Marine Spills Contingency Plan - National Chapter

Letter of Promulgation

Pursuant to the Emergency Management Act, federal Ministers have a statutory responsibility to ensure each department, agency or Crown corporation within their area of responsibility has an emergency plan to deal with civil emergencies related to their area of accountability. Federal government policy for emergency preparedness is to assign lead agency responsibility to the predominant department.

Through legislation such as the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, the Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act, the Oceans Act, the Marine Liability Act and subject to various inter-agency agreements, the Canadian Coast Guard, a special operating agency of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, has lead agency responsibility for ensuring a response and will provide a leadership role to ship-source spills, mystery-source spills, pollution incidents that occur at oil handling facilities as a result of loading or unloading oil to or from ships, and spills from any source originating in foreign waters that impact Canadian waters. Additionally, the Canadian Coast Guard will provide assistance to those agencies responding to incidents that do not fall under the Canadian Coast Guard’s mandate, where possible.

The Canadian Coast Guard Marine Spills Contingency Plan defines the scope and framework within which the Canadian Coast Guard will operate to ensure a response to marine pollution incidents. In accordance with Canada’s Marine Oil Spill Preparedness and Response Regime, the polluter is expected to respond to incidents while the Canadian Coast Guard will work with the polluter and other partners and stakeholders in a Unified Command setting in the capacity of Incident Commander for the federal government or in Single Command for other, specific types of incidents. The Canadian Coast Guard may also provide assistance to other federal, provincial, territorial or local agencies.

The Canadian Coast Guard Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter (2017) supersedes the previous Marine Spills Contingency Plan – National Chapter (2011). The custodian for the overall coordination of the Plan is the Director General, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard.

Originally signed by:

Gregory A. Lick
Director General, Operations
Canadian Coast Guard

Date modified:

Lettre de promulgation

En vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des urgences, les ministres fédéraux ont la responsabilité juridique de veiller à ce que chaque ministère, organisme ou société d’État de leur ressort dispose d’un plan d’urgence pour faire face aux situations d’urgence liées à leur sphère de responsabilités. La politique fédérale en matière de mesures d’urgence consiste à attribuer une responsabilité d’organisme directeur au ministère principal.

En vertu de diverses lois, tel que la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, la Loi sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques, la Loi sur les océans, la Loi sur la responsabilité en matière maritime et en vertu de divers accords interorganismes, la Garde côtière canadienne, organisme de service spécial de Pêches et Océans Canada, assume la responsabilité d’organisme directeur pour assurer et diriger une intervention en cas de déversements causés par des navires, de déversements d’origine mystérieuse, de tout incident de pollution causée par les navires qui se produit à la suite du chargement ou du déchargement d’hydrocarbures dans un bâtiment ou du transbordement du bâtiment à une installation de manutention d’hydrocarbures, et de déversements de toute source se produisant dans des eaux étrangères et ayant une incidence sur les eaux canadiennes. En outre, la Garde côtière canadienne doit, dans la mesure du possible, fournir de l'aide aux organismes qui interviennent en cas d'incident ne correspondant pas à son mandat.

LePlan d’urgence pour les déversements en merde la Garde côtière canadienne définit la portée et le cadre des activités que cette dernière exerce pour assurer une intervention en cas d’incidents de pollution maritime. Selon le Régime de préparation et d’intervention en cas de déversements d’hydrocarbures en milieu marin du Canada, on s’attend à ce que le pollueur intervienne en cas d’incidents pendant que la Garde côtière canadienne, à titre de commandant d’intervention au nom du gouvernement fédéral, travaille avec le pollueur, les partenaires et les intervenants dans le cadre d’un commandement unifié ou d'un commandement simple pour d'autres types précis d'incidents. De plus, la Garde côtière canadienne peut offrir son aide à d’autres organismes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou locaux.

Le Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national (2017) de la Garde côtière canadienne remplace le Plan d’urgence pour les déversements en mer – Chapitre national (2011). Le responsable de la coordination générale du plan est le Directeur général, Opérations, de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Signataire à l’origine :

Gregory A. Lick
Directeur général, Opérations
Garde côtière canadienne

Date de modification :