Integrated Human Resource and Business Plan 2018

Table of Contents


Our identity

Who We Are

The Coast Guard is a nationally recognized and world-leading symbol of maritime service and safety. As Special Operating Agency under the ministerial authority of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and the operator of the federal government’s only civilian fleet, our mission is to contribute to the safety and accessibility of Canada’s oceans and waterways while supporting economic prosperity and government priorities.

The Coast Guard Badge

Our badge was approved by the Queen in 1962 and was created to represent our organization through different symbols. This is what the different elements mean:

  • The Royal Crown indicates that Coast Guard ships are in service of the Queen in Right of Canada.
  • The red maple leaf represents the emblem of Canada.
  • The white symbolizes ice.
The Canadian Coast Guard badge
  • The rope frame with knotted base symbolizes the importance of seamanship, a very important element of life on the water.
  •  The 2 golden dolphins — a long known symbol of friendship to mariners — represent our vessels.
  • The blue symbolizes water.

Mandate

Our mandate derives from the Constitution Act, 1867, which assigned the Parliament of Canada exclusive legislative authority and jurisdiction over matters of navigation and shipping, including beacons and buoys within Canadian territorial waters, as well as all lighthouses and Sable Island. Today, the Oceans Act and the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, assign the Minister of Fisheries Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard overall responsibility to fulfill the Coast Guard’s mandate. These Acts are the foundation of our organization, the root of our traditions and have shaped the identity of our organization over the past 56 years.

Oceans Act

Assigns the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard responsibility for:

  • The maritime component of the federal search and rescue program;
  • Marine pollution response and support to other government departments, boards, and agencies through the provision of ships, helicopters and other marine services; and
  • Services that ensure the safe, economical, and efficient movement of ships within Canadian waters, including Aids to Navigation, Marine Communications and Traffic Management Services, Icebreaking and Ice Management Services and Channel Maintenance.

Canada Shipping Act, 2001

Provides additional powers and more detailed definitions that enable the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to fulfill the Coast Guard’s mandate concerning:

  • Aids to Navigation;
  • Vessel Traffic Services;
  • Marine Search and Rescue; and
  • Marine Pollution Response, including all ship-source, unknown source, and oil handling facilities where a vessel is taking-on or unloading fuel.

What We Do

In a typical day, the Canadian Coast Guard…

Saves 9 lives

Escorts 4 commercial ships through ice during the ice season

Assists 43 people

Carries out 11 fisheries patrols

Coordinates 19 search and rescue incidents

Supports 3 hydrographic missions

Services 55 aids to navigation

Supports 8 scientific surveys

Handles 1,547 marine radio contacts

Deals with 3 reported pollution events

Manages 2,325 commercial ship movements

Surveys 5 kilometers of navigation channel bottom

Coast Guard’s Programs

Aids to Navigation

Aids to navigation on land

The Aids to Navigation program provides aids to navigation systems, services and operational awareness to support safe and accessible navigation in Canadian waters by Canadian and International commercial marine transportation sectors, fishers and pleasure craft operators.

Aids to navigation systems include approximately 17,000 short-range marine aids including visual aids, audible aids, as well as radar and electronic aids; and long-range marine aids.

The program reviews these aids to navigation systems on a cyclical basis to ensure they meet users' needs. This program is delivered in coordination with the Canadian Hydrographic Service; however, Coast Guard's Fleet Operational Capability, Procurement, and Maintenance and Shore-Based Asset Readiness programs are integral to the delivery of this program.

Icebreaking Services

View from a Coast Guard ship during an ice escort (CCGS Henry Larsen)

The Icebreaking Services program provides ice-related information services, operational awareness and icebreaking support to facilitate safe and accessible navigation by Canadian and International commercial marine transportation sectors and fishers through and around ice-covered Canadian waters.

Other activities include escorting ships through ice-covered waters; freeing beset vessels in ice; maintaining open tracks through shore-fast ice; conducting harbour breakouts; providing ice routing advice; and reducing the risk of flooding by monitoring, preventing and breaking up ice jams on the St. Lawrence River.

