Integrated Human Resource and Business Plan 2018

Table of Contents


Our Members: We are our people

Canadian Coast Guard member receiving an award.

The foundation of the Coast Guard is our members. Without them, we would not be the highly valued organization that we are today. Our well-trained members are ready to serve, operating our fleet and patrolling Canada’s waterways 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year in some of the harshest weather conditions in the world.

Investing in our People

The Coast Guard’s evolving role will allow us to continue to invest in equipment and, most importantly, our people. We are committed to improving the quality of work we produce and to retaining our members. Increased support from the federal government will allow us to provide and perform the training, succession planning and recruiting we need to ensure the professionalism and dedication that Canadians deserve and have come to expect of our organization.

Member Wellbeing

One of the Coast Guard’s main areas of focus has been — and always will be — member wellbeing. We are committed to breaking down barriers and prejudice and will continue to support our people and foster a safe and welcoming environment by creating a less restrictive and more inclusive atmosphere. By creating an organizational culture that is characterized by trust, honesty and fairness, the Coast Guard will nurture a workplace where co-workers and supervisors are supportive of each other’s physical and mental health concerns and can respond appropriately when needed.

Canadian Coast Guard members participating in Day of Pink

Mental Health Training

The Wellness Group within Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), sponsored by the Departmental Mental Health Consultation Committee (DMHCC), is currently seeking funding and approval for the implementation of mental health training for all members. The proposed training is the “Road to Mental Readiness,” (R2MR) which is comprised of:

Although DFO is leading the overall initiative, Coast Guard’s Integrated Business Management Services (IBMS) directorate is implementing R2MR training for operational and seagoing members.

Mental Wellness Intranet

DFO has launched an intranet site  for mental health in the workplace that can be accessed by all members. For seagoing members with limited access to network systems, the information included on the intranet page can be printed or saved to a USB to ensure easy access.

Onboard Mental Health Training

IBMS has developed a 2 day wellness training session specifically for Coast Guard operational and seagoing members with the intent to roll out the training nationally via a Train-the-Trainer model. In addition to offering these training sessions on ships, the Coast Guard has expanded to include Marine Communications Traffic Services Offices and Regional Operations Centers to ensure that all of our members can be included if they so choose.  

Furthermore, IBMS will be presenting sessions on the 13 Psychological Workplace Factors. These factors were developed by the Mental Health Commission of Canada in partnership with Ottawa Public Health. The aim of these sessions is to create awareness about psychosocial factors in the workplace and to provide common language to assist in discussing these factors. The sessions will evolve to include other areas of wellness; tools and resources are also being created for supervisors and managers within Coast Guard.

Critical Incident Stress Management

Critical Incident Stress Management (CISM) is a highly structured peer support program designed primarily for members likely to be involved in critical incidents or traumatic events because of the nature of their work. CISM informs and prepares members to deal with the potential hazards of being exposed to a critical incident or a traumatic event; it focuses on providing short-term support (psychological first aid), follow-up services, and referrals to higher levels of care.

Building on the Pacific/Western CISM team, which has been in place for over 2 decades, CISM is being rolled out to the rest of the organization across the country. Members who volunteered (30 Atlantic and 30 C&A) were recruited and screened in by regional coordinators and are now in the process of becoming trained CISM peers. The Coast Guard aims to have national CISM response capability by April 2019.

Demographics

Canadian Coast Guard member wearing personal protection equipment.

As of September 2018, 5,838 members to carry out our mandate. The Coast Guard is a decentralized organization with the majority of our members located in regional offices. Only 19% (1,116 members) of the Coast Guard’s overall workforce is located at Headquarters in Ottawa.

Like many other government departments, the Coast Guard is facing the challenge of an aging workforce and must focus attention on recruitment and retention of members. A commitment to succession planning and training will ensure that we remain a strong, service-oriented organization.

Recruitment

One of the most difficult challenges the Coast Guard has is recruitment. We need to increase our visibility throughout the country to attract new members. We want to promote our organization, what we do, who we are, what we stand for and the important role we play in Canada. Our target demographic for seagoing career options remains youth-oriented; 17-24-year-old recent (or potential) high school graduates.

As always, the goal for recruitment is to generate a large pool of qualified applicants for both French and English positions and to promote diversity.

A Targeted Recruitment Strategy

The Coast Guard will commit to a targeted recruitment strategy in which regional participation will be essential to ensure an effective and timely recruitment process for the planned September 2019 academic year.

