Integrated Human Resource and Business Plan 2018

Table of Contents


Financial resources

Canadian Coast Guard ship at the dock in Tadoussac, Quebec.

The Canadian Coast Guard’s 2018 Integrated Human Resources and Business Plan budget outlines how and where the Agency plans to allocate resources to meet the service expectations and deliver on mandate commitments.

With unprecedented investments received from the federal budget, Coast Guard will be focusing a significant portion of its budget on implementing its contributions to the Oceans Protection Plan (OPP) while also focusing on making significant investments in its assets and more importantly, its members. More specifically, the Agency will be able to:

  • Provide the certification training needed to perform tasks;
  • Augment the vessel refurbishment program that will allow for fewer unplanned program days due to corrective maintenance; and
  • Increase regional capacity to support the delivery of core mandated programs.

The budget in this section is presented in terms of the operation, capital and grants and contributions allocations.

To easily understand the impacts of recent federal investments, the budget is further divided into special allocations like the OPP, the Federal Infrastructure Initiative, the World Class Tanker Safety System, the Fleet Renewal Plan and increases to departmental resource levels to achieve the mandate.

Canadian Coast Guard’s 2018 Integrated Human Resources and Business Plan budget
2018-19 ($M) 2019-20 ($M) 2020-21 ($M)
Operating 782.7 811.8 813.7

Reference Levels

627.3 660.2 661.6

Additional reference level funding

63.1 63.1 63.1

Oceans Protection Plan

87.8 85.1 85.6

World Class Tanker Safety System

4.5 3.4 3.4
Capital 401.2 297.3 252.7

Reference Levels

28.9 35.0 35.0

Comprehensive Review

54.6 87.7 108.9

Fleet Renewal Plan

224.5 111.8 63.8

Oceans Protection Plan

79.6 44.2 45.0

Federal Infrastructure Initiative

10.0 18.6 -

World Class Tanker Safety System

3.6 - -
Grants and Contributions 10.1 10.1 10.2

Reference Levels

5.3 5.2 5.3

Oceans Protection Plan

3.3 3.4 3.4

World Class Tanker Safety System

1.5 1.5 1.5

Revenues

Approximately $39 million of Coast Guard’s annual operating reference level budget is funded by revenues from commercial ships (e.g. cargo vessels, cruise ships, etc.) through the marine services fees: the Marine Navigation Fee recovers a portion of costs for aids to navigation and vessel traffic services; the Icebreaking Fee recovers a portion of costs for route assistance, channels maintenance and ice information services; and the Dredging Fee recovers costs for dredging services in the St Lawrence River between the Port of Montreal and l'Isle-aux-Coudres.

The Budget Process

One of the organization’s greatest strengths is its ability to manage its budget and finances effectively despite its geographically diverse structure and complex operational mandate. As a Special Operating Agency within Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), Coast Guard is provided with a budget allocation it must manage itself to maximize efficiencies of operations and services to Canadians.

To accomplish this feat, the Agency utilizes an activity based budgeting method to allocate its resources in line with the highest national priorities. Due to the complexity of its various programs and business requirements, cost drivers can differ immensely which causes challenges in prioritizing allocations. To facilitate the process, the budget is divided in several operating, capital and grants and contributions envelopes.

The Investment Plan

The Investment Plan identifies DFO’s proposed investments in the areas of the Coast Guard Fleet and Fleet Systems, Coast Guard Program Infrastructure, Small Craft Harbour’s (SCH), Real Property (RP), Information Management & Information Technology (IM/IT) Science, and Ecosystems and Fisheries Management (EFM), as well as acquired services.

This is the Departments’ third inception of the Investment Plan under the Treasury Board (TB) Policy on Investment Planning – Assets and Acquired Services. The Investment Plan provides TB, the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat and departmental Deputy Heads with information on departmental capacity to manage projects, and the risk and complexity levels of those projects. In this way, project approval authorities are delegated from TB to departments based on the level of risk and complexity of particular investment projects and the project management capacity of the department.

In addition to summarizing DFO’s planned investments for the coming five year period, the Investment Plan outlines the planning process and associated governance that DFO uses to manage its portfolio of investments.