Icebreaking Services also contributes to Arctic sovereignty by transporting goods/supplies to northern communities, providing support to other government agencies and organizations in ice-infested waters, and being a visible federal government marine presence in the Canadian North.

This program is delivered in coordination with Environment and Climate Change Canada's Ice Information services; however, Coast Guard's Fleet Operational Capability, Procurement and Maintenance programs are integral to the delivery of this program.

Waterways Management

The Waterways Management program provides mariners with services, information and operational awareness that helps ensure safe and accessible waterways in support of economic prosperity.

This is achieved by surveying certain commercial channels to identify the bottom conditions, restrictions or hazards to safe navigation, and providing mariners with marine safety information, including available water depth forecasts in the St. Lawrence and Fraser River, as well as the maintenance and utilization of main commercial channels. In addition, the program provides channel dredging in the Great Lakes U.S./Canada connecting channels, and manages dredging on the St. Lawrence River between Montréal and l’Isle-aux-Coudres, on a cost-recovery basis.

The Waterways Management program also helps sustain navigable channels, reduce marine navigation risks and supports environmental protection to ensure safe and accessible navigation. This program is delivered in coordination with the Canadian Hydrographic Service, Real Property Asset Management Services and with Public Services and Procurement Canada. However, Coast Guard's Fleet Operational Capability, Procurement and Maintenance programs are integral to the delivery of this program.

Environmental Response Services

Coast Guard is the lead federal agency for ensuring an appropriate response to all ship-source and mystery pollution spills in Canadian waters and waters under international agreements.

The Environmental Response (ER) program minimizes the impact of marine pollution incidents on public safety; minimizes the environmental impact of marine pollution incidents; and minimizes the economic impact of marine pollution incidents.

The program also enables the Coast Guard to establish an appropriate and nationally consistent level of preparedness and response services in Canadian waters; manages and investigates reports of marine pollution in conjunction with other federal departments; and maintains communication with our program partners (including Transport Canada and Environment and Climate Change Canada) to ensure a consistent and coordinated response to marine pollution incidents.

Through the program, the Coast Guard also works with Indigenous Nations, territories and coastal communities to manage responses to incidents.

For example, the Coast Guard recognizes the risks that abandoned, derelict and wrecked vessels pose to safe navigation, the marine environment, public health and local economies.

This is why a comprehensive national strategy has been developed to address abandoned and wrecked vessels. The strategy focuses on prevention and removal, including the following key measures:

  •  Introducing new legislation, the Wrecked, Abandoned or Hazardous Vessels Act (Bill C-64), to strengthen vessel owner responsibility.
  •  Enhancing commercial vessel and pleasure craft owner identification systems to support enforcement under the new legislation.
  • Creating a national inventory to determine the scope and scale of this problem and developing a risk assessment methodology to prioritize vessels based on the risks they pose.

Search and Rescue Services

View from a Coast Guard rigid hull inflatable boat during a search and rescue exercise

Search and Rescue (SAR) in Canada consists of a range of programs and services that are designed to save lives, to assist people in distress and to prevent future incidents from occurring.

The Coast Guard is the federal lead for maritime SAR in Canada in partnership with the Department of National Defence/Canadian Armed Forces and over 4,000 members of the volunteer-based Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary (CCGA).

Continued support to our CCGA partners is provided through 6 regional contribution agreements which were last renewed in March 2018 for a five-year period. Moreover, Coast Guard provides contribution funding under the CCGA program to 5 federally incorporated not-for-profit regional volunteer-based Auxiliary organizations.

The Coast Guard provides SAR services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year to mariners in Canadian oceanic and coastal waters, the St. Lawrence Seaway, the Great Lakes and other inland waters. The Coast Guard also works with Indigenous communities to manage responses to SAR incidents.

Marine Communications and Traffic Services

The Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) program provides a reliable communication system 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year facilitating the safe and efficient navigation of vessels in Canadian waterways.

