2 Roles and Responsibilities

2.1 Background

This section describes the organization, roles and responsibilities of the Canadian Coast Guard, headquarters, and its relationship with the Environmental Response program. It also makes reference to the primary working relationships between the Environmental Response program and the internal and external support agencies that assist the Canadian Coast Guard in the delivery of its mandate.

2.2 Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters

The National Strategies Directorate is responsible for identifying the overall program requirements and strategic direction for the Environmental Response program.

Incident Management, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters, is responsible for implementing the program requirements identified by National Strategies, as well as guidelines and systems required to support the application of this Plan through the National Environmental Response Program Office.

The Canadian Coast Guard has developed an Environmental Response Concept of Operations, which is a framework for a revised and improved program. These improvements will be implemented by Incident Management, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters with support from the Canadian Coast Guard Regions.

The Manager of Environmental Response will liaise with the Regions on a regular basis to discuss matters relating to the Environmental Response program. Furthermore, Incident Management, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters, coordinates the implementation of the National Environmental Response Team and the provision of assistance to other countries.

The National Command Centre acts as a formal liaison between the Regional Operations Centres and Canadian Coast Guard Senior Management by way of communication and support. During routine business or in the event of an emergency, Regional Superintendents or their teams have the option to call the National Command Centre for support. National Command Centre duties include, but are not limited to, supporting marine emergencies to the designated personnel in the Canadian Coast Guard, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Government Operations Centre, all implicated Federal Operations Centres and providing daily operations briefings to the Commissioner and Senior Management.

The National Command Centre also provides operational support to Canadian Coast Guard Regions in the event of an emergency and is the main contact point for escalating a response to the national level, should the need arise. In these situations, the Regional Operation Centres will provide support to the Regional Incident Management Team. At the time of writing, the Canadian Coast Guard, National Command Centre operates during regular working hours and has a Duty Officer on call 24 hours a day. In the event of an emergency, the National Command Centre can be activated to operate 24 hours a day. In the upcoming months, the National Command Centre will attain 24/7 capability.

2.3 Canadian Coast Guard-Environmental Response Regions

The Environmental Response Regions are responsible for the operational delivery of the program by responding to marine pollution incidents as the Incident Commander for the federal government, with support by other programs identified in the Environmental Response Concept of Operations, within their respective Canadian Coast Guard Region. They are also responsible for ensuring that regional plans, personnel, equipment and procedures are in place and ready for a response.

Regional personnel will liaise with Incident Management, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters, on the development of national policies, directives, guidelines and systems to support the application of this Plan.

2.4 Internal Support Agencies

There are various legislation, agreements and customs that establish operational liaisons between the Environmental Response program and its internal support agencies. For the purposes of this plan, internal support agencies are defined as programs and services within the Government of Canada that actively support Canadian Coast Guard preparedness and response activities. Please refer to Annex B1 Internal Support Agencies for a list of internal support agencies.

2.5 External Support Agencies

There are various legislation, agreements and customs that establish operational liaisons between the Canadian Coast Guard and various external agencies in response to marine pollution incidents. For the purposes of this Plan, external support agencies are defined as those government departments or agencies, excluding the Government of Canada, that actively support preparedness and response activities. Please refer to Annex B2 External Support Agencies for a list of external support agencies.

2.6 External Resources

External resources can be engaged by the Environmental Response program for preparedness activities or for support in conducting marine pollution response operations. Services that could be obtained include:

  • initial response to a marine pollution incident;
  • sustained response to a marine pollution incident;
  • facilities for the handling, transportation, and storage of the pollutant; and
  • providing resources where appropriate (e.g. personnel, equipment, vessels of opportunity).

External resources generally fall under the following two categories:

  1. Contractors: Private companies offering various support services may be contracted by the Canadian Coast Guard to either respond or augment the response to a marine pollution incident. All standard contracting rules shall apply in a non-emergency situation when contracting a private company. In an emergency situation, the Canadian Coast Guard may use its emergency contracting authority to enter into a contract with a private company.
  2. Response Organizations: Response Organizations may be contracted by Canadian Coast Guard personnel to either respond or augment the response to a marine pollution incident in Canadian waters. All standard contracting rules shall apply when contracting a Response Organization. In an emergency situation, the Canadian Coast Guard may use its emergency contracting authority to enter into a contract with a Response Organization.

The following Response Organizations are currently certified by Transport Canada:

Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd.
Point Tupper Terminal
4090 Port Malcolm Rd.
Point Tupper, N.S.  B9A 1Z5

Eastern Canada Response Corporation
1201-275 Slater St.
Ottawa, Ont.  K1P 5H9

Atlantic Emergency Response Team Inc.
250 Bayside Dr.
Saint John, N.B.  E2J 5C1

Western Canada Marine Response Corporation
201 Kensington Ave.
Burnaby, B.C.  V5B 4B2

Date modified:

2 Rôles et responsabilités

2.1 Contexte

Cette section décrit l’organisation, les rôles et les responsabilités de l’Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne et ses relations avec le programme d’intervention environnementale. Elle fait également référence aux principales relations de travail entre le programme d’intervention environnementale et les organismes de soutien internes et externes qui aident la Garde côtière canadienne à exécuter son mandat.

2.2 Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne

La direction générale des Stratégies nationales a la responsabilité de définir les besoins d’ordre général et l’orientation stratégique du programme d’intervention environnementale.

Gestion des incidents, Opérations, Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne a la responsabilité de pourvoir aux besoins définis par Stratégies nationales et d’élaborer les lignes directrices et les systèmes nécessaires à la mise en œuvre de ce plan par le Bureau national du programme d’intervention environnementale.