2018 Operating Budget and Financial Overview.

The Agency plans its annual operations using five distinct budget envelopes to facilitate the prioritization and allocation of its budget. Each envelop uses sophisticated national processes each with their own independent set of principles and cost drivers to identify budget needs; however, allocations decisions for all of them are made by a national budget committee and ultimately by the Coast Guard’s Management Board.

Operating budget
Budget Envelope 2018-19 Spending Plan ($M)
Fleet Operations 290.6
Shore-Based Personnel 237.9
Shore-Based Operating 107.4
Shore-Based Asset Maintenance 17.4
Vessel Maintenance 71.1
Oceans Protection Plan 85.1
Total Spending Plan 809.5

The approved spending plan is approximately $26.8 million more than the available budget; a planned over programming strategy the Agency put in place at the beginning of the year to minimize the risk of fiscal year budget lapses.

Fleet Operations

Budget plans for vessel crew members, fuel and provisions are developed annually based on the number of operational assets and program requirements. The budget for this envelope is supplemented each year with contributions from programs from DFO sectors such as Ecosystems and Oceans Science, and Ecosystems and Fisheries Management, as well as other government departments.

Shore-Based Personnel

Budget plans for salaries are defined by nationally consistent organizational charts which define the requirement for shore-based members’ salaries, overtime and other personnel costs.

Shore-Based Operating

Budget requirements are defined through detailed work plans on an annual basis using standard rates and common cost drivers to ensure consistency and accuracy.

Shore-Based Asset Maintenance

Budget requirements are identified using nationally consistent asset lifecycle management principles to define specific maintenance work packages for all shore-based (e.g., non-vessel) assets.

Vessel Maintenance and Refits

Similar to the shore-based asset maintenance program, all vessel maintenance refit periods and life-cycle management activities are determined following nationally consistent work planning principles.

Regional Budgets

Being a decentralized organization operationally, the budget is further distributed across the country to maximize accountability and strives for results in each region.

Regional budget distribution

Atlantic Central and Arctic College National Capital Region Western
26.7 25.1 2.4 29.6 16.3

Capital Budget and financial Overview

Coast Guard plans its capital spending through a five-year capital plan which is revised annually. The plan is organized and categorized under 2 departmental centres of expertise: Fleet and Fleet Systems and Coast Guard Program Infrastructure.

The annual project-based capital plan is developed using a robust planning process in which projects are eventually prioritized and approved by the Coast Guard Management Board. Decisions are made based on governmental, departmental and internal strategic program priorities to address capability gaps where they exist. The spending plan for the next 3 years is detailed in the table below.

Capital budget
Capital Spending Plan 2018-19 ($M) 2019-20 ($M) 2020-21 ($M)
Fleet and Fleet Systems Centre of Expertise 573.8 857.2 506.6

Vessel and Helicopter Procurement

411.0 717.6 461.7

Vessel Life Extension and Mid-Life Modernization

96.5 62.3 38.5

Vessel Refurbishment

43.7 66.1 -

Federal Infrastructure

6.4 - -

Small Craft Acquisitions

4.0 4.0 4.0

Kitsilano

3.2 - -

Fleet Systems

9.0 7.2 2.5
Coast Guard Program Infrastructure Centre of Expertise 121.1 83.2 78.8

New Program Infrastructure

22.3 22.3 22.3

Refurbishment of Program Infrastructure

16.9 15.9 12.8

Oceans Protection Plan

76.7 41.1 40.9

World Class Tanker Safety System

5.2 3.9 2.8
Total 694.8 940.3 585.4

The capital spending plan also leverages the use of over-programming; a business strategy that maximizes investments within a fiscal year while avoiding unplanned year-end lapses. Experience has consistently shown that despite best efforts, internal and external project management factors often lead to project delays, and over-programming allows Coast Guard to mitigate the impact of those delays on the health and reliability of its assets. If required, Canadian Coast Guard will seek additional capital funding through a Treasury Board submissions.

Fleet and Fleet Systems Centre of Expertise

This centre of expertise focuses on Fleet assets required to deliver many of the Government of Canada’s civilian on-water programs. The current fleet consists of 140 operational vessels, 22 operational helicopters and approximately 1,600 small craft and other assets such as essential fleet information technology systems necessary to operate the fleet safely and effectively.

