérations, doit obtenir une confirmation du Bureau d’immatriculation des bâtiments de Transports Canada, que le ou les noms proposés et les choix de remplacement ne sont pas déjà en usage et qu’ils répondent aux critères établis à la section 4.2. Si les noms proposés ne sont pas disponibles, il faut en choisir d’autres et les vérifier auprès du Bureau d’immatriculation des bâtiments.

Le directeur général des Opérations présente les noms choisis au Commissaire de la Garde côtière, par l’entremise du sous-commissaire des Opérations, en vue de les recommander au sous-ministre aux fins de sélection et d’approbation ministérielle.

4.4 Certification et immatriculation

Le directeur principal de Soutien des opérations réserve le ou les noms retenus par le ministre auprès de Transports Canada.

Selon la nature des responsabilités relatives à la gestion de projet, le directeur général, Grands projets ou le directeur général, Services techniques intégrés, obtient les certificats requis de classification et du constructeur et prend les dispositions pour l’inscription des noms sur les navires.

Le directeur principal de Soutien des opérations s’occupe de l’immatriculation, demande le consentement aux membres de la famille des personnes dont on a proposé le nom et se procure les documents requis (voir OOGC [OFGC] 105.00Note de bas de page *).

Date de modification :