MCTS distributes marine information to mariners improving mariner safety and the protection of the Canadian marine environment.

Maritime Security

The Maritime Security program supports the work of federal departments and agencies with maritime and national security mandates, including DFO, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF), Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Public Safety Canada (PSC) and Transport Canada (TC) by sharing maritime expertise and information and lending vessel support.

Fleet Operational Capability

The Fleet Operational Capability program includes fleet operations, fleet management and the staffing of fleet personnel. The program ensures that certified professionals safely operate vessels, air cushion vehicles, helicopters, and small crafts and are ready to respond to on-water and marine-related needs.

The program is guided by a number of international conventions and domestic marine-related regulations such as the International Safety Management Code, the International Ship and Port Facility Security Code, and the International Labour Code (applicable to Seafarers). The Canadian Coast Guard College is integral to the delivery of this program.

Fleet Maintenance

The Fleet Maintenance program ensures that Coast Guard’s vessels, air cushioned vehicles, helicopters and small crafts are available and reliable for the delivery of Canadian Coast Guard programs. The program also ensures the availability and reliability of these assets through life cycle investment planning, engineering, maintenance, and disposal services.

Activities associated with Fleet Maintenance are guided by a number of international and national trade agreements, legal instruments such as the Financial Administration Act and Government Contract Regulations, as well as policies, directives, and guidelines provided by Treasury Board, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS), Industry Canada (IC) and Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC). The Canadian Coast Guard College is essential to the delivery of this program.

Fleet Procurement

Mock-up of a newly-designed multi-hulled Canadian Coast Guard ship

The Fleet Procurement program is responsible for the management of the design and construction of new large and small vessels, air cushioned vehicles, helicopters, and small crafts to support the operational requirements identified in the Fleet Renewal Plan and the Integrated Investment Plan.

The program provides project management support to ensure effective and efficient project integration, scope, time, cost, quality, human resources, communications, risk, and procurement. Activities associated with Fleet Procurement are guided by a number of international and national trade agreements; legal instruments such as the Financial Administration Act and Government Contract Regulations, as well as policies, directives, and guidelines provided by TB, IC and PSPC.

Shore-Based Asset Readiness

The Shore-Based Asset Readiness program ensures that the non-fleet assets are available and reliable to deliver Coast Guard programs.

These non-fleet assets include both fixed and floating aids, such as visual aids (e.g. buoys), aural aids (e.g., fog horns), radar aids (e.g., reflectors and beacons), and long-range marine aids, such as the Differential Global Positioning System as well as electronic communication and navigation systems and over 300 radio towers.

The Shore-Based Asset Readiness program ensures the availability and reliability of these assets through life cycle investment planning, engineering, acquisition, maintenance, and disposal services. The Canadian Coast Guard College is an important contributor to the delivery of this program.

Canadian Coast Guard College

The Coast Guard College is a national, bilingual, degree-conferring training institution which educates the marine professionals needed to deliver programs in support of our mission and mandate in marine safety, security and environmental protection. The 4-year Officer Training program is one of the best marine training programs in the world, producing both Marine Engineering and Marine Navigation Officers.

Where we Operate

The largest coastline in the world

The Canadian Coast Guard operates along 3 oceans, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence River and other inland waterways. Our total maritime area of responsibility is nearly 5.3 million square kilometers including 240,000 kilometers of coastline, the longest of any country in the world.

Map of the Canadian Coast Guard Regions: Western, Central and Arctic, National Headquarters,
Atlantic and the Canadian Coast Guard College
Date modified:

Plan intégré des ressources humaines et des activités 2018

Table des matières


Notre identité

Qui nous sommes

La Garde côtière canadienne est reconnue à l’échelle nationale comme un symbole de service et de sécurité maritimes et, à l’échelle mondiale, comme un leader à ces égards. À titre d’organisme de service spécial, sous la direction de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), et d’exploitant de la seule flotte civile du gouvernement fédéral, notre mission est de contribuer à la sécurité et à l’accessibilité des océans et des voies navigables du Canada tout en favorisant la prospérité économique et les priorités du gouvernement.

