5 Post-Response Activities

Once response operations have concluded, the Canadian Coast Guard will undertake Cost Recovery and Post-Incident Review and Evaluation activities in accordance with established protocols and procedures.

5.1 Cost Recovery and Claims

Pursuant to the Marine Liability Act, costs incurred by the Minister to monitor or respond to marine pollution incidents are recoverable either from the polluter or from national and international compensation regimes. This ability to recover costs from the polluter forms the basis of the “polluter pay” principle.

In accordance with the Cost Recovery manual, Regions are responsible for ensuring that costs are itemized and recorded using the appropriate Incident Command System forms and that claims are made against the polluter or Ship-Source Oil Pollution Fund.

5.2 Post-Incident Review and Evaluation

The objective of a post-incident review is to evaluate the response to a marine pollution incident with the goal of improving all elements involved in the response. The process for conducting a post-incident review is similar to the principles used in exercise evaluation.

The requirement for the conduct of a post-incident review, or Lessons Learned, shall be determined by the Environmental Response Superintendent, Regional Director or Assistant Commissioner. The Incident Commander for the incident, as the case may be, is responsible for the preparation of the report, which will be submitted to the Manager, National Environmental Response Program Office at Canadian Coast Guard Headquarters and the Regional Director, Canadian Coast Guard Programs.

5.2.1 Conduct of a Post-Incident Review

The Post-Incident Review should be conducted in accordance with the principles contained in the National Exercise Program – Evaluation Guidelines (Chapter 11). These principles include:

  • briefing the response/monitoring team;
  • evaluating the incident;
  • preparing a summary of key observations;
  • conducting an incident debriefing session; and
  • preparing an official Post-Incident evaluation report.

The following elements should be covered when conducting a post-incident review:

  • state of readiness;
  • state of response plans;
  • notification;
  • assessment;
  • activation;
  • safety measures taken during the response;
  • key partners and stakeholder engagement;
  • measures taken to control and contain pollution and protect private property and infrastructure; and
  • surveillance measures taken at the time of the incident.

Lessons Learned should be documented in the post-incident evaluation report, which should also outline how the Lessons Learned can be incorporated into their relevant areas. Lessons learned will identify problem areas or failures within the system requiring remediation. The relevant program area will implement the required changes, as follows:

  • National Program Deficiency:
    • Responsible Program – National Strategies, Headquarters;
    • Deficiency Type – program structure and mandate and Levels of Service.
  • System Deficiency:
    • Responsible Program – National Environmental Response Program Office, Headquarters;
    • Deficiency Type – Environmental Response Manual, directives, Incident Command System (process and web application) and general procedures.
  • Training Deficiency:
    • Responsible Program – Operational Personnel / Canadian Coast Guard College;
    • Deficiency Type – course curriculum, content, type and frequency and delivery.

Once the particular failure has been addressed, the performance of the Environmental Response program will be monitored to ensure that remedial measures are having the desired outcomes.

Date modified:

5 Activités post-incidents

Une fois que les activités d’intervention sont terminées, la Garde côtière canadienne doit procéder au recouvrement des coûts et réaliser un examen et une évaluation post-incident conformément aux procédures et aux protocoles établis.

5.1 Recouvrement des coûts et demandes d’indemnisation

En vertu de la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière maritime, les coûts engagés par le ministre pour surveiller les incidents de pollution en milieu marin ou pour réaliser une intervention connexe sont récupérables, soit auprès du pollueur soit dans le cadre de régimes d’indemnisation nationaux et internationaux. Cette capacité de recouvrer les coûts auprès du pollueur constitue la base du principe du pollueur-payeur.

Selon le Manuel sur le recouvrement des coûts, il incombe aux régions de veiller à ce que les coûts soient détaillés et consignés au moyen des formulaires appropriés du Système de commandement d’intervention et à ce que les réclamations soient soumises au pollueur, ou à la Caisse d’indemnisation des dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures causée par les navires.

5.2 Examen post-incident et évaluation

L’objectif d’une rétroaction post-incident est d’évaluer l’intervention faisant suite à un incident de pollution en milieu marin en vue d’améliorer tous les éléments faisant partie de l’intervention. Le processus d’exécution d’une rétroaction post-incident est semblable aux principes appliqués à l’évaluation des exercices.

Les besoins en matière d’une rétroaction post-incident ou de leçons retenues sont établis par le surintendant du service d’Intervention environnementale, le directeur régional ou le commissaire adjoint. Le commandant responsable d’une intervention, le cas échéant, a la charge de préparer le rapport à présenter au gestionnaire, Bureau national du programme d’intervention environnementale, à l’Administration centrale de la Garde côtière canadienne et au directeur régional, Programmes de la Garde côtière canadienne.

5.2.1 Exécution d’une rétroaction post-incident

L’exécution d’une rétroaction post-incident doit être effectué conformément aux principes énoncés au chapitre 11 du document intitulé Programme national d’exercices – Lignes directrices sur l’évaluation. Ces principes comprennent les tâches suivantes :

  • informer l’équipe d’intervention et de surveillance
  • évaluer l’incident
  • préparer un résumé des principales observations
  • mener une séance de compte rendu de l’incident
  • établir un rapport officiel d’une rétroaction post-incident

Les éléments suivants doivent être pris en compte au cours d’exécution d’une rétroaction post-incident :

  • état de préparation
  • état des plans d’intervention
  • signalement
  • évaluation
  • activation
  • mesures de sécurité prises au cours de l’intervention
  • mobilisation des principaux partenaires et intervenants
  • mesures prises en vue de contrôler et de contenir la pollution et de protéger la propriété privée et les infrastructures
  • mesures de surveillance prises au cours de l’incident

Les leçons retenues doivent être documentées dans le rapport d’une rétroaction post-incident, qui doit également indiquer comment intégrer les leçons retenues aux secteurs pertinents. Les leçons retenues relèveront les problèmes ou les lacunes du système pour lesquels des mesures correctives s’imposent. Le secteur de programme qui est visé met en œuvre les mesures qui s’imposent, comme suit :

  • Lacunes du programme national :
    • programme responsable – Stratégies nationales, administration centrale
    • type de lacune – structure et mandat du programme, et niveaux de service
  • Lacunes du système :
    • programme responsable – Bureau national du programme d’intervention environnementale, Administration centrale
    • type de lacune – Manuel d’intervention environnementale, directives, Système de commandement d’intervention (processus et application Web) et procédures générales
  • Lacunes en matière de formation :
    • programme responsable – Personnel opérationnel/Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne
    • type de lacune – programme de formation et prestation, contenu, type et fréquence des cours

Lorsqu’une lacune a fait l’objet de mesures, le programme d’intervention environnementale fait l’objet d’un suivi sur le rendement pour veiller à ce que les mesures correctives produisent les résultats voulus.

Date de modification :