By combining the efforts of the regions and the Coast Guard College’s (CCGC) Student Affairs Section we can effectively promote our organization and the fulfilling career opportunities we can offer young Canadians.

With the implementation of a national working group to support cohesive recruitment activities, we will be able to provide national standardized tools and an approach for recruitment activities.  Moreover, promoting the sharing of lessons-learned and experiences will assist the Coast Guard in developing a standardized way forward for participation in, and the promotion of, outreach and recruitment-related activities and functions.

In addition, the development of generic and job-specific publications, as well as outreach and recruitment tools, such as paper and electronic/digital formats, will result in a common look and feel of Coast Guard branding, which will allow for more visibility.

Engaging Prospective Cadets

Targeting youth can be a challenge. However, DFO and Coast Guard received recognition as one of Canada’s Top Employers for Young People in 2017. This is a wonderful promotional opportunity to showcase the department and our organization as an ideal workplace for today’s youth. Unique initiatives, such as one that allows members to “Spend a Day with a Senior Manager,” helped us receive this recognition. We also offer retention tools for younger members such as tuition assistance and the availability of co-op or work-study programs.

Shifting to Social Media

Reaching our target demographic will require a shift in strategy from the Coast Guard’s typical recruiting campaign. Today’s youth rely heavily on social media to communicate with one another. We will increase our social media presence to showcase CCGC as the leading bilingual institution for marine learning, share information on upcoming recruitment fairs and use Twitter to promote CCGC events and the success of our cadets.

Outreach and Collaboration

The Coast Guard will be represented at education fairs across Canada, in high schools in Norther Ontario as well as CEGEPS in francophone communities in Quebec. The Coast Guard will also increase its Indigenous community engagement and will focus on Indigenous youth, which will include community visits from ships in the North. In addition, CCGC will collaborate with DFO and other federal departments such as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Canada Border Services Agency to host an open house in order to increase visibility and understanding of what career options the Coast Guard has to offer.

Creating Equal Employment Opportunities

We will develop long-term national strategies that ensure equal employment opportunities for all: women, men, minority groups, persons with disabilities, Indigenous peoples and youth. This will respond to the expectations of our partners and stakeholders, including the provinces and territories.

Diversity

Canadian Coast Guard members participating in a pride parade.

If you can serve, you can serve in the Coast Guard. It’s a mantra we have been repeating for years. Everyone is welcome to join and we are proud of our dedication to diversity. The Coast Guard is striving to be an employer of choice that attracts, selects, promotes, and retains engaged and diverse individuals. We are committed to diversity and inclusion at all levels of the organization. We believe that the more representative we are of the Canadian population, the better we are able to serve our communities.

Fostering a diverse workforce and a more inclusive and respectful workplace will continue to be a top priority for the Coast Guard throughout 2018-2019. Specific attention will be placed on applying a Gender Based Analysis Plus lens to inform the Coast Guard’s review of its uniform manual, crewing factor, national recruitment and retention strategy, as well as in ship design and refurbishment. Moreover, the Coast Guard will continue its efforts to create an inclusive workplace through member and management empowerment, education, training, awareness, and leadership development. Diversity and inclusion considerations will continue to be applied to existing and new policies, programs, and in interactions with our partners and Canadians alike.

The Coast Guard also celebrates diversity and inclusion by participating in various annual signature events including Orange Shirt Day which honours and demonstrates respect for Indigenous peoples in Canada, and by expanding our participation in Pride Parades across the country to show our support for those who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and two-spirit (LGBTQ2+).

Building on previous efforts to create more comprehensive strategies to attract members of the LGBTQ2+ community, the Coast Guard aims to develop an organizational approach for introducing Positive Space initiatives during onboarding throughout the organization and at the Coast Guard College.

We also participate in programs that promote women in science and technology careers through events like ‘Girls fly too’ which provides females of all ages with the opportunity to be engaged in non-traditional jobs through the world’s largest outreach initiative aimed at inspiring female future leaders in aviation, aerospace, marine and defense.

We will continue to seek opportunities to build upon these foundational elements and make important progress towards being a diverse, inclusive, safe, caring, and compassionate organization.

Canadian Coast Guard members participating in a search and rescue exercise.

Training New Recruits

Canada’s commitment to protecting our oceans means approximately 800 new positions will be created within the Coast Guard. We must be prepared to receive and train this huge influx of new members. As such, an implementation group has been created to support effective integration  of new employees through what we call an “Onboarding Program.”