L'insigne de la Garde côtière

Notre insigne a été approuvé par la Reine en 1962 et a été créé pour représenter notre organisation au moyen de différents symboles. Voici ce que les différents éléments signifient :

  • La couronne royale indique que les navires de la Garde côtière sont au service de la Reine du chef du Canada.
  • La feuille d’érable rouge représente l’emblème du Canada.
  • Le blanc symbolise la glace.
L'insigne de la Garde côtière canadienne
  • Le cadre de corde dont la base est nouée symbolise l’importance du matelotage, un élément très important de la vie sur l’eau.
  •  Les 2 dauphins dorés, depuis longtemps un symbole d’amitié pour les navigateurs, représentent nos navires.
  • Le bleu symbolise l'eau.

Mission

Notre mandat est tiré de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, laquelle a conféré au Parlement du Canada une compétence et un pouvoir législatifs exclusifs sur des questions liées à la navigation et au transport maritime, notamment les balises et les bouées, dans les eaux territoriales canadiennes, ainsi que tous les phares et l’île de Sable. Aujourd’hui, la Loi sur les océans et la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada confèrent au ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne la responsabilité générale de remplir le mandat de la Garde côtière. Ces lois constituent le fondement de notre organisation et la racine de nos traditions. Elles ont façonné l’identité de notre organisation au cours des 56 dernières années.

Loi sur les océans

Elle confère au ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne la responsabilité de ce qui suit :

  • Le volet maritime du programme fédéral de recherche et de sauvetage;
  • Les interventions en cas de pollution marine et le soutien aux autres ministères, conseils et organismes par la fourniture de navires et d’hélicoptères et la prestation d’autres services maritimes; et
  • Les services qui garantissent le déplacement sécuritaire, économique et efficace des navires en eaux canadiennes, notamment des aides à la navigation, des services de communications et de gestion du trafic maritime, ainsi que des services de déglaçage, de gestion des glaces et d’entretien des chenaux.

Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada

Elle confère des pouvoirs supplémentaires et contient des définitions plus détaillées qui permettent au ministre des Pêches et des Océans de remplir le mandat de la Garde côtière en ce qui concerne :

  • Les aides à la navigation;
  • Les services de trafic maritime;
  • La recherche et le sauvetage maritimes; et
  • Les interventions en cas de pollution marine, ce qui comprend tous les déversements provenant de navires, de sources inconnues et d’installations de manutention d’hydrocarbures lorsqu’on charge ou décharge du carburant à bord d’un navire

Ce que nous faisons

Au cours d'une journée typique, la Garde côtière canadienne...

Sauve 9 vies

Escorte 4 navires commerciaux dans les glaces durant la saison des glaces

Vient en aide à 43 personnes

Effectue 11 patrouilles de surveillance des pêches

Coordonne 19 incidents de recherche et de sauvetage

Soutient 3 missions hydrographiques

Assure l’entretien de 55 aides à la navigation

Soutient 8 études scientifiques

Traite 1 547 communications radio maritimes

S’occupe de 3 incidents de pollution

Dirige 2 325 déplacements de navires commerciaux

Sonde les fonds des chenaux maritimes sur 5 kilomètres

Programmes de la Garde côtière

Aides à la navigation

Aides à la navigation sur terre

Le programme des Aides à la navigation procure des systèmes d’aides à la navigation, des services et une sensibilisation opérationnelle pour permettre aux secteurs canadien et international du transport maritime commercial, aux pêcheurs et aux exploitants d’embarcations de plaisance de naviguer de façon sécuritaire et accessible dans les eaux canadiennes.

Les systèmes d’aides à la navigation comprennent quelque 17 000 aides maritimes de courte portée, y compris des aides visuelles, des aides sonores, des radars et des aides à la navigation électroniques, en plus des aides maritimes à longue portée.