Coast Guard Program Infrastructure Center of Expertise

This centre of expertise focuses on non-vessel assets that are the backbone of many Coast Guard services. The asset base consists of 6,597 assets with a total replacement cost of approximately $1.5 billion. These assets include moveable, fixed and operational information technology assets to serve all Coast Guard programs including Marine Navigation, Marine Communication and Traffic Services, Search and Rescue (SAR) Services, Environmental Response Services, Shore-Based Asset Readiness, Maritime Security and the Coast Guard College. In 2017-2018, the Coast Guard approved a spending plan of $19 million over its allocated budgets.

Grants and Contribution Budget and Financial Overview

Budget is available every year for contribution agreements to permit the Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary (CCGA) associations to carry out authorized activities related to maritime (SAR) operations and preventions, and other safety related activities. The agreements are approved annually through consultations with auxiliary associations.

The OPP also included important contribution budgets to undertake critical stakeholder engagement activities including the negotiation and drafting of a sixth contribution agreement for the new Arctic CCGA region. These activities are planned in accordance with the OPP.

The World Class Tanker Safety System Contribution program is in place for coastal Indigenous community applicants to purchase emergency response capable equipment and to train, insure, exercise and reimburse eligible activities of the new community units as official members of the Auxiliary, enhancing the federal SAR response capacity.

Grant and contribution budget
Grants & Contributions 2018-19 ($M) 2019-20 ($M) 2020-21 ($M)
Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary 5.3 5.3 5.3

Royal Canadian Marine Search and Rescue

1.1 1.1 1.1

Central & Arctic

0.7 0.7 0.7

Québec

0.7 0.7 0.7

Maritimes

0.8 0.8 0.8

Newfoundland & Labrador

0.8 0.8 0.8

Arctic Expansion

0.3 0.3 0.3

Insurance

0.9 0.9 0.9
Other 4.8 4.9 4.9

World Class Tanker Safety System

1.5 1.5 1.5

Oceans Protection Plan

3.3 3.4 3.4
Aerial view of a Canadian Coast Guard helicopter.
Date modified:

Plan intégré des ressources humaines et des activités 2018

Table des matières


Ressources financières

Navire de la Garde côtière canadienne au quai de Tadoussac, Québec

Le budget du Plan intégré des ressources humaines et des activités de 2018 de la Garde côtière décrit comment et où l’organisme prévoit répartir ses ressources pour répondre aux attentes en matière de services et remplir les engagements prévus dans son mandat.

Grâce aux investissements sans précédent faits dans le cadre du budget fédéral, la Garde côtière affectera une part importante de son budget à la mise en oeuvre de ses contributions au Plan de protection des océans (PPO), tout en mettant l’accent sur la réalisation d’investissements importants dans ses actifs et, plus important encore, dans ses membres. Plus précisément, l’organisme sera en mesure de faire ce qui suit :

  • Fournir la formation aboutissant à l’accréditation nécessaire pour exécuter les tâches;
  • Bonifier notre programme de remise à neuf des navires qui permettra de réduire le nombre de jours de programme imprévus grâce à des travaux d’entretien correctif; et
  • Accroître la capacité au niveau régional à soutenir l’exécution des programmes de base prévus dans son mandat.

Le budget présenté dans la section suivante est divisé en catégories d’allocations (fonctionnement, immobilisations, subventions et contributions).

Pour faciliter la compréhension des répercussions des récents investissements fédéraux, le budget est en outre divisé en allocations spéciales, comme le PPO, l’initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales, le système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes, le Plan de renouvellement de la flotte et les augmentations des niveaux de ressources du Ministère pour la réalisation du mandat.