Onboarding New Members

Our goal is to provide new members with the knowledge to effectively move into their new roles. This will support and instill the “take charge” image the Coast Guard strives to represent. The onboarding program will give members the knowledge they need to do their jobs effectively. As a result, managers will not need to dedicate as much time integrating their new employees. The new program will also promote consistency across the regions when it comes to integrating new staff.

Within the training component, there will be a Coast Guard learning capsule that will include sections on how to wear the Coast Guard uniform, how and when to salute, preparing to go to sea, what to bring, as well as safety and security. A section called “Coast Guard Talk” will help new members understand nautical terms, expressions and acronyms associated with our organization and in the broader marine industry.

Throughout this onboarding process there will be checklists for managers and employees to allow a simple form of tracking to ensure all compulsory aspects of onboarding are completed. The program will be accessible to all new members, whether their work is on land or at sea.

Force Generation

The Coast Guard has committed to making a significant sustained investment in its people. Previous years’ reductions in funding left Coast Guard limited in its ability to attract new members, provide training and developmental opportunities, and implement a solid succession planning regime.

Following the substantial investments the Government of Canada made in the Coast Guard, the Force Generation initiative was launched. While Integrated Business Management Services, the Coast Guard College and Operational Personnel will continue to manage our day to day workforce needs, program development, planning, and reporting, the Force Generation team will build tools required for a sustainable future as determined and prioritized by the organization.

The objective is to build the tools, policies, frameworks, processes, procedures etc. to support the recruitment and development of a diverse, highly trained, engaged, professional and at-the-ready workforce for today and tomorrow.

Date modified:

Plan intégré des ressources humaines et des activités 2018

Table des matières


Nos membres : Nous sommes notre peuple

Membre de la Garde côtière canadienne recevant un prix

La réussite de la Garde côtière repose sur les membres de son personnel. Sans eux, nous ne serions jamais devenus une organisation aussi remarquable. Nos membres bien formés sont toujours prêts à servir, en exploitant notre flotte et en patrouillant dans les voies navigables 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, 365 jours par an, dans certaines des conditions météorologiques les plus difficiles au monde.

Investir dans notre personnel

Le rôle changeant de la Garde côtière canadienne nous permettra de continuer d’investir dans l’équipement et, plus important encore, dans notre personnel. Nous sommes déterminés à améliorer la qualité de notre travail et à maintenir en poste nos membres. Le soutien accru du gouvernement fédéral nous permettra de fournir et d’assurer la formation, la planification de la relève et le recrutement nécessaires pour assurer le professionnalisme et le dévouement que les Canadiens méritent et sont en droit de s’attendre de la part de notre organisation.

Bien-être des membres

L’un des principaux domaines d’intérêt de la Garde côtière canadienne a été – et demeurera toujours – le bien-être de ses membres. Nous nous sommes engagés à éliminer les barrières et les préjugés, et nous continuerons de sensibiliser notre personnel et de favoriser un environnement sécuritaire et accueillant en créant un milieu plus inclusif et moins contraignant. En créant une culture organisationnelle qui se caractérise par la confiance, l’honnêteté et l’équité, la Garde côtière encouragera un milieu de travail où les collègues et les superviseurs s’entraident afin de surmonter leurs problèmes de santé physique et mentale et peuvent réagir d’une manière appropriée, le cas échéant.

Membres de la Garde côtière canadienne participant à la journée du chandail rose

Formation sur la santé mentale

Le groupe responsable du mieux-être de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), qui est parrainé par le comité consultatif sur la santé mentale du Ministère, tente actuellement d’obtenir du financement et l’approbation concernant la mise en oeuvre d’une formation en matière de santé mentale pour tous les membres. La formation proposée est « En route vers la préparation mentale » (RVPM) et elle est composée de :

  • La formation RVPM de base; et
  • La formation au leadership associé à RVPM.

Même si le Ministère assure la gestion générale de l’initiative, la direction des Services de gestion intégrée des affaires (SGIA) de la Garde côtière offrent la formation RVPM aux membres opérationnels et navigants.

Site intranet sur le mieux-être mental

Le MPO a lancé un site intranet sur la santé mentale en milieu de travail qui est accessible à tous les membres. Le personnel en mer qui a un accès limité aux systèmes du réseau pourra imprimer ou enregistrer sur une clé USB l’information fournie sur la page intranet afin d’y avoir facilement accès.