Les responsables du programme examinent périodiquement ces systèmes d’aides à la navigation pour vérifier qu’ils répondent aux besoins des utilisateurs. Ce programme est exécuté en coordination avec le Service hydrographique du Canada; toutefois, le Programme d’état de préparation opérationnelle de la flotte de la Garde côtière et les programmes d’approvisionnement, d’entretien et d’état de préparation des actifs basés à terre sont essentiels à son exécution.

Services de déglaçage

Vue d'un navire de la garde côtière lors d'une escorte dans les glaces (NGCC Henry Larsen)

Le programme des Services de déglaçage offre des services de renseignements sur les glaces, de sensibilisation aux opérations et d’aide au déglaçage pour permettre aux secteurs canadien et international de transport maritime commercial, aux pêcheurs et aux exploitants d’embarcations de plaisance de naviguer de façon sécuritaire et accessible dans les eaux canadiennes lorsqu’elles sont prises par les glaces.

Parmi les autres activités, on retrouve celles qui consistent à escorter les navires dans les eaux couvertes de glaces, à libérer les navires emprisonnés dans celles-ci, à maintenir des passages ouverts dans la banquise côtière, à procéder au déglaçage des ports, à dispenser des conseils sur la navigation dans les glaces et à réduire les risques d’inondation en surveillant, en prévenant et en détruisant les embâcles sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Les services de déglaçage contribuent également à assurer la souveraineté dans l’Arctique en acheminant des biens et des fournitures aux communautés nordiques, en apportant un soutien à d’autres agences et organismes gouvernementaux dans les eaux envahies par les glaces, et en maintenant une présence visible du gouvernement fédéral en mer dans le Nord canadien.

Ce programme est exécuté en coordination avec les services d’information sur les glaces d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada; toutefois, les programmes de capacité opérationnelle, d’approvisionnement et d’entretien de la flotte de la Garde côtière sont essentiels à son exécution.

Gestion des voies navigables

Le programme de Gestion des voies navigables fournit des services et des renseignements aux navigateurs et sensibilise ces derniers aux opérations, afin d’aider à garantir la sûreté et l’accessibilité des voies navigables et de favoriser la prospérité économique.

Pour ce faire, on sonde certains chenaux commerciaux afin de déterminer l’état du fond, les restrictions ou les dangers pour la sécurité de la navigation, et on fournit aux navigateurs des renseignements sur la sécurité maritime, y compris les prévisions de profondeur d’eau disponibles dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et le fleuve Fraser, ainsi que des données sur l’entretien et l’utilisation des principaux chenaux commerciaux. De plus, le programme assure le dragage des segments canadiens des chenaux qui relient les Grands Lacs, et gère le dragage du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre Montréal et l’Isle-aux-Coudres, selon le principe du recouvrement des coûts.

Le Programme de Gestion des voies navigables facilite également l’entretien des chenaux navigables, réduit les risques pour la navigation maritime et favorise la protection de l’environnement, pour ainsi rendre la navigation sécuritaire et accessible. Ce programme est exécuté en coordination avec le Service hydrographique du Canada, les Services de gestion des biens immobiliers et Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada; toutefois, les programmes de capacité opérationnelle, d’approvisionnement et d’entretien de la flotte de la Garde côtière sont essentiels à son exécution.

Services d’intervention environnementale

La Garde côtière est l’organisme fédéral chargé d’assurer une intervention appropriée pour tous les déversements provenant de navires ou de sources inconnues dans les eaux canadiennes et dans les eaux faisant l’objet d’ententes internationales.

Le programme d’intervention environnementale (IE) minimise l’impact des incidents de pollution marine sur la sécurité publique, minimise l’impact environnemental des incidents de pollution marine et minimise l’impact économique des incidents de pollution marine.