Budget du Plan intégré des ressources humaines et des activités de 2018 de la Garde côtière
2018-19 (en M $) 2019-20 (en M $) 2020-21 (en M $)
Fonctionnement 782,7 811,8 813,7

Niveaux de référence

627,3 660,2 661,6

Fonds supplémentaires provenant des niveaux de référence

63,1 63,1 63,1

Plan de protection des océans

87,8 85,1 85,6

Système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes

4,5 3,4 3,4
Immobilisations 401,2 297,3 252,7

Niveaux de références

28,9 35,0 35,0

Examen approfondi

54,6 87,7 108,9

Plan de renouvellement de la Flotte

224,5 111,8 63,8

Plan de protection des océans

79,6 44,2 45,0

Initiative visant les infrastructures fédérales

10,0 18,6 -

Système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes

3,6 - -
Subventions et contributions 10,1 10,1 10,2

Niveaux de référence

5,3 5,2 5,3

Plan de protection des océans

3,3 3,4 3,4

Système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes

1,5 1,5 1,5

Revenus

Environ 39 millions de dollars des niveaux de référence du budget de fonctionnement annuel de la Garde côtière proviennent des recettes générées par les navires commerciaux (p. ex. navires de charge et navires de croisière) au moyen des droits de services maritimes : les droits pour la navigation maritime recouvrent une partie des coûts des aides à la navigation et des services de trafic maritime; les droits de déglaçage recouvrent une partie des coûts des services d’aide au passage des navires, d’entretien des chenaux et des services d’information sur les glaces; et les droits de dragage recouvrent les coûts de dragage du fleuve Saint-Laurent entre le Port de Montréal et l’Isle-aux-Coudres.

Processus budgétaire

L’un des plus grands avantages de notre organisation est sa capacité à gérer son budget et ses finances d’une manière efficace malgré sa structure diversifiée sur le plan géographique et la complexité de son mandat opérationnel. En tant qu’organisme de service spécial au sein de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), la Garde côtière reçoit une affectation budgétaire qu’elle doit gérer elle-même pour maximiser les économies réalisées dans ses opérations et ses services aux Canadiens.

Pour y parvenir, la Garde côtière utilise une méthode de budgétisation fondée sur les activités pour attribuer ses ressources conformément aux plus grandes priorités nationales. En raison de la complexité de ses divers programmes et de ses exigences opérationnelles, les éléments de coûts peuvent varier énormément, ce qui complique l’établissement de l’ordre de priorité des allocations. Pour faciliter le processus, on divise le budget en plusieurs enveloppes (fonctionnement, immobilisations, subventions et contributions).

Le plan d’investissement

Le plan d’investissement décrit les investissements que le MPO propose de réaliser dans les secteurs suivants : la flotte et les systèmes de la flotte de la Garde côtière; l’infrastructure des programmes de la Garde côtière; les Ports pour petits bateaux (PPB); les Biens immobiliers (BI); la gestion de l’information et technologie de l’information (GI/TI); le secteur des Sciences; la Gestion des écosystèmes et des pêches (GEP), ainsi que les services acquis.

Il s’agit de la troisième version du plan d’investissement du Ministère en vertu de la Politique de planification des investissements – Actifs et services acquis du Conseil du Trésor (CT). Le plan d’investissement fournit au CT, au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et aux administrateurs généraux ministériels des renseignements sur la capacité du Ministère à gérer des projets, ainsi que sur les niveaux de risque et de complexité de ces projets. Ainsi, le pouvoir d’approuver les projets est délégué aux ministères par le CT, en fonction du niveau de risque et de complexité des projets particuliers d’investissement et de la capacité de gestion des projets du ministère en question.

En plus de décrire les investissements prévus du MPO pour la prochaine période quinquennale, le Plan d’investissement décrit le processus de planification et les méthodes de gouvernance connexes que le MPO utilise pour gérer son portefeuille d’investissement.

Budget de fonctionnement pour 2018 et aperçu financier

L’organisme planifie ses activités annuelles selon 5 enveloppes budgétaires distinctes pour faciliter l’établissement de l’ordre de priorité et l’affectation de son budget. Pour chaque enveloppe, on utilise des processus nationaux complexes qui s’appuient tous sur leur propre ensemble de principes et d’éléments de coûts pour la détermination des besoins budgétaires, mais les décisions relatives à l’affectation de chaque enveloppe sont prises par un comité budgétaire national et, en fin de compte, par le Conseil de gestion de la Garde côtière.