Formation sur la santé mentale à bord

La direction SGIA a élaboré une séance de formation de 2 jours sur le mieux-être à l’intention des membres opérationnels et en mer de la Garde côtière, dans l’intention d’offrir la formation à l’échelle nationale au moyen d’un modèle de formation des formateurs. En plus d’offrir ces séances de formation à bord de ses navires, la Garde côtière a élargi son programme aux bureaux des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes et aux centres des opérations régionales afin que tous les membres intéressés puissent en profiter.

De plus, la direction SGIA présentera des séances sur les 13 facteurs psychologiques en milieu de travail. Ces facteurs ont été élaborés par la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada en partenariat avec Santé publique Ottawa. L’objectif de ces séances est de sensibiliser les participants aux facteurs psychosociaux en milieu de travail et de leur fournir un langage commun pour les aider à discuter de ces facteurs. Les séances évolueront pour inclure d’autres domaines du mieux-être; des outils et des ressources seront également créés pour les superviseurs et les gestionnaires de la Garde côtière.

Gestion du stress en cas d’incident critique

Le programme de gestion du stress en cas d’incident critique (GSIC) est un programme de soutien par les pairs hautement structuré conçu principalement pour les membres susceptibles d’être impliqués dans des incidents critiques ou des événements traumatisants en raison de la nature de leur travail. Le programme GSIC informe les membres et les prépare à faire face aux dangers potentiels d’une exposition à un incident critique ou à un événement traumatique; il met l’accent sur le soutien à court terme (premiers soins psychologiques), les services de suivi et l’aiguillage vers les niveaux supérieurs de soins. S’appuyant sur son équipe du Pacifique/de l’Ouest, qui est en place depuis plus de 2 décennies, le GSIC est en voie d’être étendu au reste de l’organisation à travers le pays. Les membres bénévoles (30 dans la région de l’Atlantique et 30 dans la région du Centre et de l’Arctique) ont été recrutés et présélectionnés par les coordonnateurs régionaux et sont maintenant en voie de devenir des pairs formés à la GSIC. La Garde côtière vise à se doter d’une capacité d’intervention nationale sur la GSIC d’ici avril 2019.

Données démographiques

Membre de la Garde côtière canadienne portant un équipement de protection individuelle.

En septembre 2018, nous comptions sur 5 838 membres pour atteindre notre mandat. La Garde côtière est une organisation décentralisée, et la majorité de ses membres travaillent dans des bureaux régionaux. Seulement 19 % de l’effectif global de la Garde côtière (1 116 membres) travaille à l’administration centrale, à Ottawa.

À l’instar de plusieurs autres ministères, la Garde côtière fait face au vieillissement de la main-d’oeuvre et doit se concentrer sur le recrutement et le maintien en poste de ses membres. Un engagement à l’égard de la planification de la relève et de la formation nous permettra de nous assurer que nous demeurons une organisation solide et axée sur le service.

Recrutement

Le recrutement est l’un des plus grands problèmes auxquels la Garde côtière fait face. Nous devons accroître notre visibilité dans tout le pays afin d’attirer de nouveaux membres. Nous voulons promouvoir notre organisation, ce que nous faisons, qui nous sommes, ce que nous défendons et le rôle important que nous jouons au Canada. Le groupe démographique que nous ciblons pour une carrière en mer est celui des jeunes de 17 à 24 ans qui viennent de décrocher leur diplôme d’études secondaires (ou qui devraient l’obtenir).

Comme toujours, l’objectif de recrutement est de créer un grand bassin de candidats qualifiés pour les postes français et anglais et de promouvoir la diversité.

Stratégie de recrutement ciblé

La Garde côtière s’engagera à mettre en oeuvre une stratégie de recrutement ciblé dans le cadre de laquelle la participation des régions sera essentielle pour assurer un processus efficace et rapide en vue de la rentrée scolaire de septembre 2019.

En combinant les efforts des régions et de la section des Affaires étudiantes du Collège de la Garde côtière (CGCC), nous pouvons promouvoir efficacement notre organisation et les possibilités de carrière gratifiante que nous pouvons offrir aux jeunes Canadiens.

Grâce à la mise en place d’un groupe de travail national pour appuyer des activités de recrutement cohérentes, nous serons en mesure de fournir des outils nationaux normalisés et une approche pour les activités de recrutement. De plus, la promotion du transfert des leçons apprises et des expériences aidera la Garde côtière à élaborer une façon normalisée de participer aux activités et aux fonctions de sensibilisation et de recrutement et d’en faire la promotion.