La Garde côtière canadienne a élaboré un concept des opérations en matière d’intervention environnementale, soit un cadre de révision et d’amélioration du programme. Les améliorations seront apportées par Gestion des incidents, Opérations, Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne, avec le soutien des régions de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Le gestionnaire de l’intervention environnementale assure une liaison régulière avec les régions afin d’aborder les questions liées au programme de l’intervention environnementale. De plus, Gestion des incidents, Opérations, Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne, coordonne la mise en place de l’équipe nationale d’intervention environnementale et la prestation de l’aide aux autres pays.

Le Centre de commandement national assure le lien entre les Centres des opérations régionales et la haute direction de la Garde côtière canadienne grâce à des activités de communications et de soutien. Au cours des activités courantes ou en cas d’urgence, les surintendants régionaux ou leurs équipes ont la possibilité d’appeler le Centre de commandement national afin d’obtenir du soutien. Les tâches du Centre de commandement national comprennent, entre autres, l’affectation du soutien aux urgences maritimes au personnel désigné de la Garde côtière canadienne, de Pêches et Océans Canada, du Centre des opérations du gouvernement et de tous les centres d’opérations fédéraux concernés, et la communication de notes d’information quotidiennes sur les opérations au commissaire et à la haute direction.

Le Centre de commandement national offre également un soutien opérationnel aux Régions de la Garde côtière canadienne en cas d’urgence; il s’agit du principal point de contact pour faire passer l’intervention au niveau national, si les besoins l’exigent. Dans ces situations, c’est le Centre des opérations régionales qui fournit un soutien à l’équipe régionale de la gestion des incidents. Au moment de la rédaction du présent document, le Centre de coordination national de la Garde côtière canadienne fonctionne pendant les heures de travail normales et garantit la présence d’un agent de service 24 heures sur 24. En cas d’urgence, le Centre de coordination national peut être activé pour fonctionner 24 heures sur 24. Au cours des prochains mois, le Centre de coordination national devrait ouvrir 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7.

2.3 Régions d'intervention environnementale de la Garde côtière canadienne

Les régions d’intervention environnementale ont la responsabilité de l’exécution opérationnelle du programme en cas d’incidents de pollution marine à titre de commandant d’intervention au nom du gouvernement fédéral et reçoivent le soutien des programmes désignés par le concept des opérations au sein de la région de la Garde côtière canadienne de chaque programme. Elles sont également chargées de veiller à ce que les plans régionaux, le personnel, l’équipement et les procédures soient en place et prêts pour une intervention.

Les employés régionaux assurent la liaison avec Gestion des incidents, Opérations, Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne pour l’élaboration des politiques, des directives, des lignes directrices et des systèmes nationaux soutenant l’application de ce plan.

2.4 Organismes de soutien internes

Diverses dispositions législatives et divers accords et précédents établissent les liaisons opérationnelles entre le programme d’intervention environnementale et ses organismes de soutien internes. Aux fins de ce plan, les organismes de soutien internes sont définis comme des programmes et des services au sein du gouvernement du Canada qui appuient activement les activités de préparation et d’intervention de la Garde côtière canadienne. Veuillez-vous reporter à l’annexe B.1 Organismes de soutien internes pour avoir une liste des organismes de soutien internes.

2.5 Organismes de soutien externes

Diverses dispositions législatives et divers accords et précédents établissent les liaisons opérationnelles entre la Garde côtière canadienne et ses organismes de soutien externes en cas d’intervention à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin. Aux fins de ce plan, les organismes de soutien externes sont définis comme les ministères ou organismes du gouvernement, à l’exclusion du gouvernement du Canada, qui appuient activement les activités de préparation et d’intervention. Veuillez-vous reporter à l’annexe B.2 Organismes de soutien externes pour avoir une liste des organismes de soutien externes.

2.6 Ressources externes

Le programme d’intervention environnementale peut recourir aux ressources externes aux fins des activités de préparation ou pour qu’elles apportent un appui aux activités d’intervention en cas d’incident de pollution en milieu marin. Voici des services qui pourraient être obtenus :

  • intervention initiale à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin
  • intervention soutenue à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin
  • installations destinées à la manutention, au transport et au stockage de polluants
  • mise à disposition de ressources, au besoin (p. ex. du personnel, de l’équipement, des navires de passage)

Les ressources externes sont généralement réparties dans les deux catégories suivantes :

  1. Entrepreneurs : La Garde côtière canadienne peut conclure un contrat avec des entreprises privées offrant divers services de soutien soit pour réaliser une intervention, soit pour intensifier l’intervention à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin. En cas de situation non urgente, toutes les règles normalisées de passation de marchés doivent s’appliquer au moment de conclure un contrat avec une entreprise privée. En cas d’urgence, la Garde côtière canadienne peut exercer son pouvoir de passation de marchés d’urgence pour conclure un contrat avec une entreprise privée.
  2. Organismes d’intervention : Le personnel de la Garde côtière canadienne peut conclure un contrat avec des organismes d’intervention soit pour réaliser une intervention, soit pour intensifier l’intervention à la suite d’un incident de pollution en milieu marin en eaux canadiennes. Toutes les règles normalisées de passation de marchés doivent s’appliquer au moment de conclure un contrat avec un organisme d’intervention. En cas d’urgence, la Garde côtière canadienne peut exercer son pouvoir de passation de marchés d’urgence pour conclure un contrat avec un organisme d’intervention.

Les organismes d’intervention suivants sont présentement agréés par Transports Canada :

Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd.
Terminal de Point Tupper
4090, ch. Port Malcolm
Point Tupper (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B9A 1Z5

Société d’intervention Maritime, Est du Canada
1201-275, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5H9

Atlantic Emergency Response Team Inc.
250, prom. Bayside
Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E2J 5C1

Western Canada Marine Response Corporation
201, avenue Kensington
Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique)  V5B 4B2

Date de modification :