Budget de fonctionnement
Enveloppe budgétaire Plan de dépenses pour 2018-2019 (en M $)
Opérations de la flotte 290,6
Personnel à terre 237,9
Fonctionnement à terre 107,4
Entretien des actifs terrestres 17,4
Entretien des navires 71,1
Plan de protection des océans 85,1
Total du plan de dépenses 809,5

Le plan de dépenses approuvé dépasse d’environ 26,8 millions de dollars le budget disponible; une stratégie de dépassement de programme que l’organisme a établie au début de l’année pour réduire le plus possible le risque de péremptions du budget durant l’exercice financier.

Opérations de la flotte

Chaque année, des plans budgétaires pour les membres d’équipage, le carburant et les provisions sont élaborés en fonction du nombre d’actifs opérationnels et des exigences des programmes. Le budget pour cette enveloppe est complété chaque année par la contribution des programmes de secteurs du MPO comme Sciences des écosystèmes et des océans et Gestion des écosystèmes et des pêches, ainsi que d’autres ministères.

Personnel à terre

Les plans budgétaires pour les salaires sont définis au moyen d’organigrammes uniformisés à l’échelle nationale qui définissent les exigences relatives au salaire du personnel à terre, aux heures supplémentaires et aux autres coûts relatifs au personnel.

Fonctionnement à terre

Les exigences budgétaires sont établies en fonction de plans de travail annuels détaillés selon les taux conventionnels et les éléments de coûts communs pour garantir l’uniformité et l’exactitude.

Entretien des actifs terrestres

Les exigences budgétaires sont établies en fonction des principes de gestion du cycle de vie des actifs uniformes à l’échelle nationale, afin de définir des blocs de tâches d’entretien pour tous les actifs terrestres (p. ex. des actifs qui ne sont pas des navires).

Entretien et radoub des navires

Toutes les activités de radoub et de gestion du cycle de vie des navires sont déterminées selon des principes de planification des tâches uniformes à l’échelle nationale, d’une manière similaire au programme d’entretien des actifs terrestres.

Budgets régionaux

Comme la Garde côtière est une organisation décentralisée du point de vue opérationnel, son budget est redistribué partout au pays dans le but de maximiser la responsabilisation et de chercher à obtenir des résultats dans chaque région.

Distribution des budgets régionaux

Région de l'Atlantique Région du Centre et de l'Arctique Collège Région de la capitale nationale Région de l'Ouest
26,7 25,1 2,4 29,6 16,3

Budget d’immobilisations et aperçu financier

La Garde côtière planifie ses dépenses d’immobilisations au moyen d’un plan quinquennal d’immobilisations qui est révisé chaque année. Le plan est organisé et catégorisé en 2 centres d’expertise ministériels, soit la flotte et les systèmes de la flotte, et l’infrastructure des programmes de la Garde côtière.

Le plan d’immobilisations annuel fondé sur les projets est élaboré selon un processus de planification rigoureux en fonction duquel le Conseil de gestion de la Garde côtière finit par établir la priorité des projets et par approuver ces derniers. Les décisions sont prises en fonction des priorités stratégiques gouvernementales, ministérielles et internes pour combler les lacunes en matière de capacité, le cas échéant. Le plan de dépenses pour les 3 prochaines années est décrit en détail dans le tableau ci dessous.

Budget d'immobilisations
Plan des dépenses d'immobilisations 2018-19 (en M $) 2019-20 (en M $) 2020-21 (en M $)
Flotte et systèmes de la flotte
Centre d’expertise
573,8 857,2 506,6

Acquisition de navires et d’hélicoptères

411,0 717,6 461,7

Prolongement de vie des navires et modernisation de mi-durée

96,5 62,3 38,5

Remise à neuf de navires

43,7 66,1 -

Infrastructure fédérale

6,4 - -

Acquisition de petites embarcations

4,0 4,0 4,0

Kitsilano

3,2 - -

Systèmes de la flotte

9,0 7,2 2,5
Centre d’expertise de l’infrastructure des programmes de la Garde côtière 121,1 83,2 78,8