Le programme permet également à la Garde côtière d’établir, à l’échelle nationale, un niveau approprié et uniforme de services de préparation et d’intervention en eaux canadiennes, d’examiner les rapports de pollution marine et les enquêtes à ce sujet, et ce, conjointement avec d’autres ministères fédéraux, et de maintenir les communications avec les partenaires du programme, y compris Transports Canada et Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, pour assurer une intervention uniforme et coordonnée en réaction aux incidents de pollution marine.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, la Garde côtière collabore également avec les nations autochtones, les provinces, les territoires et les collectivités côtières pour gérer les interventions en cas d’incident.

Par exemple, la Garde côtière reconnaît les risques que posent les navires abandonnés et désertés et les épaves pour la navigation sécuritaire, l’environnement marin, la santé publique et les économies locales.

C’est pourquoi une stratégie nationale relative aux bateaux abandonnés et aux épaves a été élaborée. La stratégie met l’accent sur la prévention et l’élimination, et prévoit les mesures clés suivantes :

  •  Dépôt d’une nouvelle loi, la Loi sur les épaves et les bâtiments abandonnés ou dangereux (projet de loi C-64), pour renforcer la responsabilité des propriétaires de navires.
  • Amélioration des systèmes d’identification des propriétaires de navires commerciaux et d’embarcations de plaisance pour appuyer l’application de la nouvelle loi.
  • Création d’un inventaire national pour déterminer la portée et l’ampleur de ce problème et élaboration d’une méthode d’évaluation des risques afin de prioriser les navires en fonction des risques qu’ils posent.

Services de recherche et de sauvetage

Vue d'un canot pneumatique à coque rigide de la garde côtière lors d'un exercice de recherche et de sauvetage

Au Canada, la recherche et sauvetage (SAR) consiste en une gamme de programmes et de services conçus pour sauver des vies, aider les personnes en détresse et prévenir d’autres incidents.

La Garde côtière est le chef de file fédéral de la SAR en mer au Canada, en partenariat avec le ministère de la Défense nationale (Forces armées canadiennes) et plus de 4 000 membres bénévoles de la Garde côtière auxiliaire canadienne (GCAC).

Nous offrons un soutien continu à nos partenaires de la GCAC en vertu de 6 accords de contribution régionaux qui ont été renouvelés pour la dernière fois en mars 2018 pour une période de 5 ans. Dans le cadre du programme de la GCAC, la Garde côtière fournit des contributions financières à 5 organismes auxiliaires régionaux bénévoles sans but lucratif constitués en vertu d’une loi fédérale.

La Garde côtière fournit des services de SAR 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, 365 jours par an aux marins des eaux océaniques et côtières canadiennes, de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, des Grands Lacs et des autres eaux intérieures. La Garde côtière collabore également avec les collectivités autochtones pour gérer les interventions de SAR en cas d’incident.

Services de communications et de trafic maritimes

Le Programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) fournit un système de communication fiable 24 heures par jour, 7 jours par semaine, 365 jours par an, ce qui facilite la navigation sécuritaire et efficace des navires sur les voies navigables canadiennes.

Les SCTM diffusent de l’information maritime aux navigateurs afin d’améliorer la sécurité des marins et la protection de l’environnement marin canadien.

Sûreté maritime

Le Programme Sûreté maritime appuie le travail des ministères et organismes fédéraux qui ont pour mandat d’assurer la sécurité maritime et nationale, dont le MPO, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), Sécurité publique Canada (SPC) et Transports Canada (TC), en fournissant de l’information et une expertise maritimes, et en offrant du soutien aux navires.

Capacité opérationnelle de la flotte

Le Programme Capacité opérationnelle de la flotte comprend les opérations de la flotte, la gestion de la flotte ainsi que la dotation en personnel de la flotte. Il nous assure que des professionnels certifiés exploitent de façon sécuritaire les navires, les aéroglisseurs, les hélicoptères et les petites embarcations, et qu’ils sont prêts à intervenir afin de répondre aux besoins sur l’eau et dans le domaine maritime.