De plus, l’élaboration de publications génériques et spécifiques à l’emploi, ainsi que d’outils de sensibilisation et de recrutement, tel que les formats papier et électroniques/numériques, permettront d’uniformiser l’image de marque de la Garde côtière, ce qui lui donnera plus de visibilité.

Attirer des élèves-officiers potentiels

Il peut être difficile de cibler les jeunes. En 2017, le MPO et la Garde côtière ont été reconnus comme l’un des meilleurs employeurs pour les jeunes au Canada. Il s’agit d’une excellente occasion de mettre en valeur le Ministère et notre organisation comme un milieu de travail idéal pour les jeunes d’aujourd’hui. Des initiatives uniques, comme celle qui permet aux membres de passer une journée avec un gestionnaire principal, nous ont aidés à obtenir cette reconnaissance. Nous offrons aussi des outils de maintien de l’effectif pour les jeunes membres, comme de l’aide financière aux études et la disponibilité de programmes d’études coopératives ou de travail-études.

Transition vers les médias sociaux

Pour atteindre le groupe démographique que nous ciblons, nous devrons modifier la stratégie que la Garde côtière adopte habituellement pour ses campagnes de recrutement. Les jeunes d’aujourd’hui n’hésitent pas à se servir des médias sociaux pour communiquer entre eux. Nous allons accroître notre présence sur les médias sociaux pour présenter le CGCC comme étant le meilleur établissement bilingue d’enseignement dans le domaine maritime, nous diffuserons de l’information sur les salons de recrutement et nous nous servirons de Twitter pour promouvoir les événements du CGCC et souligner la réussite de nos élèves-officiers.

Sensibilisation et collaboration

La Garde côtière sera représentée aux salons de l’éducation partout au Canada, dans les écoles secondaires du Nord de l’Ontario et dans les cégeps des collectivités francophones du Québec. La Garde côtière augmentera également ses activités de consultation auprès des collectivités autochtones et se concentrera sur les jeunes Autochtones, notamment en visitant les communautés à partir de navires dans le Nord. De plus, le CGCC collaborera avec le MPO et d’autres ministères fédéraux comme la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada pour organiser une journée portes ouvertes afin d’accroître la visibilité et la compréhension des options de carrière que la Garde côtière a à offrir.

Créer des chances égales en matière d’emploi

Nous élaborerons des stratégies nationales à long terme qui garantiront l’égalité des possibilités d’emploi pour tous : femmes, hommes, minorités, personnes handicapées, collectivités autochtones et jeunes. Cela répondra aux attentes de nos partenaires et intervenants, y compris les provinces et les territoires.

Diversité

Membres de la Garde côtière canadienne participant à un défilé de la fierté

Si vous pouvez servir, vous pouvez servir dans la Garde côtière. Il s’agit d’une devise que nous répétons depuis des années. Tout le monde est le bienvenu parmi nous. Nous sommes fiers de ce dévouement à l’égard de la diversité. La Garde côtière s’efforce d’être un employeur de choix qui attire, sélectionne, promeut et maintien en poste des personnes engagées et diverses. Nous nous engageons en faveur de la diversité et de l’inclusion à tous les niveaux de l’organisation. Nous croyons qu’en étant représentatifs de la population canadienne, nous pouvons mieux servir nos collectivités.

La promotion d’un effectif diversifié et d’un milieu de travail plus inclusif et respectueux continuera d’être une priorité absolue pour la Garde côtière tout au long de l’exercice 2018-2019. Une attention particulière sera accordée à l’application d’une perspective d’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+) afin d’éclairer l’examen par la Garde côtière de son manuel sur les uniformes, de son facteur d’armement en équipage, de sa stratégie nationale de recrutement et de maintien en poste, ainsi que de la conception et de la remise à neuf des navires. De plus, la Garde côtière poursuivra ses efforts pour créer un milieu de travail inclusif par l’habilitation des membres et des gestionnaires, l’éducation, la formation, la sensibilisation et le développement du leadership. Les considérations relatives à la diversité et à l’inclusion continueront d’être appliquées aux politiques et aux programmes existants et nouveaux, ainsi qu’aux interactions avec nos partenaires et les Canadiens.

