Marine engineering training

Marine engineering officers are responsible for the safe operation and maintenance of all equipment and structures aboard Canadian Coast Guard vessels. They keep the main engines and auxiliary systems of the ship in good working order under the supervision of the vessel’s chief engineer.

This program prepares you for a career as a marine engineering officer. You’ll learn to operate numerous engineering systems aboard a vessel and develop your leadership abilities. You’ll also learn about:

  • electricity
  • hydraulics
  • mechanics
  • electronics
  • thermodynamics
  • engineering knowledge

Training topics

Marine engineering officers must be able to effectively respond to mechanical and electrical defects and failures while at sea. Officer cadets studying marine engineering learn crucial operational skills, such as:

  • watchkeeping
  • executing necessary repairs
  • rapidly diagnosing equipment problems
  • maintaining various vessel systems, such as:
    • pumps
    • piping systems
    • fresh water generation
    • compressed air systems
    • hydraulic power systems
    • steam propulsion and heating systems
    • controls, electronics and electrical systems
  • operating and maintaining propulsion and auxiliary machinery

Training phases

You’ll receive in-class training and hands-on training at the college. You’ll also gain practical experience aboard a ship to ready you for your career as a marine engineering officer. Training for officer cadets in marine engineering is divided into 5 phases:

  • 11 months at the college
  • 4 months at sea
  • 14 months at the college
  • 4 months at sea
  • 10 months at the college

Competencies

We’d like to meet you if you:

  • are resourceful
  • enjoy team work
  • like hands-on work
  • appreciate challenges
  • are interested in working at sea
  • have a good knowledge of math and physics
Date modified:

Formation en ingénierie navale

Les officiers de mécanique maritime sont responsables de l’utilisation et l’entretien sécuritaires de tout l’équipement et des structures des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne. Ils sont responsables du bon fonctionnement des moteurs principaux et des systèmes auxiliaires du navire sous la direction de l’officier de mécanique maritime en chef.

Le programme vous prépare à une carrière d’officier de mécanique maritime. Vous apprendrez à faire fonctionner de nombreux systèmes mécaniques à bord d’un navire et à perfectionner vos capacités de leadership. Vous en apprendrez aussi sur :

  • l’électricité
  • l’ingénierie
  • l’hydraulique
  • la mécanique
  • l’électronique
  • la thermodynamique

Thèmes de la formation

Les officiers de mécanique maritime doivent être en mesure d’intervenir efficacement si les systèmes mécaniques et électriques sont défectueux ou brisent en mer. Les élèves-officiers qui étudient l’ingénierie navale acquièrent des compétences opérationnelles essentielles, telles que :

  • la tenue de quart
  • l’exécution des réparations requises
  • l’entretien de divers systèmes du navire, dont :
    • les pompes
    • la production d’eau douce
    • les systèmes hydrauliques
    • les systèmes de tuyauterie
    • les systèmes à air comprimé
    • les appareils propulsifs à vapeur et systèmes de chauffage
    • les systèmes de commande, systèmes électroniques et électriques
  • le diagnostic rapide des problèmes d’équipement
  • l’exploitation et l’entretien de l’appareil de propulsion et des machines auxiliaires

Phases de la formation

Vous recevrez une formation en classe et une formation pratique au Collège. Vous acquerrez également de l’expérience pratique à bord d’un navire pour vous préparer à votre carrière d’officier de mécanique maritime. La formation des élèves-officiers de mécanique maritime se déroule en 5 étapes :

  • 11 mois au Collège
  • 4 mois en mer
  • 14 mois au Collège
  • 4 mois en mer
  • 10 mois au Collège

Compétences

Nous aimerions vous rencontrer si vous :

  • êtes débrouillard
  • aimez relever des défis
  • aimez le travail manuel
  • aimez travailler en équipe
  • souhaitez travailler en mer
  • connaissez bien les mathématiques et la physique
Date de modification :