Nouvelle infrastructure des programmes

22,3 22,3 22,3

Remise à neuf de l’infrastructure des programmes

16,9 15,9 12,8

Plan de protection des océans

76,7 41,1 40,9

Système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes

5,2 3,9 2,8
Total 694,8 940,3 585,4

Le plan de dépenses en immobilisations mise également sur l’utilisation de dépassement de programme, une stratégie opérationnelle qui maximise les investissements à l’intérieur d’un exercice financier tout en évitant les péremptions non planifiées à la fin de l’exercice. L’expérience a toujours démontré que malgré les meilleurs efforts, des facteurs liés à la gestion interne et externe de projet causent souvent des retards dans les projets, et le dépassement de programme permet à la Garde côtière d’atténuer les répercussions de ces retards sur la santé et la fiabilité de ses actifs. Au besoin, la Garde côtière canadienne demandera des fonds d’immobilisations supplémentaires au moyen d’une présentation au Conseil du Trésor.

Centre d’expertise de la flotte et des systèmes de la flotte

Ce centre d’expertise est axé sur les actifs de la flotte dont a besoin le gouvernement du Canada pour offrir un grand nombre de ses programmes civils en mer. La flotte actuelle est composée de 140 navires opérationnels, 22 hélicoptères opérationnels et environ 1600 petites embarcations et autres actifs comme des systèmes de technologie de l’information essentiels de la flotte qui sont nécessaires à l’exploitation sécuritaire et efficace de la flotte.

Centre d’expertise de l’infrastructure des programmes de la Garde côtière

Ce centre d’expertise est axé sur les actifs qui ne sont pas des navires et qui constituent le pilier de nombreux services de la Garde côtière. La base des actifs comprend 6 597 actifs dont le coût de remplacement total s’élève à environ 1,5 milliard de dollars. Les actifs en question comprennent les technologies de l’information mobiles, fixes et opérationnelles utilisés par tous les programmes de la Garde côtière, y compris Navigation maritime, Services de communication et de trafic maritimes, Services de recherche et sauvetage (SAR), Services d’intervention environnementale, État de préparation des actifs basés à terre, Sûreté maritime et le Collège de la Garde côtière canadienne.

En 2017-2018, la Garde côtière a approuvé un plan de dépenses de 19 millions de dollars qui s’ajoutent aux budgets alloués.

Budget de subventions et de contributions et aperçu financier

Chaque année, les associations de la Garde côtière auxiliaire canadienne (GCAC) peuvent compter sur un financement disponible pour des ententes de contribution afin de mener les activités autorisées relatives aux opérations de SAR maritimes et à la prévention, ainsi que d’autres activités liées à la sécurité.

Les ententes sont approuvées sur une base annuelle suite à des consultations avec les associations auxiliaires.

Le PPO comprend également d’importants budgets de contributions pour les activités essentielles de mobilisation des intervenants, y compris la négociation et la rédaction d’un sixième accord de contribution pour la nouvelle région de l’Arctique de la GCAC. Ces activités sont planifiées conformément au PPO.

Le programme de contribution du système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes est en place pour permettre aux demandeurs des collectivités autochtones côtières d’acheter de l’équipement d’intervention d’urgence, de donner de la formation, de souscrire à des assurances, de réaliser des exercices et de rembourser les activités admissibles des nouvelles unités communautaires en tant que membres officiels de la Garde côtière auxiliaire, ce qui augmente la capacité d’intervention de SAR.

Budget de subventions et de contributions
Subventions et contributions 2018-19 (en M $) 2019-20 (en M $) 2020-21 (en M $)
Garde côtière auxiliaire canadienne 5,3 5,3 5,3

Recherche et sauvetage maritime royal canadien

1,1 1,1 1,1

Centre et Arctique

0,7 0,7 0,7

Québec

0,7 0,7 0,7

Maritimes

0,8 0,8 0,8

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

0,8 0,8 0,8

Expansion dans l'Arctique

0,3 0,3 0,3

Assurances

0,9 0,9 0,9
Autre 4,8 4,9 4,9

Système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes

1,5 1,5 1,5

Plan de protection des océans

3,3 3,4 3,4
Vue aérienne d'un hélicoptère de la Garde côtière canadienne
Date de modification :