La Garde côtière célèbre également la diversité et l’inclusion en participant à diverses activités annuelles, dont la Journée de la chemise orange, qui honore et démontre un respect envers les peuples autochtones du Canada, et en élargissant sa participation aux défilés de la fierté gaie, lesbienne, bisexuelle, transgenre, queer et bispirituelle (LGBTQ2+).

En s’appuyant sur les efforts antérieurs visant à créer des stratégies plus complètes pour attirer les membres de la communauté LGBTQ2+, la Garde côtière vise à élaborer une approche organisationnelle pour introduire des initiatives Espace positif lors de l’intégration au sein de l’organisation et au Collège de la Garde côtière.

Nous participons également à des programmes qui font la promotion des femmes dans les carrières scientifiques et technologiques par l’entremise d’événements comme « Girls Fly Too », qui offre aux femmes de tous âges la possibilité d’occuper des emplois non traditionnels dans le cadre de la plus grande initiative de sensibilisation au monde visant à inspirer les futures leaders féminines en aviation, en aérospatiale, en marine et en défense.

Nous continuerons de chercher des occasions de tirer parti de ces éléments fondamentaux et de faire d’importants progrès pour devenir une organisation diversifiée, inclusive, sécuritaire, bienveillante et compatissante.

Membres de la Garde côtière canadienne participant à un exercice de recherche et de sauvetage

Formation des nouvelles recrues

L’engagement du Canada à protéger ses océans signifie qu’environ 800 nouveaux postes seront créés au sein de la Garde côtière. Nous devons être prêts à accueillir et à former cet afflux considérable de nouveaux membres. Ainsi, un groupe de mise en oeuvre a été créé pour soutenir l’intégration efficace des nouveaux membres grâce à ce que nous appelons un « programme d’accueil et d’intégration ».

Accueil et intégration des nouveaux membres

Notre objectif est de transmettre aux nouveaux membres les connaissances nécessaires pour qu’ils puissent assumer efficacement leur nouveau rôle. Cela renforcera l’image de « prise en charge » que la Garde côtière s’efforce de projeter. Le programme d’accueil et d’intégration transmettra aux membres les connaissances dont ils ont besoin pour faire leur travail efficacement. Par conséquent, les gestionnaires n’auront pas besoin de consacrer beaucoup de temps à l’intégration des nouveaux membres. Le nouveau programme favorisera également l’uniformité entre les régions en ce qui a trait à l’intégration des nouveaux membres.

Dans le volet de formation, il y aura une capsule d’apprentissage de la Garde côtière qui comprendra des sections sur la façon de porter l’uniforme de la Garde côtière, la façon et le moment de saluer, la préparation au départ en mer, ce qu’il faut apporter, ainsi que la sécurité et la sûreté. Une section intitulée « Langage de la Garde côtière canadienne » aidera les nouveaux membres à comprendre les termes, les expressions et les acronymes nautiques associés à notre organisation et utilisés dans l’ensemble de l’industrie maritime.

Tout au long de ce processus d’intégration, il y aura des listes de contrôle pour les gestionnaires et les membres afin de permettre un suivi simple pour veiller à ce que tous les aspects obligatoires de l’intégration soient terminés. Le programme sera accessible à tous les nouveaux membres, qu’ils travaillent à terre ou en mer.

Génération du personnel

La Garde côtière s’est engagée à faire un investissement soutenu et important dans son personnel. Les réductions du financement des années précédentes ont limité la capacité de la Garde côtière d’attirer de nouveaux membres, d’offrir des possibilités de formation et de perfectionnement et de mettre en oeuvre un solide régime de planification de la relève.

Grâce aux investissements substantiels que le Gouvernement du Canada a faits dans la Garde côtière, l’initiative Génération du personnel a été lancée. Pendant que la direction des Services de gestion intégrée des affaires, le Collège de la Garde côtière et le groupe du Personnel opérationnel continueront de gérer nos besoins quotidiens en main-d’oeuvre, l’élaboration des programmes ainsi que la planification et la production de rapports, l’équipe de Génération du personnel élaborera les outils nécessaires pour assurer un avenir durable, selon les besoins et les priorités de l’organisation.

L’objectif est d’élaborer les outils, les politiques, les cadres, les processus, les procédures, etc. pour appuyer le recrutement et le perfectionnement d’une main-d’oeuvre diversifiée, hautement qualifiée, engagée, professionnelle et prête pour aujourd’hui et pour demain.

Date de modification :