Le programme est régi par un certain nombre de conventions internationales et de règlements nationaux concernant le domaine maritime comme le Code international de gestion de la sécurité, le Code international pour la sûreté des navires et des installations portuaires, ainsi que le Code international du travail (applicable aux gens de mer). Le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne est essentiel à l’exécution de ce programme.

Entretien de la flotte

Le Programme d’Entretien de la flotte veille à ce que les navires, les aéroglisseurs, les hélicoptères et les petites embarcations de la Garde côtière canadienne soient disponibles et fiables afin d’assurer la prestation des programmes de la Garde côtière canadienne. Ce programme assure également la disponibilité et la fiabilité de ces actifs grâce aux services de planification des investissements du cycle de vie, de génie, d’entretien et d’aliénation.

Les activités associées aux opérations d’entretien de la flotte sont encadrées par différents accords commerciaux internationaux et nationaux, par des instruments juridiques comme la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le Règlement sur les marchés de l’État, ainsi que par des politiques, des directives et des lignes directrices provenant du Conseil du Trésor (CT), du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, d’Industrie Canada (IC) et de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC). Le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne est essentiel à l’exécution de ce programme.

Approvisionnement de la flotte

Maquette d'un navire multicoque nouvellement conçu de la Garde côtière canadienne

Le Programme d’Approvisionnement de la flotte est chargé de gérer la conception et la construction de nouveaux navires, gros et petits, d’aéroglisseurs, d’hélicoptères et de petites embarcations, pour répondre aux exigences opérationnelles énoncées dans le plan de renouvellement de la flotte et dans le plan d’investissement intégré.

Ce programme apporte un soutien à la gestion des projets en permettant d’intégrer de manière efficace et efficiente divers aspects des projets, comme la portée, le temps, les coûts, la qualité, les ressources humaines, les communications, les risques et les approvisionnements. Les activités associées aux approvisionnements de la flotte sont également régies par différentes ententes commerciales à l’échelle internationale et nationale, ainsi que par des instruments juridiques, comme la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et le Règlement sur les marchés de l’État, et des politiques, des directives et des lignes directrices fournies par le CT, IC et SPAC.

État de préparation des actifs basés à terre

Le Programme de l’État de préparation des actifs basés à terre permet de s’assurer que les biens non liés à la flotte sont disponibles et fiables pour l’exécution des programmes de la Garde côtière.

Ces actifs autres que ceux de la flotte comprennent les aides à la navigation fixes et flottantes telles que les aides visuelles (bouées), les aides sonores (cornes de brume), les aides radar (réflecteurs et balises) et les aides maritimes à longue portée comme le système de localisation GPS différentiel, les systèmes électroniques de communication et de navigation et plus de 300 tours radio.

Le programme de l’État de préparation des actifs basés à terre assure la disponibilité et la fiabilité de ces actifs grâce aux services de planification des investissements du cycle de vie, de génie, d’acquisition, d’entretien et d’aliénation. Le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne contribue grandement à l’exécution de ce programme.

Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne

Le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne est un établissement de formation national, bilingue et décernant des diplômes qui éduque les professionnels du secteur maritime nécessaire à l’exécution des programmes qui appuient notre mission et notre mandat dans les domaines de la sécurité et de la sûreté maritimes et de la protection de l’environnement. Son programme de formation des officiers, d’une durée de 4 ans, sert à former des officiers de mécanique maritime et des officiers de navigation et est l’un des meilleurs programmes de formation maritime au monde.

Où nous menons nos activités

Le plus long littoral du monde

La Garde côtière canadienne mène ses activités le long de 3 océans, ainsi dans les Grands Lacs, le fleuve Saint-Laurent et d’autres voies navigables intérieures. Notre zone de responsabilité maritime totale représente près de 5,3 millions de kilomètres carrés, et comprend un littoral d’une longueur d’environ 240 000 kilomètres (le plus long au monde).

Carte des régions de la Garde côtière canadienne: Ouest, Centre et de l'Arctique, administration centrale, 
Atlantique et le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne
Date de modification :